Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bumping into people.

• 24-08-2011 11:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭

You know when you’re out in say a supermarket or somewhere and you bump into someone by mistake – usually it’s 6 of one and half a dozen of the other as to who’s at fault. Both people mumble an apology and move on.

Well, there’s been a couple of occasions recently where this has happened where I’ve said ‘oh, sorry’ and the other person has just looked at me and not said anything – like they’re accepting my apology and they weren’t in the wrong at all.

What’s the correct social response to this – other than blasting them in the face with piss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

a kick in the bollix\gash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Blast them with piiiiiiiiiizas you picked up in the frozen section

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Well, there’s been a couple of occasions recently where this has happened where I’ve said ‘oh, sorry’ and the other person has just looked at me and not said anything – like they’re accepting my apology and they weren’t in the wrong at all.

What’s the correct social response to this – other than blasting them in the face with piss?

Well I'd be the same, someone bumps into me and I'm certainly not going to apologise.

If it does annoy you so much then I'd have to say the auld piss blast is in order. Sometimes its the only solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

You know when you’re out in say a supermarket or somewhere and you bump into someone by mistake – usually it’s 6 of one and half a dozen of the other as to who’s at fault. Both people mumble an apology and move on.

Well, there’s been a couple of occasions recently where this has happened where I’ve said ‘oh, sorry’ and the other person has just looked at me and not said anything– like they’re accepting my apology and they weren’t in the wrong at all.

Its cause your black, silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

both mumble a quick apology and thats that.
    unless your a scumbag then the person who bumped into you is clearly looking for a fight and WAS infact looking at your "burd".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Do a few laps of the supermarket and head back to them and engineer another bump so you can get an apology back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

I am actually really bad at walking in the same line as people coming towards me. And then when the other person alters their course to avoid me I always seem to alter my course at the same time but to the same way they do. So to all those people, I am not trying to mug you honest I am just not the most agile walker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Only last weekend I thought to myself, I must stop saying sorry when eejits walk in to me.

I always used to say sorry, but it's never really my fault, as I watch where I'm going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Putting small but expensive products into their trolley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

You worry too much man, walk on, enjoy your day and fúck em if they want to be an ass about it even when you apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Only last weekend I thought to myself, I must stop saying sorry when eejits walk in to me. I always used to say sorry, but it's never really my fault, as I watch where I'm going.

Same here. It's an odd quirk we have going on that foreign people often pick up on.

'What do you mean? People bump into you, and you apologise to them?'

Seems odd but it generally works :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

no i never apologise unless it's my fault, which it rarely is, or maybe if it's an old person. amazing how many people walk around not looking where they're going, or stop suddenly in the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

cross-eyed guy bumped into me one day and said to me "why don't you look where you're fu**ing going?"

I said "Why don't you go where you're fu**ing looking?" and walked on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

I think this belongs in the 'first world problems' thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

If I'm walking along a path and I see someone coming towards me I will always try to make room and edge around them. If they can see me coming and make absolutely no effort to get out of my way though, I get annoyed, and (assuming they're not old/infirm/a child/disabled/built like a brick sh*thouse etc) I'll give them a good hard shoulder as they go past me, just to teach them some manners. (99% of the time it's a gang of girls who are gossiping so hard and trying to look cool that they can't be bothered acknowledging that anyone else exists.

I'm sooooo hard!!!!

(But with normal decent human beings, I will always say sorry, whether they bump into me, or I bump into them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I always think that when I mumble "Sorry" it sounds like "It's Alright". I'm just waiting for a psycho to start screaming "It's not fcuking alright" before throwing cans of tuna at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭dirtypanties

I am actually really bad at walking in the same line as people coming towards me. And then when the other person alters their course to avoid me I always seem to alter my course at the same time but to the same way they do. So to all those people, I am not trying to mug you honest I am just not the most agile walker

Same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

no i never apologise unless it's my fault, which it rarely is, or maybe if it's an old person. amazing how many people walk around not looking where they're going, or stop suddenly in the street.

