Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you concerned about the role the EU plays in Irish affairs?

• 19-08-2011 11:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭

Prior to the Lisbon treaty, (and to an extent, prior European treaties) - opponents of the European project routinely pointed out that the EU's role was going above and beyond what was required of it. Slowly, our ability to dictate our own affairs were diluted through a gradual process over multiple treaties.

So when opponents of the EU in it's 'current form' pointed out that too much power was indeed being determined from Brussels, they were told that their concerns were ill-founded.

So in lieu of the collapse of our economic sovereignty, and the recent talks between Germany and France on Brussels dictating the budgets of Eurozone members through a 'economic government' along with a future potential tax harmonisation - Are you concerned now with the role that the EU plays in Irish affairs and has the EU transcended it's original purpose?

I am of the opinion that our affairs should only be determined by those with whom we can vote for. What say you?

Has the EU transended it's original role? 31 votes

Yes - It has gone too far.
    0%
    No - It is an acceptable tradeoff.
    64%
    dlofnepDonkeyStyle \o/OPENROADMorlarBigginsamaccaAidanBolandPomBearJohroWashington IrvingtonycascarinoTEMPLAR KNIGHTBodhisophaLETHAL LADYPinturicchioStinickerBMF Plintjc84LaVaillocked_out 20 votes
    Other - Discuss.
    35%
    RobboandrewsinkSelothPride FightertippspurSykksmk89TheReverendLady von Purpleflyaway. 11 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Who cares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I've gone beyond caring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Who cares

Potentially, 10's of millions of the citizens of smaller nations in the EU?
    I've gone beyond caring.

Your apathy is probably true of most people in Ireland. But that doesn't say much for the population, that they would be so apathetic about our sovereignty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

dlofnep wrote: »
    Potentially, 10's of millions of the citizens of smaller nations in the EU?

Are you surprised at how things have gone though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Its friday night/saturday morning for fcuk sake. Relax & have a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Well I'd rather a German, French or any other foreigner play a key role in Irish affairs than a fecking eejit from Mayo......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

At this very moment after a couple of glasses of rose not really. But generally speaking yes.

Well I'd rather a German, French or any other foreigner play a key role in Irish affairs than a fecking eejit from Mayo......

That's racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Oh look!

a cute kitten.

I guess clicking a poll was asking too much of apathetic drunks. Mods, you may close said thread.

AHHHHH HAAA you're annoyed! :D

You've been planning this all day and are really pissed off about this.. you're hurting right now...

You need a hug there?

C'mere you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Other - Discuss.
    I am of the opinion that our affairs should only be determined by those with whom we can vote for. What say you?

I must have imagined voting in the European elections in 2009.

What is with the growth in Eurosceptic threads of late? It's better to be in Europe, a confident and outward looking nation than outside. We seen what we were like outside, with the church and Fianna Fail running us into the ground. The EU, single currency and EEA are great things. We're not America ;)

You've been planning this all day and are really pissed off about this.. you're hurting right now...

You need a hug there?

C'mere you...

Ah I'm not. I'm just bored and was watching Vinny B. Felt it was worth a tussle. Apparently not!

Will take a hug though, so long as you're willing to take the flu in return.

Christ you're embarrassing.

AAAAAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA!!!

What is with the growth in Eurosceptic threads of late?

Perhaps, the potential of our sovereignty being further diluted. I'm one of those pesky democratic types, who likes to have an accountable and elected Government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Obelisk

Yes yes and yes again.

I'l bet the ones who are I'm denial/ apathetic are the very ones who voted yes to Lisbon on the second run!

Pawns, the lot of ye by choice & consent.

AAAAAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA!!!

Because creating a thread on boards is such an embarrassing endeavour.

Perhaps, the potential of our sovereignty being further diluted. I'm one of those pesky democratic types, who likes to have an accountable and elected Government.

Why?

We've had countless elected governments. All of them have been useless & none of them have ever been accountable.

I wouldn't mind having a dictator in charge for a bit just to see how it pans out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Other - Discuss.

So you prefer an isolated Ireland outside the EU and not an outward looking one inside.

Because creating a thread on boards is such an embarrassing endeavour.

Such a thread on a friday night/saturday morning? Yeah it is. This is AH. Now if you'd picked a weekday then yes i would contribute something sensible but not tonight.

A poor choice of forum section on your part.

I wouldn't mind having a dictator in charge for a bit just to see how it pans out.

I wouldn't mind having nobody in charge for a bit to see how it turns out.

So you prefer an isolated Ireland outside the EU and not an outward looking one inside.

No, I'd prefer an Ireland within the EU that still maintains it's own economic sovereignty.

I'm watching RTE. Nationwide rocks. I've no time for French films.

The EU can suck my balls.

Such a thread on a friday night/saturday morning? Yeah it is. This is AH. Now if you'd picked a weekday then yes i would contribute something sensible but not tonight.

Did my choice of forum and day of the week upset you? I'll have to be far more considerate to your needs the next time I create a thread. Because we all know, boards.ie revolves around fonecrusher1.. Wise up. You're not forced to click on any thread. You click on it by choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Its friday night/saturday morning for fcuk sake. Relax & have a drink.

You need a hug there?

C'mere you...

AAAAAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA!!!

A poor choice of forum section on your part.

Quit derailing the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

No, I'd prefer an Ireland within the EU that still maintains it's own economic sovereignty.

SF supporters opposed our entry to the EEC and every referendum afterwards.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

There's a difference between working with the rest of the EU against cowering to the might of the EU.
    One is a partnership and everyone hopefully benefits, the other is a dominance and for that to be, there has to be little guys/countries to shove about like chess pieces to be played around with for their own ends. Thats Ireland at present!

K-9 wrote: »
    SF supporters opposed our entry to the EEC and every referendum afterwards.

