Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you won the Euromillions......

• 19-08-2011 1:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭

All the time I hear "if I win the euromillions ill give you half"

Would you go ahead with the promise if you won the 65 million tonight?

Would you give away half? 63 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    17%
    CathyMoranSVSchnooksMy name is URLtallaghtmickThe Big Red Buttonniallers1MetalDogLaVailcrazypandatayto lover 11 votes
    Id buy loads of Atari jaguars
    82%
    VenomJohnKdonutheadhomerweemcdRichieCmikemacchopperbyrnetesticleRoyalMarineKinetic^Paparazzoviotaxtal191RemmyDennis the Stoneneddfunlovingwandatowellminidazzlerrainbowtrout 52 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

F*ck no.

I need that money for my functional Iron Man outfit!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭DanTheMan91

I would look after certain people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

My family would all be pretty wealthy. My close friends would be well looked after and some charities I believe in would get very generous donations. But the over whelming majority would be spent on living a fucking awesome life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

Give some, save some, spend some... It's only money so why the hay not? :pac:

... After I've bought loads of Atari Jaguars, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭WinstonOno

doesn't matter, she'd get half when i divorce her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭gregers85

Def not half lol
    Iv a friend and for yrs weve being sayin if I win il buy him a Merc and if he wind he'll buy me a porsche haha I'd keep to that alright haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭parc

Nah unless I went halfers on a ticket with someone

Otherwise I'd just look after people. Would be crazy to give away half, with the amount of interest you'd get on 65 million. I'd look after them on a regular basis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

No
    I meant about how we promise 1 person half your winnings if you win trying to be less scabby in the vain hope that faith looks down on you and goes awww what a nice person,So would you pay up or do a legger:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭cr17

I think 15 mil would go towards looking after family & Friends etc. Rest for me. Girlfriend only gets pocket money each week, but its quite a decent amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

This thread is pointless, as I am going to win the Lotto tonight.:D
    You people are living on false hope!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I would look after certain people.

Will they be sleeping with the fishes? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Hells no, i would look after my family but the rest is mine, MINE I TELLS YOU!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

No
    I voted yes, but don't do the lotto so am unlikely to be giving any of it away. Though, if I did win 65 million I reckon I would give around half of it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I'd give a lot of it to people I care about and to charity, but not half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

cr17 wrote: »
    I think 15 mil would go towards looking after family & Friends etc. Rest for me. Girlfriend only gets pocket money each week, but its quite a decent amount.

So essentially you would keep your girlfriend on a leash? Nice of you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

It's kind of funny how whenever this topic comes up I day dream of all the things I would do with the money and my life, yet never dream of actually buying a lotto ticket...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

I'll be giving away 7/9ths of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

I'd look after my family and my friends, give some to charity, but nope, I wouldn't be giving away half of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭niallers1

No
    I would keep 5 million for myself, pay off the debts and mortgages of friends and family and give away the rest to charities chosen by me or maybe even set up my own charity to keep me busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I'd give half of whatever was left when I died, to charity. There probably wouldn't be much though :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭zyxwvu

20 million to family

9 million for lifetime spending on big purchases through the years, kids educations, house, holiday house, new car every 2 years.. etc

35 million earning interest to draw a 'salary' of about 200,000 a year, just for "walking-around money", rising in nominal value as the years go on in line with inflation/accumulated interest. Give principal to kids when dead.

1 million for charity throughout the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

My Pop says he'd buy me a house, which would be pretty awesome. I'm a selfish bastard, though, I'd take the money and run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

No
    That kind of money is too much so yes I would give away a lot of it if I won it but I would also get more actively involved in the charities that I support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'd probably just laugh until I dropped dead if i won it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Go easy with it or you'll end up like THIS poor sod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I'd give my family 5 million each, keep about 10 million for myself and then give the rest away in 1 million euro slices, making friends and some cousins lucky/happy/jammy millionaires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

CathyMoran wrote: »
    That kind of money is too much so yes I would give away a lot of it if I won it but I would also get more actively involved in the charities that I support.

pff, no such thing :pac:

you could essentially give away half and live off the interest of the remainder, and live well. I'd pay off my sisters mortage, give her enough to support herself and my nephew until he's an adult, give my parents a loads, and close friends would clear any debts they had, then head off on a trip around the world for a few years. how amazing would it be to know you can arrive at an airport and go literally anywhere you want no matter what the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

I voted yes, but don't do the lotto so am unlikely to be giving any of it away. Though, if I did win 65 million I reckon I would give around half of it away.

