Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Value of my car

• 16-08-2011 3:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭

Hi

I thought there was a thread for this already.. anyway, I need to get a diesel, my petrol costs are really high now myself and the OH are using the same car everyday. I'm (me alone) putting in around €45-60 a week in petrol.

It's a Honda Accord 2 litre petrol, NCT til 2012, clean. it's in my adverts.ie profile. What could I expect to get for a trade in? I'm looking at a Volvo S40 2005-2008, so trying to determine how much cash is needed to add on to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

funkyflea wrote: »
    We're putting in around €45-60 a week in petrol.

Thats not alot. How many km's are you doing? Feck all id say. Your only going to see a couple of €'s a week savings in diesel. Hardly worth changing for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

sentient_6 wrote: »
    Thats not alot. How many km's are you doing? Feck all id say. Your only going to see a couple of €'s a week savings in diesel. Hardly worth changing for.

Sorry I should have said I'M putting in around 45-60. Two weeks ago I put in €90, in addition to whatever she puts in herself doing her stuff while I'm not using it. That particular week we had a trip to dublin for a few hours.

So combined we're looking around I guess, €80-€100. I drive to work and it takes around ten minutes to drive there, I go back and forth for lunch and home in the evenings. She has the car in between these, so will be in town or w/e.

It's just a little bit much now at this stage we're really noticing the fuel costs now. So you think we're better off then just sticking it out for another few years?

edit..out of curiosity anyway what value would you put on it?

Well peope on here will say too if its only mostly short runs then a diesel definately isnt worth it.

Problem with your car by the way is not many want 2.0L petrols these days.

Just saw a similar one to yours on carzone for ~6900. Even if you got that would you get a descent diesel for the same money? Or would you have to put in a grand or two or more? If so then that would more than cancel out any fuel savings straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Yeah you're probably right on both counts there. I have a feeling I'll have to drive this thing into the ground over the next 5 years or so until I'm forced to change! :)

You could always consider the bangernomics route, see the thread on here, pick up somehting cheap for a grand or two after getting rid of your own for 6 to 7 or so, but that opens up the unkown terms of fixes & if the new (old) car will even last, you could find yourself looking out for something else fairly quick, but if your accord is mechanically sound & only costing you in petrol then i personally would hold onto it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

funkyflea wrote: »
    I drive to work and it takes around ten minutes to drive there, I go back and forth for lunch and home in the evenings.

I can see one way of halving your fuel bill!