Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

public display of affections

• 19-08-2011 05:31PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Do you call your OH pet names,hold their hands,embrace and kiss each other whilst in public,post soppy messages on social pages,or whilst on train or bus try not to have a quickie?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Of course I tell her I love her and kiss her in public. Why wouldn't I? Because you're single and bitter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Do you call your OH pet names,hold their hands,embrace and kiss each other whilst in public,post soppy messages on social pages,or whilst on train or bus try not to have a quickie?.

"Look at me .. I have a BOYFRIEND .. he LOVES me .. I'm a big deal."

No one who does this is not a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

PDA's should be banned in fairness. i suppose hand holding is acceptable. but kissing, sexing and wearing the same clothes as each other (it happens) should be banished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I dont see the big deal about kissing a little in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

The Pakistani (foriegners) have the right idea they have the wives walk about 20 yards behind them.
    Women know your place!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭fearbainne

Been going with the same budgie for 4 years n if she tried to do a PDA on me I'd slap the b*tch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

All of the above and more.

We had to get a private group for the 2 of us on Facebook cause we got complaints about our soppy posts.

Tongues? If you can see one or more tongue from a passing glance it's too much, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

If I had an OH I wouldn't call them pet names maybe a quirky nickname ya but pet name noooo! And I wouldn't like if an OH called me a pet name, can't stand it! If its a quirky original nickname ya I wouldn't mind. Seriously though, if a guy was doing that I would play along with it but I don't like pet names. There is something fake about it!? I rather they use my proper name or shorten it to something quirky!? A hug, holding hands and a peck on lips/cheek be ok but I am not one for PDA's to be honest!?

Soppy messages, mmm used to but wouldn't do that any more if I were with someone. It's a bit blasé and clichéd! Nice to follow the crowd but not moi I like to be different do my own thing and not always follow the crowd. Following the crowd and what everything else other people do in society shouldn't matter and don't have to always conform to things some more so than other's are worth conforming too. Its nice to be unique. Not a chance would I do that on public transport, they be lucky to get a kiss in public! :P lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Tongues? If you can see one or more tongue from a passing glance it's too much, in my opinion.

Well yeah,that's wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Because you're single and bitter?
    Quality :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

When its kissy wissy time its kissy wissy time! The begrudgers can go f*ck themselves, which is likely their problem to begin with!

Tongues is too much. But for me, tongues isn't "Affection". A display of affection is holding hands, kissing (pecking) etc. Being affectionate. Nothing wrong with it IMO.

It's only those who are lonely and bitter who give out about it. I GUARANTEE they'd be holding hands with someone in public if they loved them too! If not they're missing out. I love being close to my girlfriend. After all, I love her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

PDAs.... Should have a designated area set up for that similar perhaps to a smoking area cause it can be more sickening to me at times than second hand smoke.

Holding hands thats fine. A small kiss her or there thats grand too. But sh*t like hands in ass pockets or full on kissing, tongues like snakes leave it at home please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

When I am kissy kissy my friends don't like it if I do it in public like in a nightclub they get thick with me but I don't get thick with them when they do it even though I be embarrassed yet they tell me off if I do it in front of them and they seem ok for me to watch them do it? I just turn away and let them do it and I don't bat an eyelid, I don't say anything to them but they say it to me so basically for that reason I only kissy kissy in doors rather than for the whole world to see. I am just self concious like that! Holding hands is ok but personally I'm not a major fan of it, I don't mind it for short periods but all the time no I like my space... I don't like my space invaded. Seeing other people using tongues gets too much for its fine if its not too sloppy but seeing tongues everywhere is a bit gross if they keep it clean and in the mouth and passionate but not too sloppy its ok. There is a time and a place for kissy kissy!:rolleyes:

Tongues is too much. But for me, tongues isn't "Affection". A display of affection is holding hands, kissing (pecking) etc. Being affectionate. Nothing wrong with it IMO.

It's only those who are lonely and bitter who give out about it. I GUARANTEE they'd be holding hands with someone in public if they loved them too! If not they're missing out. I love being close to my girlfriend. After all, I love her!

This is true.

I can't thank the post cos I think the second paragraph's too harsh. I'm in a lovey relationship but we're discrete about our displays, only because it makes me retch to see couples rutting or cooing in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Cillian13

One of my buddies is going out with his G.F a couple of months now and I swear to god you will never see any couple worse than them for the PDA. They rarely leave each other sides but if one of them even goes to the car to get something they say things like 'love you!', 'Don't be long cupcake!' 'ok cookie' (we now call him maryland due to his cookie comments) It was funny at the start but they're just taking the biscuit now. They literaly wont leave each others sides without spending 2 minutes saying goodbye and they mightn't even be apart for a minute.

Cillian13 wrote: »
    One of my buddies is going out with his G.F a couple of months now and I swear to god you will never see any couple worse than them for the PDA. They rarely leave each other sides but if one of them even goes to the car to get something they say things like 'love you!', 'Don't be long cupcake!' 'ok cookie' (we now call him maryland due to his cookie comments) It was funny at the start but they're just taking the biscuit now. They literaly wont leave each others sides without spending 2 minutes saying goodbye and they mightn't even be apart for a minute.

