Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you make of this situation?

• 17-08-2011 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭

There's a small roundabout just after crossing the N11 at Stillorgan heading towards Dun Laoghaire.

Here it is.

Car A is travelling down from Stillorgan and is going straight through the roundabout and Car B is coming from the first exit after this and is turning left, so will continue on the same direction as Car A.

Car A approaches the roundabout and there is nothing coming from the right, ie: from Dun Laoghaire direction and turning into the area Car B is coming from, in fact there is no car coming onto the roundabout from that direction at all. Car A enters the roundabout, and is passing the first exit when Car B enters the roundabout. Car A mounts the roundabout in order to avoid colliding with Car B.

Car B follows Car A down the road after the roundabout flashing the headlights and beeping the horn the whole way down. Eventually further on up the road Car A reaches its destination and lo and behold Car B stops also. Driver of Car B gets out and approaches Car A. Driver of Car A locks doors. Driver of Car B hammers on window of Car A and is shouting abuse to Driver of Car A. Driver of Car A refuses to lower window based on the abuse being given but calmly states through the window that they have done nothing wrong, driver of Car B clearly hears this and makes an attempt to open drivers door of Car A and eventually gives up after continuing on abuse and threats to go to the Gardaí.

Car B then continues on as planned. Car A travels to local Garda Station to inform them of situation should driver of Car B attempt to lodge a complaint.

What do you make of this situation and the reactions by both drivers?

Note: Keyboard seems to be acting up so apologies if any "r" are missing from words, have to hit it twice most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Squirrel wrote: »
    There's a small roundabout just after crossing the N11 at Stillorgan heading towards Dun Laoghaire.

Here it is.

Car A is travelling down from Stillorgan and is going straight through the roundabout and Car B is coming from the first exit after this and is turning left, so will continue on the same direction as Car A.

Car A approaches the roundabout and there is nothing coming from the right, ie: from Dun Laoghaire direction and turning into the area Car B is coming from, in fact there is no car coming onto the roundabout from that direction at all. Car A enters the roundabout, and is passing the first exit when Car B enters the roundabout. Car A mounts the roundabout in order to avoid colliding with Car B.

Car B follows Car A down the road after the roundabout flashing the headlights and beeping the horn the whole way down. Eventually further on up the road Car A reaches its destination and lo and behold Car B stops also. Driver of Car B gets out and approaches Car A. Driver of Car A locks doors. Driver of Car B hammers on window of Car A and is shouting abuse to Driver of Car A. Driver of Car A refuses to lower window based on the abuse being given but calmly states through the window that they have done nothing wrong, driver of Car B clearly hears this and makes an attempt to open drivers door of Car A and eventually gives up after continuing on abuse and threats to go to the Gardaí.

Car B then continues on as planned. Car A travels to local Garda Station to inform them of situation should driver of Car B attempt to lodge a complaint.

Note: Keyboard seems to be acting up so apologies if any "r" are missing from words, have to hit it twice most of the time.

Methinks you were driving carA. If so, which lane were you in when you entered the roundabout? If you had to 'mount the roundabout' it would suggest you were in the wrong lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

Methinks you were driving carA. If so, which lane were you in when you entered the roundabout? If you had to 'mount the roundabout' it would suggest you were in the wrong lane.

It is a single lane roundabout, but was more to the right of the lane. Is only 2 exits, the first exit, where Car B came from, and the second exit where Car A and B both went, this exit is straight on for Car A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

Car B is in the wrong as Car A was to his right and he should have yielded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Car B is being driven by a weirdo, the way you tell it.

Seriously what's the issue - you hardly need this thread to be told the above.

Oh it's possible driver car b is guilty of a couple of offences - can driver car a be arsed as the only witness to make a complaint ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Sorry but it's late
    Did car b pull Onto the roundabout in front of you causing you to have to swerve up onto the roundabout and then decide to follow you down the road?

Either car b is nuts or you were indicating left
    Were you indictating left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Tigger wrote: »
    Sorry but it's late
    Did car b pull Onto the roundabout in front of you causing you to have to swerve up onto the roundabout and then decide to follow you down the road?

Either car b is nuts or you were indicating left
    Were you indictating left?
    Even if the OP was, car B is still wrong.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Even if the OP was, car B is still wrong.

If the op was indicating left it'd explain why the car b entered the roundabout

Also if the op was indicating left then he should have turned left

Tigger wrote: »
    If the op was indicating left it'd explain why the car b entered the roundabout

Also if the op was indicating left then he should have turned left
    It would, but car B would still be wrong. If I trusted other cars indicators i'd be dead by now.;)

What colour was car B?

It would, but car B would still be wrong. If I trusted other cars indicators i'd be dead by now.;)

I Would agree 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

I don't know if I've only started noticing or if roundabout driving has actually gotten even worse in this country lately.

