Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beggar calling door to door

• 21-08-2011 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭

Just had an old woman with a small child calling to the door asking for 'small change'. Pretty insistant for a beggar, and well - just plain weird to be honest. Both pretty well dressed.

Anyone else ever had that happen to them? Is this a new sign of the times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

A sup of milk for the babby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

yeah most of the time its kids with a note and while you read it they are eyeing up your house to rob it at a later date I dont answer the door to beggers anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Was it an Irish beggar?
    What part of the country are you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Woman at door:"I am collecting on behalf of a poor family-a few of us are helping out- would you like to donate?"

Me:"Who is this poor family? "

WAD:"I can't tell you that".

Me: "Well, do you have some identification then to say who you are?"

WAD: "No".

Me: "Then sorry, I can't donate....Goodbye.":)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭mjcom4d

Give them a clout of a wavin pipe and send them off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

mjcom4d wrote: »
    Give them a clout of a wavin pipe and send them off

A sewer rod is better. Across the back of the legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Best thing to give them is some food, maybe some milk for the kid, they don't come back after that/:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭doopa

BluesBerry wrote: »
    yeah most of the time its kids with a note and while you read it they are eyeing up your house to rob it at a later date I dont answer the door to beggers anymore

That's kinda what a figured. Freaking me out a bit now. What sort of stuff would they be looking to rob? Just wondering. What's attractive for burglar's these days?

I live in South Dublin City, near the canal. She sounded like a traveller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Answer the door with a shotgun in your hand.
    Normally filters out the genuine beggars fairly quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Give them a can of baked beans. They love beans. Particularly own brand beans. You can retrieve them from your neighbours garden 5 minutes later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

doopa wrote: »
    Just had an old woman with a small child calling to the door asking for 'small change'. Pretty insistant for a beggar, and well - just plain weird to be honest. Both pretty well dressed.

I remember it a lot as a kid (70's/80's) then it seemed to almost die out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Gated communities FTW, keeps the povs at bay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Smithers, release the hounds etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Travellers used to do this regular back in the 80s.

Was she a Romanian gypsy?

Travellers used to do this regular back in the 80s.

Was she a Romanian gypsy?

Never heard of it before (not brought up here). No, she was an Irish Traveller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Tell them your bin is around the back they are free to forage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Watch your back door OP

One at the front distracting you and the rest out back checking your property

Though that's more a rural issue for the elderly, if you're in terraced housing you're safe enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭parc

Sounds like they're scoping out your hose tbh. Wouldn't answer the door myself

Send the women and child to the door to meet the OP

Check out, does the OP live alone? How many cars in the driveway? Will the car and the OP be gone to work tomorrow?

Sorry, I think you're about to become a burglary statistic before this time next week

mikemac wrote: »
    Send the women and child to the door to meet the OP

Check out, does the OP live alone? How many cars in the driveway? Will the car and the OP be gone to work tomorrow?

Sorry, I think you're about to become a burglary statistic before this time next week

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

parc wrote: »
    Sounds like they're scoping out your hose tbh. Wouldn't answer the door myself

http://www.annaraccoon.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/ooh-matron.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

mikemac wrote: »
    Watch your back door OP

One at the front distracting you and the rest out back checking your property

Though that's more a rural issue for the elderly, if you're in terraced housing you're safe enough

Happened in a place I used to work in. Van turned up and two travellers got out asking could they buy one of the trailers in the yard, they were given a resounding "no" and told to leave. Next thing our service guy frogmarched another out, he had slipped into the warehouse and was in the process of lifting a machine. We called the gards and the traveller told them "I was only looking for somewhere to pi55". Gardai couldn't do anything.

One of the trailers was stolen two weeks later and the van that they used to steal the trailer was identical the the one that the travellers used. The fùckers had taken their registration plates off just outside the gate where the cctv couldn't pick them up.

Never had a problem with travellers up to that, but now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Sarn

doopa wrote: »

They've been doing this for years. Must be branching out to other areas to make up the loss due to cutbacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Pretty pathetic if you ask me.

Do people have no shame?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Did she have nice t1tties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    eww tinker tits :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Gypsie women have three hairy titties and tin toenails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Bloody travellers tried to steal our lawnmower from the shed in our fenced garden about six months ago. Dog went ballistic, bit the legs off him, traveller hid in shed. Ran out, locked shed, called gardaí, sorted. Tried to make up some shoite about looking for his son, Garda wasn't having any of it. Fecker bound to the peace.

Edit: Forgot the point of me telling that. They'd been looking for any scrap or anything we didn't want about a week before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Traveller: Howya missus, any chance of a sup of water for the hi-ace, she's overhatin' on me, God bless ya missus!

True story.

What good is bound to the peace?

These boyos clock up twenty or more convictions, some have double that

Good work by the garda but the court was a waste of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Buy a big dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Yay! Pikey bashing thread!

IBTL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

We had an old Peugeot 106 in the garden for ages a couple of years ago, and travellers were constantly knocking in trying to buy it. They weren't trying to rob the place or anything, they just really wanted the car. Weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Traveller: Howya missus, any chance of a sup of water for the hi-ace, she's overhatin' on me, God bless ya missus!

True story.

So you're now a missus? :confused:

Anyway,something similar happened here last week..water for the van etc. Then the gentleman spotted a fairly manky timber trailor that himself was"goin fixin up' (he was ya :rolleyes:)
    So the gentleman proceded to offer a nice sum of money to the hubby,which he gladly accepted and off went the gentleman with his new trailor.

True story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Thorella

Hey Op. She called to our door yesterday. Older Traveller woman, she asked for 'coppers or spare clothes'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Surely this is one time where

Blast them with Piss

is a reasonable suggstion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Travellers begging? .... jaysus the recession must be worse than first feared! they've more money than most of us.

sure it wasn't a lost culchie? there's been thousands of them in "d'big shmooke" these past weeks :p

chucken1 wrote: »
    Then the gentleman spotted a fairly manky timber trailor that himself was"goin fixin up' (he was ya :rolleyes:)
    So the gentleman proceded to offer a nice sum of money to the hubby,which he gladly accepted and off went the gentleman with his new trailor.

Trailers have metal, maybe your husband didn't realize the value of that trailer and the traveller is now going to make the profit from it

Scrap metal prices are sky high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

sure we used to calldoor to door begging as kids, It was called selling lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭KilOit

ah the good old 80's with a traveler going door to door with a trolley filled with stuff and when they weren't looking we'd tip it over and run for cover and watch on while they try put it all back in. good old boys will be boys, now all they do is play xbox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Hate to break it to you but if it was an old traveller woman and you did not give her anything then she probably placed the old gypsy curse upon you and you shall have nothing but bad luck form this day till your dying breath (which probably will be shortly if she is any good at the curses at all)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

My professional oppinion- Keep your money and use it to buy bear-traps, just in case they ever return.