Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Cutler & Alan Dunbar make the Walker Cup Team

• 18-08-2011 6:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭

Great news for the two lads - 1 expected, 1 less so. More success for Northern Irish golfers. I had hoped Paul Dunne (from Greystones) would make the team, but he's been a bit tied up with the Leaving Cert this year... and he's just left to go to college in Alabama.

Irish Times Article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Cutler was always a shoe in but I see there's controversy on Dunbars pick already. He's not had the best of seasons by his standards but there's no denying his class.

Golfweek’s Alistair Tait describes David Law’s absence as controversial:

The 20-year-old has been omitted in favor of Ireland’s Alan Dunbar, even though Law sits 123 places above Dunbar in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. Law is currently ranked 87th compared to Dunbar at No. 208…..All eyes will be on Dunbar over the two days. Expect much criticism of the GB&I selection procedure if he doesn’t play well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Very surprised with Dunbar getting selected. If there was going to be another Irish I thought Phelan might have got the nod solely on a potential partnership with Cutler. They must have Dunbar doing that.

From his results this year he doesn't deserve to be included IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭liam12989

Dont forget lads ,alan dunbar has won the st andrews links trohpy and the irish am. two big international tournies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

AGC wrote: »
    If there was going to be another Irish I thought Phelan might have got the nod solely on a potential partnership with Cutler

Likewise AGC. With Kevins strong showing in the Irish Open this year and last years US Open qualification not to mention his strong partnership in Sligo with Cutler and Sweden a few weeks ago.

liam12989 wrote: »
    Dont forget lads ,alan dunbar has won the st andrews links trohpy and the irish am. two big international tournies!

But not this year. Looks to me like there is lads in better form.

Hopefully he does well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭sausagehead

Alan dunbar did get to the final of the west this year as well!
    and kevin's world ranking of 407 doesn't help his cause

paul and alan, great friends but i've never known them to partner each other in competition...... but i think it will work, quite a strong pairing if you think about it!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Really strange pick and puts huge pressure on Dunbar to perform. Laws has had 2 win this season, beat Dunbar in the Home Internationals and isnt the Walker Cup being played on his home course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Goldenjohn

Good luck to the Irish boys tomorrow. Come on I & gb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭The_Architect

The Walker Cup is a much more enjoyable tournament than the endless pro-circuit weekend stops and tends to be played on much more interesting courses also.

Good to see BBC showing it this weekend.

Great course in Royal Aberdeen too (although the weather may prove a challenge).

Real golf this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Great start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Good win for Cutler today to beat the U.S Open Champion.
    Anyone watch it on the beeb? The course looked in fantastic condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Opics

dvemail wrote: »
    Good win for Cutler today to beat the U.S Open Champion.
    Anyone watch it on the beeb? The course looked in fantastic condition.

Didn't know Rory was playing :D

Cutler playing Cantlay in the final match tomorrow. Really looking forward to that one :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Great coverage on BBC. Looks horrendously difficult. Great show by GB&I, and Cutler and Dunbar played very well to pull their match back and win it. Great bunker shot by Dunbar on 17 to sink the Americans.

Myksyk wrote: »
    Great coverage on BBC. Looks horrendously difficult. Great show by GB&I, and Cutler and Dunbar played very well to pull their match back and win it. Great bunker shot by Dunbar on 17 to sink the Americans.

not sure how many holes they're covering, maybe half a dozen at a guess (none of the first nine) and peter alliss is a complete prat.......but its better than nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Paul Cutler 3 up on Patrick Cantlay after 11.

Looks like GB&I should win from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

GB7&I did win, but by the skin of their teeth. Cutler ended up with half against Cantlay when he was 4 up with 4 to play.

Cutler chose to give Cantlay the half, slight difference!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ridonkulous

f22 wrote: »
    Cutler chose to give Cantlay the half, slight difference!

