Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I transfer insurance temporarily?

• 19-08-2011 8:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

Hi all, I recently sold my car and have to travel to Galway to pick up my next car which is a Honda integra dc5,, question is would my current company Quinn be likely to allow me to transfer temporarily to drive home, I only want temporary as I'm not 100% sure I'll buy it when I go up there, I'm 23 with 4 years ncb, I am fairly confident they'll insure it, once I buy it , thing is I havent yet and they could refuse me any ideas folks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

I've no problems doing this with my AXA policy, can't see why you would. Just ring the office and tell them when you'll need to be insured on the car, the reg plate would be needed as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

Your insurance company are the only people who can give you a definite answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Hi OP. Added a temp vehicle to my policy last week with Quinn. They charged me 35 for the privilege.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I temporarily change insurance all the time. It's never cost me a cent. I've done it with several insurance companies, but I've never been insured with Quinn Direct. They are well known to charge for it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭whatcartoget

My sister is insured with Quinn Direct and a few years ago when she bought a car without selling her own. Quinn let her transfer the insurance to her new car then back to her old car and back to her new car again when she had her old one sold and they never charged!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Upc23

Thanks for the answers guys, Ive been researching this but apparently all Quinn policies allow customers to drive another car once i can get permission from the owner and the car is road worthy, I don't have my policy cert in front of me so cant confirm this, can anyone shed light on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Upc23 wrote: »
    Thanks for the answers guys, Ive been researching this but apparently all Quinn policies allow customers to drive another car once i can get permission from the owner and the car is road worthy, I don't have my policy cert in front of me so cant confirm this, can anyone shed light on this?

that is correct...however the car is only covered for third party and must already be insured...
    You cannot drive a car that doesn't have an insured driver!!!! In other words if the guy selling it to you has already cancelled his insurance on it then the answer is no...you are not covered.
    Anyway quinn are grand with changing over temp, I used to do it all the time with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Yes, but if/when you buy it, you will sign over the tax book making the car yours, and you wont be covered since you will own the vehicle from that point.

As far as i know your policy will cover you to drive any car as described, but only provided that you dont own the car. Thats what my policy with quinn read as in the past, and its how my extension driving with axa now works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Yes you can but the car must be taxed and tested. They never charge me for temp changes btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Recently Corkie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    that is correct...however the car is only covered for third party and must already be insured...
    You cannot drive a car that doesn't have an insured driver!!!! In other words if the guy selling it to you has already cancelled his insurance on it then the answer is no...you are not covered.
    Anyway quinn are grand with changing over temp, I used to do it all the time with them.

Dead right, you be surprised the number of people who get caught under the second issue, driving another car which has no insurance and they think they are covered under their own policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

I'm with Quinn and they don't charge me to change usually because the car I have insured is already in the upper echelons of their risk scale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Upc23

Regarding the signing over issue that shouldnt be an issue as I'll be driving the car straight home, and the log book won't be reaching dept of transport till at least the following day. Btw do I have to notify Quinn if every time I intend to drive a car under open policy even if I already obtained the owners permission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

You'll be driving it using the third party extension I'm guessing?

In that case you won't have to notify them at all. Depending on the wording of your policy it probably won't have to be taxed or insured.
    Quinn Rep wrote:
    I would like to confirm if your certificate of insurance says so, we will
    cover you, the policyholder, for your liability to other people while you
    are driving any other privately owned vehicle which you do not own or have
    not hired under a hire-purchase or lease agreement as long as:
    Does not belong to you or your employer
    Is not hired or leased by you or your employer
    Is not a van, or a car van, or a jeep type vehicle
    You currently hold a full EU licence
    The use of the vehicle is covered on the certificate of insurance
    Cover is not provided by any other insurance
    You have the owners permission to drive the vehicle
    The vehicle is in a roadworthy condition and
    You still have your vehicle and it is not been damaged beyond cost
    effective repair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

MugMugs wrote: »
    Recently Corkie?

Yes about a month ago. They sent out a letter afterwards confirming the change over and telling me there was no charge for it. I remember thinking what a waste of Administration sending me that and the company in Dire Straits..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Regarding the signing over issue that shouldnt be an issue as I'll be driving the car straight home, and the log book won't be reaching dept of transport till at least the following day. Btw do I have to notify Quinn if every time I intend to drive a car under open policy even if I already obtained the owners permission?

It doesnt matter when the log book reaches shannon, going by the letter of the law; when you sign your name the car falls under your ownership.

If you had an accident on the way home you would find that the log book would arrive back to you with the date of sale, the insurance company would check the date of sale, and you would be proven to be uninsured -
    Thats if Im 100% correct, which i may not be..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

The way it looks to me is you have to transfer your insurance over completely to the new vehicle to be properly insured.

