Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

automatic waste of money

• 20-08-2011 2:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭

i dunno if this has been discussed before but i keep seeing the ads for automatic soap dispensors and it pisses me off.
    these things: http://xlerator-handdryer.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/automatic-soap-dispenser.jpg
    they are a total waste of money, the first thing you do after touching the "dirty pump" is wash your hands so who cares if they are dirty or not?!?!
    am i missing something?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Always wondered the same.
    Sure when you turn the tap off wont germs end up back on your hand anyway? So making the automatic soap dispenser void?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

I know, totally doesn't make sense. If they were marketing them as a lack of mess/fun for kids thing or something, I'd understand, but this? Nope don't get it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

FatherLen wrote: »
    am i missing something?

no, only suckers buy this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

fools and their money ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

A gimmick is all it is. A gimmick that sells!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Humans will really cause their own downfall.

We'll have immunity to nothing eventually if we keep using and believing in all this crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

"Never touch a germ covered nozzle again"- bollix!! Press nozzle,get antibacterial soap on hands,kill germs,simples.

I can see kids growing up who will pick up every virus etc. that's out there due to paranoid parents trying to keep them in a germ free environment because of stupid ads on tv scaring the life out of them.

A little dirt never did anybody any harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Must sell more product.

Sure it's all counter productive. I mean look at the crap wimmin put in their hair? Then spend a fortune on repair serum and such shoite.

People sell stuff to make a living, we buy shít to feel better about ourselves, as partners, parents of just as individuals.

That antibacterial soap wont stop you being a lush or stop you riding the postman :pac: Might distract the kids though for a few mins :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

some people are just brainwashed by the adverts unfortunately. but you think that was a waste of money ? check this out, now this is a waste of an unbelievable amount of money and the person in charge of all this has not got a clue where 9 trillion dollars went to. now that's a waste of money in any language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭lorebringer

These things are a load of crap - wash your hands well and you'll be grand!

Everything in the USA is like this - go into a toilet in an airport and the toilet automatically flushes when you stand up (which, I do think is a good idea), the soap dispenser is automatic, the tap is automatic, the hand dryer is automatic - hell, some of the doors into the bathrooms are automatic (with double sets!). All they need are automatic toilet paper dispensers and they'll be set!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i don't mind automatic dispenser in public toilets, it saves them money and less moving parts so less chance of breakage.

the dettol soap dispenser is a complete waste of money but sure not going to stop all the stupid people buying them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭yawha

Yakult wrote: »
    Always wondered the same.
    Sure when you turn the tap off wont germs end up back on your hand anyway? So making the automatic soap dispenser void?
    Yeah, that's a good point. I forgot automatic taps don't exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

FatherLen wrote: »
    i dunno if this has been discussed before but i keep seeing the ads for automatic soap dispensors and it pisses me off.
    these things: http://xlerator-handdryer.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/automatic-soap-dispenser.jpg
    they are a total waste of money, the first thing you do after touching the "dirty pump" is wash your hands so who cares if they are dirty or not?!?!
    am i missing something?

Depends on what's on your hands. If you have cleaned up after a sick child or pet and have pee, poo, vomit etc on your hands then you won't want to cover your pump in that crap.

So tap like this that you can operate with your elbows + soap dispenser = no mess. Granted it's a niche market, but there is a market for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

The use of "germy pump" always makes me feel very ill when I hear it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I think it's okay.

More important to have a tap which can be turned on with an elbow or automatically so you don't leave germs on it turning it on which you'd pick up again having turned it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

What about automatic flushes? Much more realistic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,114 ✭✭✭✭bnt

OP has it right. Ditto for "anti-bacterial": soap has always been anti-bacterial, from the day it was invented. Who cares if it kills the bacteria anyway, if they're washed off your hands and away down the sink? :rolleyes:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I actually died from using a filthy, germ-infested, manual soap pump, so these things are literally lifesaving.

Thread=fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Absurdum wrote: »
    I actually died from using a filthy, germ-infested, manual soap pump, so these things are literally lifesaving.

Thread=fail.

Is there really a giant Soap Dispenser up there? I presume that's automatic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

TheZohan wrote: »

So tap like this that you can operate with your elbows + soap dispenser = no mess. Granted it's a niche market, but there is a market for it.

IF they marketed it like that, but they don't, they market it as a way to not touch a germy pump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

lads it's not that complicated! You just need to buy a second one to kill the germs after using the first one.......................hey, wait a minute:confused: then you could get germs from the second one too. You would need THREE to make it work. Jezz what a con! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Aren't we all germ pumps.....in one way or another?

Caught a flu thats wrecked my weekend from shaking hands with an office colleague during the week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

We have one (I didn't buy it) that is triggered by shadows. So if you just walk anywhere near the sink it sets it off. Literally money (well soap) down the drain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I also don't get why men are expected to wash their hands after going to the toilet. So you've touched your penis, but you've washed it that morning and kept it in a sterile cotton container all day. And then you are supposed to go through this ceremony of touching dirty soap dispensers and tap handles. Makes no sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Surely this will result in humans being immune to nothing in years to come?

Nothing like regularly using public transport to boost the immune system!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭parc

But if I didn't have this automatic dispenser I'd have to actually push it myself

This saves effort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Dettol hand soap must be crap if it can't even wash off the germs that are on a soap pump.