Chose to? The coverage ended with 3 to go but how did he choose to halve the match? Cantlay want -3 for the last 4 and with the match already done and dusted I am sure it was tough for Cutler to finish him given that all that adrenaline would be gone but I somehow doubt he decided to give Cantlay a halve and tried to get the perfect 4 from 4.

Cantlay won 15, 16 and 17, Cutler conceded 18. Perhaps Cantlay would have preferred to play it out but that's how it ended.

Did he conceed on the tee? It has him down for a 5 and Cantlay down for a birdie on the us walker cup site.

No idea to be fair, was originally tweeted by Davd Shadloski of Golf World who was covering the event. Widely mentioned elsewhere about Cutlers act of sportsmanship by others like Shane O'Donoghue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

You embarrassing shower of begrudgers!!!! Paul conceded a lengthy birdie putt to cantlay after missing his own. I know for a FACT the reason was that paul didnt want cantlay to miss a putt to lose the match. Now instead of the typical irish bullsh*$e begrudgery two of our finest talents delivered 5 1/2 points out of the 7 games they played. Paul leading points scores in the matches.... Hats off to both him and Alan.

That is all.

gorfield wrote: »
    You embarrassing shower of begrudgers!!!! Paul conceded a lengthy birdie putt to cantlay after missing his own. I know for a FACT the reason was that paul didnt want cantlay to miss a putt to lose the match. Now instead of the typical irish bullsh*$e begrudgery two of our finest talents delivered 5 1/2 points out of the 7 games they played. Paul leading points scores in the matches.... Hats off to both him and Alan.

That is all.

I will give you some credit and assume the first line is in jest. I would agree that both did great especially Dunbar who was under a lot of pressure due to his unexpected and slightly controversial inclusion and Cutlers performance speaks for itself.

Anybody have any idea on Cantlays reaction on the 18th? I'd be interested to know.

That is all.

Great week for Paul, even Edwards singled him out for praise in an interview.

Fair play to Alan, proved a lot of people wrong. Me included

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Martin567

Concessions like this show that you would be crazy to bet on the overall match result in a Ryder/Walker Cup or on the score for the last few singles matches on the final day. I remember Paul McGinley conceeding a 30 foot putt for a half against JJ Henry in 2006. Something similar happened with Colin Montgomerie & Scott Hoch in 1997. I'm not saying it wasn't the right thing to do at the time but anyone who lost their bet because of this would not have been too happy.

It just shows the different nature of golf compared to horse racing for example. Jockeys get torrents of abuse for far less than the above concessions. The difference being that, if gambling was banned, horse racing would surely cease to exist while golf would be largely unaffected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

AGC wrote: »
    Great week for Paul, even Edwards singled him out for praise in an interview.

Fair play to Alan, proved a lot of people wrong. Me included

Edwards made me chuckle when he was interviewed immediately after the win - mentioning Alan was his way of saying that he made the right choice picking him ahead of anyone else. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

That is all.

I'm sorry, have I missed something on this thread? I have read it a couple of times and I can't find anything to warrant the above reaction, All are being very supportive of the picks and the 2 boys were merly discussing the concession of the match. As you say "hats off" to Paul and Alan on a great event and a fantastic victory,played in a true sporting fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Nerdstrom

Originally Posted by gorfield viewpost.gif

That is all.

I'm sorry, have I missed something on this thread? I have read it a couple of times and I can't find anything to warrant the above reaction, All are being very supportive of the picks and the 2 boys were merly discussing the concession of the match. As you say "hats off" to Paul and Alan on a great event and a fantastic victory,played in a true sporting fashion.

100% agree with this.

Methinks it was a misunderstanding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Congratulations to both. To make the team was a great honour and to play so well against tough opposition is a credit to both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

You embarrassing shower of begrudgers!!!! .
    Get over yourself, maybe?

Great ending to pauls amateur career and best of luck on turning pro on wednesday
    he has Q school first stage on the 4th oct but before that another pro tournament invite next week!:)