Can't go giving massive chunks away to people or the taxman will get big slices. Gift tax is 25% once you go over the thresholds!!

There is a way round it though. Ye can PM me if ye win and I'll explain. For a very reasonable fee :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Can't go giving massive chunks away to people or the taxman will get big slices. Gift tax is 25% once you go over the thresholds!!

There is a way round it though. Ye can PM me if ye win and I'll explain. For a very reasonable fee :)

Just say everyone was part of a syndicate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

65 millions are not too much money
    the house Id buy and where I would live would cost around 3/4 millions already+ money invested, other assets etc and a few bits and pieces and they are gone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

I would buy boards and make sure no one could open up another one of these threads.

EVERY SINGLE WEEK FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

Just to put a damper on the thread, think of all the Capital Acquisitions Tax (Gift tax) the family (depending on relationship) and, especially, friends, would have to pay on the divvy from your winnings. 25% tax after the threshold (exempt amount). :eek: Tax free amounts are: To son or daughter (or grandchild where son or daughter has died) €332,084, to mother or father, grandchild, brother or sister, niece or nephew €33,208, and to anyone else (neighbour, friend, cousin) €16.604.

You could give half to your spouse without any tax implications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

No
    I'd give away half and go stone mad with the rest.

TO PIGEONBUTLER AND LONGSHANKS:

Sorry, I started a post and was interrupted - imagine an inconsiderate client ringing for information on a Friday afternoon! - so finished it later and you had both posted about the tax implications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

No
    I'd pay off the parent's debts, put the rest of my siblings through college, have a few people killed, you know, the normal stuff everyone would do. Don't know about half though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

No
    I would buy boards and make sure no one could open up another one of these threads.

EVERY SINGLE WEEK FFS!

Well mine is a different kind of question......that everyone didnt read:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Mongarra wrote: »
    Just to put a damper on the thread, think of all the Capital Acquisitions Tax (Gift tax) the family (depending on relationship) and, especially, friends, would have to pay on the divvy from your winnings. 25% tax after the threshold (exempt amount). :eek: Tax free amounts are: To son or daughter (or grandchild where son or daughter has died) €332,084, to mother or father, grandchild, brother or sister, niece or nephew €33,208, and to anyone else (neighbour, friend, cousin) €16.604.

You could give half to your spouse without any tax implications.

I often thought about this...

Could you say keep the full amount in your own account and say you had two brothers. Open a joint account for eachone and say put 3 grand a week in there and let them use that. Would you still be liable for CAP TAX?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

cronin_j wrote: »

Could you say keep the full amount in your own account and say you had two brothers. Open a joint account for eachone and say put 3 grand a week in there and let them use that. Would you still be liable for CAP TAX?

of course it would.

the only feesable way to give them a shít load of money is declare it as a syndiacate ticket, split it between your parents and sisters/brothers/kids.

have 3 brothers and my parents. if i win it, they get an equal share.

myself and 4 very close mates also wont be seen nor heard from for a year or 2.

if i were to take my 1/5 share, and try spend every penny in 20 years, i would need to spend 12,500 a week! not including interest either..
    i struggle to spend my €188 dole a week :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

I wouldn't give away half of it. I'd give away some... I'd look after family and friends, then use the rest to move out of the country and relocate to the USA, Canada or maybe Australia.

cronin_j wrote: »

They would become liable to CAT when all the €3,000 per week added up to the €33,208 (after only 11 weeks or so).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Sonics2k wrote: »
    F*ck no.

I need that money for my functional Iron Man outfit!!!

ha, when i saw this thread thats the first thing i thought to write