Indicating right for going straight, not indicating for going right. :mad:

Pedestrians too, taking a left turn in Dublin City Centre today and low and behold, two people standing right there having a conversation in the middle of the road but just far enough back that you can't see them until you're around the corner. And then no effort at all to get out of the way. I wasn't even annoyed, just shocked and confused at the stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Forget all this bullsh*t about who was on the roundabout first etc. In this context its irrelevant.

On the Op's testimony of events, "car b"'s occupant would seem to be guilty of assault.

I assume the OP got the reg.

Hassle (strongly, because you can rest assured that they won't be interested initially) the Guards to follow it up would be my advice. Make a point of the incident being noted.

Regardless of what had happened at the roudabout, he's not entitled to put you in fear of your security (ie assault)

Cheers.

I think maybe squirrel should forget about it. For what its worth he should try driving in Mumbai(formerly Bombay) some time, now theres an experience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

If I was in place of driver A, and car B was following me with horn and flashing lights for a while, I would just drive the way to loose him.
    You never know who is in the other car - it might have been some maniac with a gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Driver of Car A locks doors. Driver of Car B hammers on window of Car A and is shouting abuse to Driver of Car A.

If I was driving Car A, this is where I would have produced my mobile and clearly dialled 112 so that the lunatic from Car B could see me do it.

To be honest the reason I asked is because his reaction seemed so extreme that I wanted to know had I missed anything about roundabouts that would lead to me having to give way to him. Reassurance really.

Car B was a mini bus with quite a number of people on it so for that reason I genuinely didn't expect him to jump out and do that.

On the indicator thing, I wasn't indicating left, I wasn't indicating as going straight on, but since it was the last exit I was to the right side of the lane. I'm never sure should you indicate right in that situation but I can't think of a time I have ever seen anyone indicate right to go straight at that roundabout. One thing my driving instructor told about 5 years ago was never trust an indicator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Pedestrians too, taking a left turn in Dublin City Centre today and low and behold, two people standing right there having a conversation in the middle of the road but just far enough back that you can't see them until you're around the corner. And then no effort at all to get out of the way. I wasn't even annoyed, just shocked and confused at the stupidity.

I was turning onto Griffith Avenue yesterday from the Malahide Road just as 2 female joggers decided to start across the junction anyway (despite me having the green). They was about a quarter across the lane when one of them finally looked around, stopped and stood there (still in the road so I had to go around her) while I completed the turn.

Cyclists are worse.. ducking and weaving between cars, ignoring lights, jumping on and off the pavement as it suits etc...

I know the law is setup that even if one of these idiots jumps on your bonnet you're liable by default, but there really should be a "too stupid to be let out alone" clause :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Is it just me or is this thread deeply confusing?

To be honest the reason I asked is because his reaction seemed so extreme that I wanted to know had I missed anything about roundabouts that would lead to me having to give way to him. Reassurance really.

Car B was a mini bus with quite a number of people on it so for that reason I genuinely didn't expect him to jump out and do that.

On the indicator thing, I wasn't indicating left, I wasn't indicating as going straight on, but since it was the last exit I was to the right side of the lane. I'm never sure should you indicate right in that situation but I can't think of a time I have ever seen anyone indicate right to go straight at that roundabout. One thing my driving instructor told about 5 years ago was never trust an indicator.

How many exits are off that roundabout?

The roundabout has three exits in total. Coming from Stillorgan direction there's an exit to go left and straight ahead, the third exit is doing U turn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,697 ✭✭✭Thud

you seem to be in the right so, you should only have indicated left after you had passed the first exit (where car B was coming from) to show you were taking the next exit from the roundabout (which was straight on for you) When entering the roundabout you were correct in not having an indicator on.
    If it were a two lane roundabout you should have been in the outer lane to go straight on but that wasn't the case.

Maybe car b thought it was a two lane rounadbout. Either way he was wrong, you should have gotten out and asked him to back up his claim by coming to the Garda station with you. If he was driving a (full) minibus he had an audience so possibly felt he needed justify his actions to his passengers

The roundabout has three exits in total. Coming from Stillorgan direction there's an exit to go left and straight ahead, the third exit is doing U turn

If you were exiting at exit 1 or exit 2 then you should have been keeping to the left.

In my view for taking exit two you should keep right as it is the last exit off the roundabout without doing a complete U turn. It is a single lane up to it, I was just more to the right so as to imply I suppose that I was not going left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Here it is.

From what I see on the map and from what you say, you have the right away as all traffic on a roundabout must yield to traffic coming on the right. Even if you had no indicator on the assumption would have been that you were going straight through if you had no indicator on.

Reaction for him was over the top, you done the right thing to sit in the car. As another poster said you can have him for assault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

OK, which direction is what on that roundabout?
    My best guess is that you entered the roundabout and Car B pulled out on top of you, am I getting this right?
    because I don't know which direction is the Stillorgan direction and what is the Dun Laoghaire direction, following the scenario I just cannot picture where any of the cars where coming from.
    Any clarification on this?
    Car B was WAY over the top anyway, seems he was having a bad day.
    I'd say his reaction was not entirely down to the incident, but that guy is steaming over something else and is now feeling very silly indeed, I'm sure.

