Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just looking for some advice off people who have studied computers at third level.

• 24-08-2011 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭

Apologies if this is in the wrong section, I wasn't entirely sure where to post this. Basically got offered a course in Tralee for computing with game development. I'm 25 and going back to reskill in I.T. I'm somewhat concerned that my level of maths will be too weak to cope, I haven't touched maths since I did my leaving (I wasn't great at it back then but didn't put in the effort either) and going back doing triganometry will feel like starting over from scratch. Is the level of maths really demanding for these courses or does it get harder with progession through the semesters? I Also have no experience with porgramming either, are students expected to have a certain understanding of progamming beforehand for these courses? I'm worred that I'll do this course and just be totally out of my depth. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

Well done on getting the offer.

Degree courses usually assume no experience of programming and start from scratch but you can ask the course coordinator to be sure.

In terms of maths, areas you can expect to cover include matrices and a dabble of algebra. With gaming, you can expect a greater emphasis on applied maths/physics. Many colleges will offer tutorials in addition to lectures to help get your head around material.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

There are some IT courses where you can avoid the Maths. If its a degree it all depends most of them have Maths in them. The vast majority of H dips, postgrad courses and Masters may not have Maths in the course all depends which one you go for and the area of IT you are focusing on is it a general IT course or specific area.

There would be a lot more emphasis on programming, design and development such areas included would be in the areas of software development, web design/programming, databases and networking along with circuit logic design and operating systems and OS scripting like Unix/Linux are would be the main focus areas in these courses but would have other elements too each course is different and each IT college course is different and what subjects they offer vary but generally they will focus in on the same or similar subjects but put more on an emphasis on some subjects more than others or not at all. Research all the IT courses you wish to go for and up-skill in.

If you like you could always do a Compita A+ or a Professional Cert course might be a better option but if up-grading your skills with a college course might be a better option.

The course you have been offered then probably has maths I'd imagine, the maths generally be leaving cert maths to be honest it won't be too difficult. The lecturers will star off from scratch so don't worry too much about it! I think a lot of is practice with the maths if you have some idea how to do it then you be grand. You might be able to get grinds if you are stuck but it be a very basic ordinary leaving cert level maths so don't think it be too hard, if you learnt it in school and for leaving cert you shouldn't do too badly it will come back to you though. There will be more emphasis on design, programming, multimedia and development in your course so don't worry too much about the maths.

I did an IT course but there was no maths but my Business and IT/BIS degree had a bit of maths but was more business maths/statistics really.

Congrats on getting your course in ITT though, any kind of computing course be worth doing and best of luck with it OP.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Ive just finished Computer Science in DIT this year. I would not be that good at maths myself and while there was a fair few mathematical modules I managed to get through them but with grinds. I know DIT has this but others might a maths learning centre free for students which is handy.
    The maths from memory ranged from Matrixes, Probability, boolean stuff (This was easily done with calculator for the most part). I found it difficult but did get through the maths modules.
    I didn't do the games stream due to understanding it is more mathematical, however. Games design will have AI and such modules which I understand are mathematical, physics heavy aswell. You should be ok though, I don't really remember being really really lost in the maths, some bits were difficult but you get through them.
    Programming is more logic based than mathematical, I never liked it but still got through it, I wouldn't say its entirely mathematical though logical thinking mostly

Hope this helps,

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

Just finished up with 4 years in IT courses (ordinary degree in computer applications & hons degree IT Management)...

There was a lot of maths involved in first year and it's been compared to higher level leaving cert maths... that kind of standard. Maths was the one module that tripped a lot of people up... i had to repeat 'maths 2' in first year, the only module i repeated out of 48 in my 4 years in college... in my opinion, those maths modules (in 1st year) were the toughest in my 4 years because there was very little link between the algorithms and real life / practical uses.

However like yourself i went in with no programming knowledge and with hindsight, you'll be much better off if you can learn the basics in programming now - it will help you in programming modules but also in any maths based modules you have.

Games development, from what i heard, required more maths than other IT subjects but it's important not to view it as maths, rather as problem solving / programming. Like i said the biggest problem i had was trying to relate it all to real life, which is why if you learn a bit of programming now, some of the maths you study might just make a bit of sense...

But there's no getting away from it (maths) in any IT degree - it's a grin & bear it subject for a lot of people but having said that it was a lot more enjoyable/interesting than leaving cert maths (which i also hated & did at ordinary level).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Thanks for the replies lads, really appreciate the info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

siblers wrote: »
    Apologies if this is in the wrong section, I wasn't entirely sure where to post this. Basically got offered a course in Tralee for computing with game development. I'm 25 and going back to reskill in I.T. I'm somewhat concerned that my level of maths will be too weak to cope, I haven't touched maths since I did my leaving (I wasn't great at it back then but didn't put in the effort either) and going back doing triganometry will feel like starting over from scratch. Is the level of maths really demanding for these courses or does it get harder with progession through the semesters? I Also have no experience with porgramming either, are students expected to have a certain understanding of progamming beforehand for these courses? I'm worred that I'll do this course and just be totally out of my depth. Thanks.

Congrats on the offer!

Just finished 1st year myself, and to be honest I shared the same concerns that you did before I decided to go back.
    The maths I found grand, certainly nothing too taxing in 1st year anyway (and this is coming from someone who scraped a pass back in the day). topics we covered were things like basic algebra, statistics, vectors, matrices ... plus there were also tutorials available, so if you show up to all the lectures and tutorials then you should be fine.
    Programming started very easy, certainly there was no prerequisite, although having dabbled in it previously was an advantage. We started with justbasic http://www.justbasic.com/ (which I found a bit odd would have preferred something like python, but never mind me :D) which is very straight forward to teach you the main principles before cutting loose on Java in the 2nd semester. Certainly the programming can be tough but if you work hard at it, keep trying and ask plenty of questions then you should be grand in that as well.

Well that's my insight, if you have anymore questions, ill be glad to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Thanks for the insight, starting to put my mind at ease. Outside of programming and maths, what other types of stuff have ye been doing? Is there much to the course which doesn't involve those 2 aspects, like modelling, design etc?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Thanks for the insight, starting to put my mind at ease. Outside of programming and maths, what other types of stuff have ye been doing? Is there much to the course which doesn't involve those 2 aspects, like modelling, design etc?

In computer science in DIT anyways, a large enough focus in first and second year was on modelling and design, mainly UML modelling and design methodologies. It was expected then in some assignments/projects later on especially the final year project modelling and design were used to accompany building the project

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

I'm going to presume you mean modelling and design in the 2D/3D kind .... afraid not (which is a disappointment, would love if they did Blender, maya or 3D max), the closet you'll get to that in the first semester is Photoshop or illustrator.
    What else is there ? there's web design which can be interesting, there is IT apps (word, excel and access :rolleyes:) and learn at third level (teach you write reports bla bla).
    2nd Semester is lot more theory based, I wont bore you with that now :p let get through sem 1 first :D.

I reckon its 2nd year (I bloody well hope!!!) that things get a bit more interesting, I heard rumours of flash being taught as a elective (ill be staying well away from that cluster**** :D).

anyway, best of luck with :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭loopymum

I went to college as a mature student at 25 as well and studied computers too, I too was worried about the maths side as I did an extremely crappy leaving cert, moreso because of not applying myself though.

It wasn't a problem at all, I actually did really well in maths and used to get top marks regularly, it was completely different to LC maths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭jenniem01

I Also have no experience with porgramming either, are students expected to have a certain understanding of progamming beforehand for these courses? I'm worred that I'll do this course and just be totally out of my depth.

I just finished Computer Science in UCD and some people had loads and loads of programming experience - but books helped me catch up! Try find out what languages your going to be using probably Java or C++

http://www.adverts.ie/school-college-books/java-concepts-4th-edition-cay-hortsmann/841334

Stack overflow is great too if your ever stuck throughout the year with tasks! It really helped me during my final project.

Best of luck :-)