But is there really anything wrong with stopping suddenly in the street, surely it's the pedestrian's responsiblility who is behind you to keep a
    safe distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I've noticed a lot of women with spacial awareness issues recently... like they can't walk in a straight line down a footpath and always manage to almost walk into me. I'd blame the lynx effect but I haven't worn that crap since I was 15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Regardless of the circumstances I always apologise.

Its not like someone is going to sue your ass off or look for damages for a fender bender.

Common decency, no hard feelings and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

I’ve said ‘oh, sorry’ and the other person has just looked at me and not said anything

They prob weren't Irish, most Europeans wouldn't bother saying sorry when ya bump into them, proper order too, all that fake BS of saying sorry for something that doesn't really matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭softmee

More annoyig is when you are walkig somewhere and there is another person walking towards you and there is this moment when no of you know if should pass on left or right and you are both swinging both ways for few seconds...
    Its sometimes akward, but I always smile when it happenes, but some people give you that angry look, like its your fault (but they did the same) ... :pac:

They prob weren't Irish, most Europeans wouldn't bother saying sorry when ya bump into them, proper order too, all that fake BS of saying sorry for something that doesn't really matter

I am Polish and I always say sorry.. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

softmee wrote: »

But there is only 38 million Poles so you don't count :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I always say sorry, its such a bad habit, I never bump into them. But the look they give you is unreal, you just bumped into me bitch, now down on your knees and beg for forgivement look.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

That always happens me too, but whenever it does I always say "Thanks for the Dance..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

It is really just our society that that happens in - I lived in Spain for a while and noticed that even if you get a right whack from somebody passing you on the street, it's completely ignored. Took me a while after moving back to Ireland to get used to people apologising for it, I'd be a few steps on thinking nothing of it when I'd hear the other person call back an apology they must have thought me awful rude.

I live in Poland (tyskie i peirogi ruskie jest najlepszy ;) ) and nobody says sorry here when they bump into you in shops or when they're pushin onto the bus as you're gettin off :p

Doesn't bother me tho, i got used to it fairly quickly

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

There's a great thread over on boards.pl about Irish idiots who just stand in the way and keep mumbling "sorry" when you try to get past them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

This REALLY grinds my gears. Yesterday, for example, I walked down harcourt street, at about 6pm, to be nearly mowed in two, on several occasions.

There was an unreal que of what looked to be forgien students the entire way down the street, and everybody seemed to be walking in the opposite direction to me. The men in suits, the females in their work clothes funnily enough could avoid bumping directly into me, as we both made the effort, but the further I kept walking the more (spanish??) students I seemed to encounter, walking in groups as opposed to filing down whilst passing the que that was taking up half the footpath already. These made NO ATTEMPT to avoid bumping into me, or even waiting for me to step out of their way. And its not as if I could avoid bumping into them without bumping into their dumb friend next to them instead. I stepped out onto the street a couple of times, before I thought "fock this" and done what they were doing. Kept walking. I walked on anyway, fire in my eyes, and this (what do you know, spanish?) student girl kept walking, in the group, with her head down, on her mobile. I didnt move out of her way, she didnt move outta mine, so i walked straight into her. She dropped her phone and had to risk phone and fingers, picking it up off the extremely busy street.

I got to Grafton Street and by then I thought I was actually going to grab one of them and pull their liver out through their nose, walking in their groups, and randomly stopping - in the middle of street - and me almost tripping over them and falling.

I don't seem to have this happen to me with most normal people (some old people excluded but if you cant be a menace to society when youre old, when can you?) its just with these influx of fu*king students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Check to see if the earth continues to turn and, once confirmed, continue on with your life.

I thought "fock this" and done what they were doing. Kept walking. I walked on anyway, fire in my eyes, and this (what do you know, spanish?) student girl kept walking, in the group, with her head down, on her mobile. I didnt move out of her way, she didnt move outta mine, so i walked straight into her. She dropped her phone and had to risk phone and fingers, picking it up off the extremely busy street..