When car B was following you down the road you should have slowed,let him get near you,then flick on your fog lights. He would have thought that you braked suddenly and would have stuck his minibus to the road.With a bit of luck he would have banged his head off the windscreen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

OK, which direction is what on that roundabout?
    My best guess is that you entered the roundabout and Car B pulled out on top of you, am I getting this right?
    because I don't know which direction is the Stillorgan direction and what is the Dun Laoghaire direction, following the scenario I just cannot picture where any of the cars where coming from.
    Any clarification on this?

From the perspective of the map (looking straight down from above the roundabout):
    Car A was travelling from the left of the picture, Car B was travelling from the top and both cars were continuing on to the right after the roundabout.

From the perspective of the map (looking straight down from above the roundabout):
    Car A was travelling from the left of the picture, Car B was travelling from the top and both cars were continuing on to the right after the roundabout.

That's it exactly, sorry for that not being clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

That's it exactly, sorry for that not being clear.

Right - so either one of two things happened, you entered the roundabout while he was already on it and nearly T-Boned him or he entered the roundabout without giving way to you, the vehicle on his right. Seeing as he ended up behind you it sounds like the latter in which case he was very much in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Confab wrote: »
    Is it just me or is this thread deeply confusing?

Not confusing at all. Car/Mini bus pulled out in front of him at the roundabout, then got angry because he pulled out in front of a moving vehicle. I see it about two to three times a day. Its similar to the "drive three feet from the bumper of the car in front of you" technique, the "accelerate when someone is trying to overtake you technique" and the turn, brake, indicate, look maneuver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

The only thing im confused about is what Car B was thinking that he thought he was right, what he perceived car A to do be doing so wrong in his mind that caused him to lose the plot. Would love to somehow know.

That's generally the problem in these situations where someone goes mental on the road, somethings happened that they absolutely think the are right in. Combined with their temper of course, most normal people will drive away shaking their heads, THINKING they where right. Whether someone is actually right or wrong is irrelevant.

sentient_6 wrote: »
    The only thing im confused about is what Car B was thinking that he thought he was right, what he perceived car A to do be doing so wrong in his mind that caused him to lose the plot. Would love to somehow know.

That's generally the problem in these situations where someone goes mental on the road, somethings happened that they absolutely think the are right in. Combined with their temper of course, most normal people will drive away shaking their heads, THINKING they where right. Whether someone is actually right or wrong is irrelevant.
    I think you're giving the average person too much credit. I've seen people get very aggressive after a bad fright, which is quite possibly what happened here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Right - so either one of two things happened, you entered the roundabout while he was already on it and nearly T-Boned him or he entered the roundabout without giving way to you, the vehicle on his right. Seeing as he ended up behind you it sounds like the latter in which case he was very much in the wrong.

In that case absolutely.
    Car B driver has probably calmed down by now and has realised what a big, fat eejit he has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

When car B was following you down the road you should have slowed,let him get near you,then flick on your fog lights. He would have thought that you braked suddenly and would have stuck his minibus to the road.With a bit of luck he would have banged his head off the windscreen!

^Its bad enough having one dickhead on the road acting the b0ll0x without everyone else joining in.

OP: If what you say is correct and if the guy is a bus driver then he needs a talking to by the Guards, or a judge, or his employer if he has one.

Follow it up, ring the station tomorrow to see whats been done, if you think they are doing nothing ask to speak to the duty sergeant. Log all your calls.

I'd also contact Traffic Watch and get them to follow up on it.

bijapos wrote: »
    ^Its bad enough having one dickhead on the road acting the b0ll0x without everyone else joining in.

OP: If what you say is correct and if the guy is a bus driver then he needs a talking to by the Guards, or a judge, or his employer if he has one.

Follow it up, ring the station tomorrow to see whats been done, if you think they are doing nothing ask to speak to the duty sergeant. Log all your calls.

I'd also contact Traffic Watch and get them to follow up on it.

Bijapos, you are advising him to whinge & moan & complain, but without knowing the reg of the van or the name of the driver he will just be wasting everyones time and get no results.
    My advice OTH will teach yer man a sharp lesson and the op will get some satisafaction.

Bijapos, you are advising him to whinge & moan & complain, but without knowing the reg of the van or the name of the driver he will just be wasting everyones time and get no results.
    My advice OTH will teach yer man a sharp lesson and the op will get some satisafaction.

I'd say I'd have gotten myself killed doing something like that. I got his reg as we was driving off and when talking to the Guards they the reg from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Reporting a bus driver with passengers in the bus who is acting and driving in a dangerous or aggressive manner is not whinging, its using the correct channels. Its a bit obvious the OP didn't take your advice and "teach him a lesson".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

There is no way Car B had right of way in that situation, he is completely in the wrong but unfortunately there's probably nothing you can do about that now.

(But if you'd like a laugh, take your original post, change Car B from a bus into a motorbike, post it in the motorbikes forum, and wait for the flood of accusations about how you were completely in the wrong! :D)