If the current owner has no insurance on it, this is the only legal way for you to drive it home.

It doesnt matter when the log book reaches shannon, going by the letter of the law; when you sign your name the car falls under your ownership.

If you had an accident on the way home you would find that the log book would arrive back to you with the date of sale, the insurance company would check the date of sale, and you would be proven to be uninsured -
    Thats if Im 100% correct, which i may not be..

100% correct, the other problem is that the old owner may also transfer his insurance, and then the new owner would not be insured. And before anyone says it won't matter, I was in court when a guy in exactly that situation was looking down the gun at a mandatory ban. He got banned in DC in CC the judge took pity on him, but get another judge on another day one year ban. I will only drive a vehicle I am named to drive.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Strange how you say this.. my insurance tells me different
    I'm with axa & my policy covers me to drive ANY car up to the value of 100k fully comprehensive, with the owners permission & that it is not in my name.
    I queried them twice asking them does the vehicle have to be currently insured by someone & I was told it doens't have to have a valid insurance, but I was advised to have my cert with me as I could run into problems if I was stopped by the guards as the vehicle would have no valid insurance disc
    So OP its best you ring your insurance & confirm if you're covered or not. different people have different policys. I do know with axa you can transfer your insurance to another car online in a few mins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Lenny wrote: »
    I queried them twice asking them does the vehicle have to be currently insured by someone & I was told, but

You left out yes or no, which was it. :) Yes i'm guessing.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Thanks, I fixed it there
    when I was renewing my premium with them they had called out my cover on what I had, break down, windscreen, ability to drive other cars, FULLY COMPREHENSIVE, NCB protection.
    that was when I queried if the "friends/neighbours" car had to be insured or not.
    One of their examples she said it was only really ment for is for if you need to get to work & your car has broken down & needed to take a neighbours car.. but I thought insurance company were a bit iffy when using your car to get to work, as you're only paying for social & domestic use!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

but I thought insurance company were a bit iffy when using your car to get to work, as you're only paying for social & domestic use!
    That covers commuting to work. So no issues arise.

Lenny wrote: »

Strange how you say this.. my insurance tells me different
    I'm with axa & my policy covers me to drive ANY car up to the value of 100k fully comprehensive, with the owners permission & that it is not in my name.
    I queried them twice asking them does the vehicle have to be currently insured by someone & I was told it doens't have to have a valid insurance, but I was advised to have my cert with me as I could run into problems if I was stopped by the guards as the vehicle would have no valid insurance disc
    So OP its best you ring your insurance & confirm if you're covered or not. different people have different policys. I do know with axa you can transfer your insurance to another car online in a few mins!

http://www.axa.ie/download/axa-car-insurance-post-21112010.pdf

Page 15 does not make it clear either way but if it is in writing in your policy then you will be covered, from what I have heard most companies require the car to be covered. Also according to the Axa policy document they do not cover commercial vehicles, this is why I have a huge problem with the drive any vehicle insurance unless a person has read all the exclusions they may find themselves in trouble for example the policy document only covers up to 50k value while your policy says 100k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Re driving of other cars extension under your own insurance,it doesnt matter if the car is insured elsewhere or not,why would it?

You are driving it under your own insurance.

Also OP,check your policy wording.Alot of insurers do not offer driving of other cars for drivers under 25 or unless you have paid an additional fee at policy inception so do not take it as read that you are automatically covered.

Seriously lads,the advice been thrown out by some in this thread and others like it as fact is kinda worrying.

Just cos your own insurance is that way doesnt mean someone elses will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Nothing to do with the car youre buying but this one looks class.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2451991

is it an 05 model youre looking at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Re driving of other cars extension under your own insurance,it doesnt matter if the car is insured elsewhere or not,why would it?

You are driving it under your own insurance.

Also OP,check your policy wording.Alot of insurers do not offer driving of other cars for drivers under 25 or unless you have paid an additional fee at policy inception so do not take it as read that you are automatically covered.

Seriously lads,the advice been thrown out by some in this thread and others like it as fact is kinda worrying.

Just cos your own insurance is that way doesnt mean someone elses will be.
    And it will be 3rd party only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

With most companies yes,that is the case however I have heard of one or two that offer comp for doc but they are a rarity.Its a huuuuge risk increase.

Not always the case
    With most companies yes,that is the case however I have heard of one or two that offer comp for doc but they are a rarity.Its a huuuuge risk increase.

My insurance premium has been coming down with axa the last four years, and within the last two I've had NCB protection added & also fully comp on any car.
    But as I said everyone has different circumstances, my insurance is only 430e fully comp & mid twenties, driving 4 years..