:P

This is true.

I can't thank the post cos I think the second paragraph's too harsh. I'm in a lovey relationship but we're discrete about our displays, only because it makes me retch to see couples rutting or cooing in public.

Can I ask why you're "discrete"? Is it because when you see it you retch, so you think it will make others retch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Nah not really. Dont mind public displays of affection but theres a line that can be crossed where its just embarrassing to look at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Wouldn't bother me really unless couples were really going at it ripping the clothes off each other and I was couped up in an enclosed space with them like on a bus or train or something.

Otherwise it's none of my business what people get up to. They can snog the heads off each other, tongues whatever, who cares. We live in a hyper sexualised society with porn available at the click of a mouse, I don't see the harm in people showing affection towards each other like kissing, hugging and holding hands.

It's context dependent.

If I'm on the beach with my boyfriend walking the dog, passing a few people every 5-10 minutes or so, I think it's ok to hold hands and stop for the odd affectionate peck. That's something I'd do.

If I'm on Talbot st. trying to get down to the GPO, and there's some couple in front of me, holding hands and stopping for the odd affectionate peck, I'd think they were pretty rude/obnoxious.

Same goes for out with friends. If you're hanging out with your mates and acting like a couple, holding hands etc. you're being obnoxious.

But there's a whole other world of weird, and that's people who show their affection over facebook. If anyone reading this does that, take it from me, people hold it against you, and it's not because they're bitter, it's because you're inappropriate and annoying.

Can I ask why you're "discrete"? Is it because when you see it you retch, so you think it will make others retch?

Just a personal preference. We hold hands if we like, peck, as you say, but not much more.

It's not censorship, just much like I wouldn't walk about in my knickers in public I'd be more restrained about prolonged or intense physical displays of affection.

Just a personal preference. We hold hands if we like, peck, as you say, but not much more.

It's not censorship, just much like I wouldn't walk about in my knickers in public I'd be more restrained about prolonged or intense physical displays of affection.

Of course. But as I say, affection is just that. Anything more than that crosses a line into something which stops becoming a PDA and is actually being hot and heavy in public.And nobody wants to see that!

Can I ask why you're "discrete"?

It's because he's not continuous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

a little yea whatever, sucking each others face off is another,
    i would hold hands or a cute peck on the cheek in public but nothing more.

Of course. But as I say, affection is just that. Anything more than that crosses a line into something which stops becoming a PDA and is actually being hot and heavy in public.And nobody wants to see that!

Sure. But I don't think everyone who finds PDAs unpleasant is bitter. Some are just repressed :D*

*joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Depends on the context, really.

For example, there's one girl on my Facebook who I don't know that well...yet I can tell you her past three ex's full names right now off the top of my head because every day she inundated her page with tagged mentions of them. Apparently, people had to have words with her, and they toned it down. Then a while back she made a post about a big anniversary with her current squeeze and I actually felt happy for the girl, realising she hadn't said a word about him in a while so this must be a big deal.

Teens shifting the face off each other, I don't really mind. I just laugh and remember when that was me.

Friends doing it around other friends...rude and pathetic. Why are you trying to prove something to people who know you inside out anyway? **** off.

Adults doing it is ridiculous. Nothing wrong with hand-holding, arms around each other, little pecks etc, that's to be expected...but it's when they try and beat you over the head with the fact that they're in love and they've somehow managed to find someone in this world who will kiss and cuddle their private parts so everyone else now has to endure the sickening end product of this miraculous turn of events.

That's too much. Not only because I feel it should be kept in private, but because it's fake and you can see the pair deluding themselves by having to over-compensate for the lack of natural chemistry and actual substance within the relationship. And everyone else is expected to be happy for them. Until they break up and act as if they never wanted it anyway and continue to badger your life with their deluded ways.

So yeah, it winds me up a smidge.

Sure. But I don't think everyone who finds PDAs unpleasant is bitter. Some are just repressed :D*

*joke

Not all, but a lot are. I seriously see nothing wrong with me holding my girlfriend's hand whilst walking around a shopping centre or something. It's just a manifestation of how close we are. And 99% if not 100% would love to be that close to someone! (even if it didnt mean they'd display it in public)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Eriu79

When I was married to my first husband I was never affectionate to him ( before marriage too ) with my husband to be I am and we are affectionate in public all the tiime.

Eriu79 wrote: »
    When I was married to my first husband I was never affectionate to him ( before marriage too ) with my husband to be I am and we are affectionate in public all the tiime.