............so you hit a girl rather than walk on the street?
    There's a word for you buddy, http://tiny.cc/ymhpy
    Try Yoga.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Just because she is also a girl, does not mean she's made from glass. Being 5'2, I am sh*t sick of always being pushed out of the way by people bigger than me.

And whatever your word is, I don't really care, because I would do it tomorrow too. Techincally I didn't "hit" her. I kept walking, as did she.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I never apologise. I'm sorry, but that's just the way I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭tishandy

I always say sorry if I bump into someone, I don't care if they don't apologise back.

But what reeeeally pisses me off is my short little six yr old daughter walking beside me who is always either getting a bash of some auld wans handbag in the face or young fellas sports bag .

Or people who dont look where they are going texting and walking who walk straight into her.

I usually walk through crowds holding her hand pulling her behind me so this does'nt happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I apologise automatically so I never
    really worry about it.

Though I am worried that someday I will
    look like a crazy person if someone bumps into me,
    I apologise and then start giving out to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I find that people can be very rude. I remember walking along Henry St and this old woman with glasses was walking towards me. I knew I was going to bump into her so I tried to avoid her. Just after I moved out of the way, she must've seen something in a shop because she changed and rushed in my direction and bumped into me and her glasses nearly fell off. I said sorry even though I'd attempted to get out of her way, all she did was fix her glasses and grunt loudly.

Ignorant cow!

I live in Poland (tyskie i peirogi ruskie jest najlepszy ;) ) and nobody says sorry here when they bump into you in shops or when they're pushin onto the bus as you're gettin off :p

Doesn't bother me tho, i got used to it fairly quickly

I know they dont, thats why I live here now.. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I know they don't, thats why I live here now.. :pac:

Worked with loads of Polish people over the years.

Not wanting to generalise - but I would have said Polish people were really polite.

Worked with loads of Polish people over the years.

Not wanting to generalise - but I would have said Polish people were really polite.

You've never had to use public transport in Poland I think.. all those grannies running (suddenly they can run) over you to get the sit, grumpy cashiers, etc- but yes "in general" we are very polite.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I just say sorry and veer on. I don't care whose fault it is and I'm not going to get worked up by a stranger not apologising because we 'bumped'. I don't even think about it... whisper..."sorry"... *blows away like a whisper in the whind...swoooosh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

I'm a big fecker, and if I bump into someone they usually stay bumped, so I get to say sorry a lot. My classic "bump" is when I finish paying at a till and turn around to leave-most people(well a lot) are under my line of sight, so I've literally walked through a fair few as I turn to leave. I've also spilled coffee down several people who were hidden in my blind spot as I turned to leave. This tends to be embarrasing, but it's not deliberate. I'm just not very manouverable. Kids especially are just waay to easy to "run over" by accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭criticalcritic

Threaten them with the sharp edge of a box of cornflakes for an apology

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Solnskaya wrote: »
    I'm a big fecker, and if I bump into someone they usually stay bumped, so I get to say sorry a lot. My classic "bump" is when I finish paying at a till and turn around to leave-most people(well a lot) are under my line of sight, so I've literally walked through a fair few as I turn to leave. I've also spilled coffee down several people who were hidden in my blind spot as I turned to leave. This tends to be embarrasing, but it's not deliberate. I'm just not very manouverable. Kids especially are just waay to easy to "run over" by accident.

Are you a JCB or piece of similar construction plant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I usually just say sorry then walk on and continue my journey of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭emer_b

my mother cracked me up when she told me this story....
    She was standing in the queue in the supermarket and a woman standing behind her kept bumping her trolley off her. After a minute or two of putting up with it my mother turned around and said angrily "Excuse me but you keep hitting me with your trolley", to which the woman replied "Oh I'm very sorry, I didn't mean to, I'm visually impaired" !!!! :eek: How bad did my mum feel!!