Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

farm safety

• 19-08-2011 6:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

reading over on another forum of a farm safety issue. There's a 10 year old on a quad flying up and down a country road over fields etc with no helmet and getting more daring by the day, the parents have been asked to slow him down he's still at it... also he stands on the tow bar of trailer when its going up the road and hangs off side of jeep also.. i think the parents are idiots to allow this , what do ye think..I have a ds who is 10, we dont have a quad and farm safety is parmount here... could she report it to hsa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭mjcom4d

Farmers journal has a bit about a lad who was trapped in a slurry pit in this weeks issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Farmer's Journal had a bit about a man whose leg was amputated with PTO a while back as well. When I was learning to work with tractors my father told me not to leave the tractor until the PTO was definitely stopped and the moving parts on the machine were no longer moving. I'm teaching my daughters the same. Working on the principle that if you are sitting on the tractor while the shaft is moving you can't get caught in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I like those stories in the Journal .I think they raise awareness about safety much better with a personal touch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

whelan1 wrote: »
    reading over on another forum of a farm safety issue. There's a 10 year old on a quad flying up and down a country road over fields etc with no helmet and getting more daring by the day, the parents have been asked to slow him down he's still at it... also he stands on the tow bar of trailer when its going up the road and hangs off side of jeep also.. i think the parents are idiots to allow this , what do ye think..I have a ds who is 10, we dont have a quad and farm safety is parmount here... could she report it to hsa?

Hard to say what to do in this situation Whelan. One part of me says if the parents have been told, what more should you do, and then another part of me says the parents arent doing what they should, so reporting would be the right thing to do... I dunno...

I broke my leg years ago (off a tractor) but when I was in hospital, there was another lad there who had his leg taken off at the hip from the PTO on a slurry tank... Both experiences would quieten you around tractors and make you cautious... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭johnboy6930

lad down the road got a silage pike straight throw his back and out throw his stomach.hes very lucky to alive. the driver of the loader didn't even see him and had him lifted up off the ground before he had saw him hes been up in Dublin with 7 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭aidanki

lad down the road got a silage pike straight throw his back and out throw his stomach.hes very lucky to alive. the driver of the loader didn't even see him and had him lifted up off the ground before he had saw him hes been up in Dublin with 7 weeks.

where did that happen, my cousin who lives in cork city had that story as well

loader driver needs a trip to specsavers, how could you not see someone

how wide was the fork on the loader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭johnboy6930

happened just outside killorglin..well now to be fair it was his own fault for bending down in front of the loader to pick something up but all the same he should have seen him. the pikes looked about an inch inch n half. but keep in mind he lifted him off the ground too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

Another farm related disaster, God bless all involved,

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/110-01.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Lads and ladettes

I'm fair shook. I just slipped while walking beside tanker as pto was running. I put out my hand, instinct and fell square on the running pto.

For luck it was covered and I'm not injured or worse a statistic.

Good forecast for next week I appeal to you all to check and if necessary replace covers before the rush starts.

I'm not lecturing or trying to be holier that thou but I gave myself some fright

Be safe, please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,809 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

KatyMac wrote: »
    Farmer's Journal had a bit about a man whose leg was amputated with PTO a while back as well. When I was learning to work with tractors my father told me not to leave the tractor until the PTO was definitely stopped and the moving parts on the machine were no longer moving. I'm teaching my daughters the same. Working on the principle that if you are sitting on the tractor while the shaft is moving you can't get caught in it.
    There are times that you need to get off while the pto is running using a slurry tanker is the first one that comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Lads and ladettes

I'm fair shook. I just slipped while walking beside tanker as pto was running. I put out my hand, instinct and fell square on the running pto.

Good forecast for next week I appeal to you all to check and if necessary replace covers before the rush starts.

I'm not lecturing or trying to be holier that thou but I gave myself some fright

Be safe, please
    That is a fair bad fright, Frazzled.

I remember the father coming into the house stark naked when i was 4 years old after his coat got caught in a PTO shaft. Luckily for him, his clothes were fair well worn so they were whipped off him while he was hanging onto a door:eek:

I hate PTO shafts and never ever use one unless it is perfect. A hundred euro is cheaper than a funeral!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Lots of close one out there.
    When I was a wee lad we were rolling grain.
    The fathers shop coat caught on PTO and only it was worn and he was a brute of a strong man at the time he'd have been a goner. Took in one corner, split up seam at the back and down over his arm in a flash, he was at the hopper and held that to resist being pulled in.
    Serious close one. I was sitting on the seat facing backwards, put there to be out of harms way but saw it happen before me.

