Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Do Ye Think ?

• 19-08-2011 7:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭

Lads, applied for my 1st deer caliber rifle after 20 years of having various guns.
    Got a call from my inspector (Standing in since the super retired) and he wants to meet up for a quick chat Monday and I'm to bring along my original paperwork.
    Is this normal or what ? Never had to do anything like this before.
    I have never been in trouble or anything like that and as I said my paper work is all in order.

What do ye think ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

When I went for the bigger calibre the FO sent the CPO round to check the house over, ie. the doors alarm etc.

He's just covering his arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Yeah when I applied for the moderator permissions I had to meet the Super. Was absolutely fine. He just wanted to meet me and hear from me in my own words why I wanted the mods.

I imagine he just wants to get a measure of your character, see what type of person you are. As Clive says, he needs to cover his ass. I imagine it's a big responsibility deciding who gets a license, especially when you've never even met the applicant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭zeissman

Dont worry about it, I was also called in when I applied for my first deer rifle even though I had other guns licenced for about 18 years.
    From what I remember I was asked a few basic questions about stalking and safety when shooting but I think he just wanted to see what kind of person I was.
    I actually think its a good thing and shows he is taking your applcation seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

vixdname wrote: »
    Lads, applied for my 1st deer caliber rifle after 20 years of having various guns.
    Got a call from my inspector (Standing in since the super retired) and he wants to meet up for a quick chat Monday and I'm to bring along my original paperwork.
    Is this normal or what ? Never had to do anything like this before.
    I have never been in trouble or anything like that and as I said my paper work is all in order.

What do ye think ?

I think its very impressive. that they're taking this approach

No amount of paperwork and certification will match the assessment of someone with a bit of cop-on (no pun intended) chatting to an applicant for a few minutes.

I would be a lot happier every time I hear a shot from a deer rifle on our hill at the thought that the licence holder has convinced a senior Garda that s/he is safe and sane.

LostCovey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Thanks lads, ye're after putting my mind at ease.
    I got a bit of a start when he rang me himself and I was saying to myself, "Ah Jaysus I'm after getting this far with leases, permits, hunting license etc to be knocked at the last hurdle" but now that some of ye have been brought in for the chat when applying for the deer caliber I makes me feel ok !

Ye're 100% right though about it being a good thing that they do actually request a meeting, at least they take it seriously when handing out licenses for the larger calibres and that they're not handing them out to some lunatics

Thanks again lads !