Well, Lisbon was the first treaty I voted on - so that's not relevant to my record. I favour mutual partnerships in the EU, free trade, travel and treaties concerning climate and other ecological issues - I believe most people would favour such an EU if it existed. So in the current scheme of things - I find the direction that the EU is taking to be undesirable.

Biggins wrote: »
    There's a difference between working with the rest of the EU against cowering to the might of the EU.
    One is a partnership and everyone hopefully benefits, the other is a dominance and for that to be, there has to be little guys/countries to shove about like chess pieces to be played around with for their own ends. Thats Ireland at present!

With Kenny at the helm, that's little more that you'd expect.

The guy looks like a victim. I'd say he was bullied in school for having a crap haircut & a My Little Pony lunchbox that his mammy bought him because - deep down - she really wanted a girl.

Not much has changed since. In the world of EU bulls & bears, he's an EU weeny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

Its a bit like a bad marraige at the moment, we cant afford to go our own way yet, maybe in a few years when we get our debts cleared we can have some say in what happens, right now we have to knuckle down, take the hits and try to come out the other side.

This x ∞

looky loo wrote: »
    Its a bit like a bad marraige at the moment, we cant afford to go our own way yet, maybe in a few years when we get our debts cleared we can have some say in what happens, right now we have to knuckle down, take the hits and try to come out the other side.

Might take a bit longer then that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Your apathy is probably true of most people in Ireland. But that doesn't say much for the population, that they would be so apathetic about our sovereignty.

wait till the sheeple have it taken from them........in a visible in your face clipboardy way then they will learn to value it when they find out how hard it will be to get it back

looky loo wrote: »

That's fairly much a load of bollox.

No one should have to stay in a bad marriage. You either sort your problems, or cut your losses & walk away. A bad marriage - like any bad relationship - is not healthy for any of the parties involved.

And the same principle applies to Ireland & the EU.

amacca wrote: »
    wait till the sheeple have it taken from them........in a visible in your face clipboardy way then they will learn to value it when they find out how hard it will be to get it back

Well, that's the conundrum! Once it's done, it cannot be undone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

That's fairly much a load of bollox.

No one should have to stay in a bad marriage. You either sort your problems, or cut your losses & walk away. A bad marriage - like any bad relationship - is not healthy for any of the parties involved.

And the same principle applies to Ireland & the EU.

absolute twaddle...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Other - Discuss.
    They can't harmonise tax without another referendum, so don't worry folks. Though if they don't harmonise tax, then the euro will never really be able to work as a currency, so....

Well, that's the conundrum! Once it's done, it cannot be undone.

there isn't a single thing that time wont undo or render irrelevant eventually.................trouble is it may have potentially negative implications for generations of Irish people some who may not even realize what has been taken away from them

andrew wrote: »
    They can't harmonise tax without another referendum, so don't worry folks. Though if they don't harmonise tax, then the euro will never really be able to work as a currency, so....

I'm not worried. I saved up a load of butter vouchers a few years back in case of emergency.

As soon as the shit hits the fan, I'm cashing them in.

Was pretty obvious from the start really, but we were sooooooooo in love :)

Well, Lisbon was the first treaty I voted on - so that's not relevant to my record. I favour mutual partnerships in the EU, free trade, travel and treaties concerning climate and other ecological issues - I believe most people would favour such an EU if it existed. So in the current scheme of things - I find the direction that the EU is taking to be undesirable.

The point is you'd probably have thought joining the EEC was undesirable in 1972 because SF said it was undesirable.

Party lines need to be knocked on the head to have a proper debate on this.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

The point is you'd probably have thought joining the EEC was undesirable in 1972 because SF said it was undesirable.

Party lines need to be knocked on the head to have a proper debate on this.

I'm well capable of thinking for myself.

Worked for the dollar.........wait!

It can happen.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Other - Discuss.

There were/are lots of good reasons for joining the euro and the EEC, and there continue to be. Even if the euro was a poorly executed idea (which it has been, in general), the EEC has been nothing but awesome.

Not much has changed since. In the world of EU bulls & bears, he's an EU weeny.

yeah what we need is someone who can punch above his or her weight (that's why Cowen was always at a disadvantage).............we need the political equivalent of Begby from trainspotting

some rock hard wiry b@stard you know would literally cut of his own nose to spite his face if it meant he would bring you down with him...appease him whatever you do or else he will fcuk you up....cant see that happening ever although cometh the hour cometh the man

lets face it that little Boneparte Sarkozy and the beige marshmallow Merkel are calling the plays in for their own political good while the EU bulls and Bears run around moving their money from one "safe" haven to the next.....

yeah what we need is someone who can punch above his or her weight (that's why Cowen was always at a disadvantage).............we need the political equivalent of Begby from trainspotting

some rock hard wiry b@stard you know would literally cut of his own nose to spite his face if it meant he would bring you down with him...appease him whatever you do or else he will fcuk you up....cant see that happening ever although cometh the hour cometh the man

Oddly enough, Gerry Adams almost fits that description!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Obelisk

Hahahaha. Big Gerry is right

Hadn't considered that

Gerry Adams could be the Winston Churchill in Ireland's hour of need:D

Now Nicolas..we have a wee sit-yee-ation, when I'm through with ye, ye'll know what a treaty really is.........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Gerry Adams could be the Winston Churchill in Ireland's hour of need:D

While Winston isn't around to defend himself, I doubt either man would appreciate that comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Other - Discuss.
    Our public service is such a joke. I know so many people working in different PS departments that go into work every day and do nothing.. I don't mean they work for an hour or two. They do nothing. And get paid well for it too.

Welfare is a joke. Education and health is beyond pathetic.

I don't see how letting others with better qualifications and more know-how with more stern prospects run things would be too bad?