It's good to talk about this stuff.

Covers are cheap compared to the alternative !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

With all the accidents and deaths on farms at the minute, would it be an idea to sticky this thread for a while?

I was talking to a friend while ago and he said if every farmer did just one thing to make the farm safer every year, it would have a big effect in a few years.

I am going to buy proper ladder next week to replace to patched one i have been using.

What are you going to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Lads and ladettes

Be safe, please

Fair play to you for posting this, others might be slow to admit close calls but we can all learn by talking about these things. You'll be thanking yourself for having the pto shaft in safe order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

With all the accidents and deaths on farms at the minute, would it be an idea to sticky this thread for a while?

I was talking to a friend while ago and he said if every farmer did just one thing to make the farm safer every year, it would have a big effect in a few years.

I am going to buy proper ladder next week to replace to patched one i have been using.

What are you going to do?
    Good one there.
    Im aiming to keep safety foremost in my mind during the day, every day.
    The minutes saved from rushing through a job goes no where in A&E or having to repair an item/corner of a shed etc etc. or worse planning a funeral:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

There are times that you need to get off while the pto is running using a slurry tanker is the first one that comes to mind.

Chap I work for is looking into replacing the #pto shaft on the slurry tank with a hydraulic motor. Reckons it would be a lot safer and cheaper in the long run

Some brain box in the EU is after suggesting cutting farm payments to Ireland over the amount of farm deaths. Cutting the income would be a great way of making farms safer. Just heard it's no other than our own Phil Hogan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

No point in Phil being a b0lix without showing it
    Some brain box in the EU is after suggesting cutting farm payments to Ireland over the amount of farm deaths. Cutting the income would be a great way of making farms safer. Just heard it's no other than our own Phil Hogan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

No point in Phil being a b0lix without showing it

Indeed.. and this just adds to the long list of his stupid ideas :mad:

I remember 8 or 9 years ago I was told that in the civil servants they sometimes promote a bollix/useless fecker up a grade to get rid of them.

No wonder they "promoted" Phil. Jaysus some of my hens are smarter than him
    _Brian wrote: »
    Indeed.. and this just adds to the long list of his stupid ideas :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Cutting farm payments at an EU level, or giving inspectors the power to make cuts to peoples SFP? (Like if an inspection finds PTO covers are missing)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

The word 'traitor' comes to mind.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Cutting farm payments at an EU level, or giving inspectors the power to make cuts to peoples SFP? (Like if an inspection finds PTO covers are missing)
    On the radio they mentioned cutting all Irish farm payments but when I checked it out on the internet he wants to impose penalty's on individuals sfp if they fail on safety, either way it's a stupid idea. Coveney said that it was a non runner as all it will do is put farmers under more pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Yes just what we need another big stick to bate us with.

That will definitely work.

Is it a coincidence that as farm payments plummeted and the economy tanked that farm deaths have skyrocketed??
    So the obvious answer is to cut more money? Ffs
    There was a safety grant this year. I don't know many that took it up?
    There was a ridiculous deadline and a crippling minimum spend. And a mountain of paperwork.
    Am nervous that something stupid is going to come out of all this. And from the above soundings from the EU my fears are only increased.
    What should happen is every farmer should receive a 1.5-2k increase in payments no paperwork no deadlines no bull**** and then be penalised on inspection for safety breaches.
    They can come up with across the board cuts modulation, financial discipline, national reserve , without making farmers do any paper work. Can't they do an across the board increase now for safety ??
    The alternative is to cut payments and increase inspections. Yes increase the flight from the land which is what they want in the long run anyway .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

What's needed for farm safety is time and labor two things that have been lost in the last 30 years.
    If its a case of feeding cows milking collecting the kids from school putting out slurry before the rain etc or fixing the handbrake on the tractor or PTO guard which will be done first.
    The amount of labor needed on a farm is not there anymore due to wife's working people having off farm job's payment cuts and increased taxes is all leading to more pressure and shortcuts being taken and safety being put off until tomorrow.
    In an ideal world a farmer could ring up HSA to come out show them the danger's and the HSA would fix it or issue a grant to fix it.
    I spoke to two farmers who were afraid to apply for farm safety grant for fear of another inspection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I cannot understand the idea for the minimum spend. Well I have my own theory that it was to cut down on the amount of paperwork they had to process.

If the genuine intention of the scheme was to improve safety on ALL farms nationwide, there should have been no minimum spend.

The majority of livestock farms would have got handling equipment that fitted within their budget.

Why nothing done about PTO covers???

As for external agitation slats etc, I feel that this should be a mandatory measure with automatic grant approval and a reasonable 2-3 year window in which to apply and carry out the works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Muckit wrote: »
    I cannot understand the idea for the minimum spend. Well I have my own theory that it was to cut down on the amount of paperwork they had to process.

If the genuine intention of the scheme was to improve safety on ALL farms nationwide, there should have been no minimum spend.

The majority of livestock farms would have got handling equipment that fitted within their budget.

Why nothing done about PTO covers???

As for external agitation slats etc, I feel that this should be a mandatory measure with automatic grant approval and a reasonable 2-3 year window in which to apply and carry out the works.
    I cant figure the PTO covers either , they should nearly have just given the grant to a few selected manufacturers and told them to make the and supply them for a fixed cost to farmers if they wanted the contract .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Bullocks wrote: »
    I cant figure the PTO covers either , they should nearly have just given the grant to a few selected manufacturers and told them to make the and supply them for a fixed cost to farmers if they wanted the contract .

All they have to do for starters is cut the VAT to zero on specific safety items.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Lads and ladettes

Be safe, please

Fair play frazzledhome, I wouldn't put your escape down to luck but down to the fact you had the general cop on to have the PTO covered.

Like must things in farming this thread has turned into a debate on grants. I for one don't believe much in farm safety grants, there was a thread on it here and the biggest debate was buying cattle weighing scales under the grant. :D

Again, there was a thread here awhile ago about how well your animals knew you. I was shocked to hear of fellas petting rams, cow's, heifers, bullocks and almost getting up on their backs. For heavens sake lads they are animals and cause more damage than anything else on a farm.

I don't think it's unreasonable for a cut to sfp payments if farmers are in breach of safety rules. I would take if further and have lads locked up and not able to sell or buy for 6 months at least just like tb.

Just heard of a neighbour that got put against a wall with a cow calving. Careful fella and sometimes danger can't be avoided only mimimised, especially with bloody cows at calving time. Although you always see fellas around livestock with no stick or anyway, jesus not sure how more people aren't hurt in marts the way lads treat animals. :eek:

If you are stupid enough to have under age children operating machinery(even throwing out the odd bale for you), you may have some very big consequence to live with for the rest of your life.

Again fair play to frazzled for posting his experience and it will be work all hours for most people on here over the next few weeks so hoping everyone takes a step back and takes care. Frightening the stats from farm incidents last year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

I don't understand how this would work. Farming already comes under health and safety law. Which includes penalties etc. if found to break the law. So in essence you could have your payments cut, face penalties if found guilty of breaking H&S law plus you could have a civil case where someone comes looking for compensation.

They will have to change the cross compliance rules too which will take time and money.

Seems severe but then maybe that is what it will take to change the mentality out there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Bit on farm safety on prime time now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Word of warning!

We were lifting fencing posts before lunch. Using new sling instead of chain. Lifting away and with ground do hard and dry sling stretched, post released and flew towards loader windscreen.

It passed narrowly missing cab and driver landing 20m behind loader. Switched to chain and will use forever more.

Be care ful

driving down the road Saturday and the pallet forks hoped off the loader at 40k over a bump

don't know if someone had messed with the quick hitch or if it opened on its own,. I had only swapped implement that morning and definitely closed it. tractor had been parked on road side for about 90 mins.

Anyway front and back tyre in bits and hydraulic pipes bust as forks went up under the tractor and jammed between trailer drawbar and back wheel.

Will definitely be putting some safety chain on it from now on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Got a call from a neighbour this morning. Yearling bull was caught up on a gate. Both back legs were in under the top bar and he was hanging forward. Don't know how long he was there but he was rightly caught. We got a big lifting strap in behind his front lags, lifted him and drove back. I jumped the gate to get the strap off. Was jumping back again to get out of the way and he decided to get up and hit the gate. I ended up hitting the ground a wallop. Caught me on the right hip. Can feel it niggling me now.
    Just got me thinking about farm safety and how we work in a lethal environment. I'd be as safety conscious as anyone, but how do you avoid something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

A man in a neighbouring parish found killed today in a shed with cows and calves. Terrible tragedy. RIP.

Another reminder that cows can be vicious after calving. Watch out, you can never be too careful.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Moving a few posts to the 'other' mart thread.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057861896

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.