There's a lesson in there! Lack of PDAs leads to divorce. Learn from this kids!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Disgusting. Now thats where I draw the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I'm all for public display of affection as long as it's not over the top.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

fair ****s to 2 people ****ing getting it on with each other i say. you dirty perverts keep yer eyes to yeserselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I hold my OH's hand in public and he'd kiss me on the cheek in public, but that's about it. I go mad at him when he does more tbh. Occasionally he'll kiss me and I'll go with it, but he tends to grab my arse when he's kissing me, even in public, so I tend to not kiss him much in public 'cause arse grabbing is way too much :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Nothing like a good game of hands-down-their-pants chicken when you're strolling along a busy street with your dearly beloved. Risqué PDAs for that extra je ne sais quoi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

PDAs don't annoy me really if the couple are just on their own, in a group it's strange, though I've been guilty of it myself particularly when I've had a few. The facebook thing though, ffs. Tbh when I see it I tend to think the couple must be a bit insecure. They have each other's numbers, if they want to be all soppy with each other grand but why the hell can't they text each other? It's like they think they have this great relationship that everyone needs to know about or that people are going to be jealous of, but it smacks of acting out a lovey dovey relationship rather than actually having a loving one. Although fair enough maybe they are just mad about each other and want everyone to know it but WHY?

Some of the **** I see on facebook...if someone I was with said that to me even in private I don't think I could keep a straight face. Plus it puts that bit of extra pressure on the relationship, if more than half of what people see of you on there is you tagging your OH in posts, checking in on your dates, or just posting on each other's walls to talk about how cute and hilarious your poking war is then it's going to be all the more noticeable when you break up. And no I'm not bitter or single.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

We'll hold hands, he'll put his arm around my back sometimes when were walking, he'll kiss my forehead/nose/cheek. He'll hold me close if we're waiting for a taxi and it's cold or something.

We wouldn't maul the face off each other, I don't walk around grabbing his crotch, or whatever.

We don't post rubbish on facebook because our private lives are exactly that. Private. I'm the mother of his child, I don't need soppy messages all over my facebook wall to validate his feelings for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭@rti-shm@rti

Ah I don't know. I've been known to mortify myself in the early stages kissing in the pub/club whatnot....but that's when everyone's p*ssed and falling all round the place anyways so I think it's okay. If you're on your own, I don't see the problem really so long as it's not indecent.

What's not okay is when it makes other people uncomfortable......so on an afternoon watching a match in a pub or something and two people can't keep their hands off each other and make the entire group uncomfortable..not okay IMO. Had a housemate once who used to have her boyf over constantly and they'd take up residence in the sitting room, with all of us and be giggling and messing about on the sofa while everyone else tried to ignore them. Yuck

Wouldn't be an overly affectionate person myself anyways - unless I'm drunk it'd be a big deal for me to show any kind of PDA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

g'em wrote: »
    Nothing like a good game of hands-down-their-pants chicken when you're strolling along a busy street with your dearly beloved. Risqué PDAs for that extra je ne sais quoi.

No! Should be banned.

Nothing worse then queuing behind a couple with the lad probing his GF's ass :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

All of the above except for messaging each other on social networking. That's a no-no, it's stupid. Holding hands, yes. Hugging, yes. Kissing, yes but not when it's right up in somebody's face/space. Remember queuing with the mrs for a flight a few years back and a couple in front of us were wearing the face off each other and getting into it so much they'd lean into us/stumble over then go back to it. Odd.

All the rest? Yeah go for it. The chit-chat sometimes gets durrrrty but it's ok because it's in a foreign language....(except for when a pair of lads behind you on the bus understand it and start laughing :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Yes, but only cause my wife's so hot.

It is still 'my wife's so hot day' isn't it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

doovdela wrote: »
    When I am kissy kissy my friends don't like it if I do it in public like in a nightclub they get thick with me but I don't get thick with them when they do it even though I be embarrassed yet they tell me off if I do it in front of them and they seem ok for me to watch them do it? I just turn away and let them do it and I don't bat an eyelid, I don't say anything to them but they say it to me so basically for that reason I only kissy kissy in doors rather than for the whole world to see. I am just self concious like that! Holding hands is ok but personally I'm not a major fan of it, I don't mind it for short periods but all the time no I like my space... I don't like my space invaded. Seeing other people using tongues gets too much for its fine if its not too sloppy but seeing tongues everywhere is a bit gross if they keep it clean and in the mouth and passionate but not too sloppy its ok. There is a time and a place for kissy kissy!:rolleyes:

Whut about a time an place for Fcukin paragraphs !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

We'll hold hands, he'll put his arm around my back sometimes when were walking, he'll kiss my forehead/nose/cheek. He'll hold me close if we're waiting for a taxi and it's cold or something.

We wouldn't maul the face off each other, I don't walk around grabbing his crotch, or whatever.

We don't post rubbish on facebook because our private lives are exactly that. Private. I'm the mother of his child, I don't need soppy messages all over my facebook wall to validate his feelings for me.
    maybe not the croutch, but im a fudger for bum pinching if they have a cute bum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

booboo88 wrote: »
    but im a fudger for bum...
    ooh er

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Doesn't bother me as long as it's not a full on wearing the face off each other grabfest.

Nothing wrong with holding hands or pecking.

I honestly get a bit of sense of happiness to see others happy and that they have someone and aren't bitter and alone. :pac: