Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Leger

• 24-08-2011 11:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭

Who do ye fancy for it?
    Not a hope can I have Sea Moon at about 6/4 for it. I reckon I'm gonna back Blue Bunting whenever I've a few quid over the next few weeks,what a top filly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Won't be backing anyone so soon. Although it will be interesting to see who Pyro picks as a few of his previous picks are running here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I have Masked Marvel at 16s but was really tempted to take Blue Bunting at 7s before anyone knew if she would turn up but didn't want to risk it with a few other Godolphin runners set to line up. Blue Bunting is the most likely winner IMO though. I can't trust the Voltigeur form with Sea Moon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I'm the same Nulty. Might go and get some 9/2 tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

It's a very weak field outside of the first two in the betting, i thought looking at the field before looking at the odds that Census would be a nice outsider but he's only 5/1 with PP. Sea Moon looked great at York but i think Seville had a virus or something,( it was like Treasure Beach in the Grand Prix and he bounced back next time) so maybe it wasn't as good a performance as it looked. Blue Bunting is the value at 9/2, tough, consistent, and stays what more could you want in a horse. I'd give a sniff to Seville if he turned up, that last run was too bad to be true.

True tryfix. Ballydoyle's form at the minute is a worry though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Memphis Tennessee was my original pick but he is a non runner.

It would be quite ironic if Seville were to win it given that this is the first race he is being written off for.....well fancied for everything else he has run in! He won'tbe carrying my money as I keep telling everyone he has only ever won a maiden, he's got attitude problems imo

Just put a few quid on Blue Bunting at 9/2. Think she could be a class above the field

UrbanSea wrote: »
    True tryfix. Ballydoyle's form at the minute is a worry though
    I see the similarities in the runs of St Nick, Await the Dawn and Treasure Beaches 2nd last run. They just didn't finish with any kick at all. Seville is a very dodgy character anyway, so you couldn't say what's wrong with him. Maybe Wonder of Wonders might sneak into a place, she's improving slowly and she's still in the race.

And the longer trip could well suit but it's hard to say,Kingmambo isn't known for his stayers but she is possibly the best bred filly in training in the UK and Ireland at the minute. Plenty of stamina,look who her grand dam is ;)

UrbanSea wrote: »
    And the longer trip could well suit but it's hard to say,Kingmambo isn't known for his stayers but she is possibly the best bred filly in training in the UK and Ireland at the minute. Plenty of stamina,look who her grand dam is ;)
    There is huge stamina in Urban Sea as a broodmare, that's why they went the green desert route with their stallion choices. It will be very interesting to see what trip Sea the Stars progeny need.

Let's hope it's not the Black Sam Bellamy route. At least with a sprinter sire,Sea the Stars' offspring will probably be mid distance

It makes Galileo all the more extraordinary as a sire. All his G1 wins were at 12F he should be producing mostly staying types like Montjeu does. If he can produce Guineas winners then a horse with such natural speed as Sea the Stars should be alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 myfeelings

Sea The Stars is not by a sprint sire in Cape Cross, Cape Cross is by a sprint sire in Green Desert as was Urban Sea in Miswaki this is where some speed might come from. The worry with Sea The Stars is he covered so many classic pedigrees that this is where his downfall could be because of the lack of speed. A good bet i think is that he'll be the sire of the St Leger winner from his first crop

Montjeu is out of a Top Ville mare who is a major source of stamina. Its no real surprise he is the sire of a Gold Cup winner when you consider the stamina in his breeding. Yeats is bred on the same cross a lot of stamina no early two year olds coming from them

I do agree about Galileo he is brilliant there usually lookers as well which just adds to the whole package

Sorry myfeelings I meant that his sire had a sprint sire I know Cape Cross wasn't,I meant Green Desert as I've said before that Born to Sea comes from the same grand sire.

Had another few quid on Blue Bunting yesterday

Have my biggest bet of the year on BB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

If the ground keeps drying then Seville has a big chance.

I can see Sea Moon going out to 7/4. You might even get 2/1 if they really want to take it on

I think I'll give Masked Marvel a go, Gosden has laid it out for the race. Good luck with Blue Bunting Urban, hope it works out for ya.

Ladbrokes will be going 2/1 Sea Moon from 9 in the morning.

Thanks Tryfix,you too.

Lads and WH are now 2/1 Sea Moon.
    I can see the SPs been:

Sea Moon 7/4
    Blue Bunting 11/4
    Census 5/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

im going with a win bet on brown panter at 12,s and having a each-way on genius beast at 66/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Denners.ie

Really looking forward to this St. Leger. BB would be my choice but I would be concerned whether the weight allowance will be enough for her to beat some good colts.

I would love if Seville won but he won't. Brown Panther is interesting at the price.

I must be missing something regarding Brown Panther. I don't see him being even nearly good enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Denners.ie

I think there are better horses in the race but he is open to improvement and has the pedigree to stay the trip. I'm not backing him but I think the prices of Census, Masked Marvel and Brown Panther should be closer.

His dam was a nice mare. I hope he runs well for Fallon,just gets nailed by Frankie on the line ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Well done Nulty and Tryfix, see that new course record with the last 4 furlongs into that wind, very impressive

The fast pace burned out Sea moon and Blue Bunting, I couldn't believe how highly Timeform rated Sea Moon after York. I think they put him ahead of Pour Moi, there's nothing like horses to make fools of people.

Well done lads.