Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Explosive fishing...

• 15-08-2011 12:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭

Well lads was out for a walk with the dog Saturday morning at the local fishing lake ( about 6am), was checking up on our release pen for the ducks belonging to the local gun club and had the gun with me hoping to get a shot at a cormorant or two when I heard this "Thud" coming from round the bend of the lake... I thought it was the army firing way off in the distance as theres a Camp nearby, but It was too loud for that. When I had walked further down the path and around the bend I saw a group of 4 lads on the far bank fishing. They were throwing a bottle or something in the water and a few seconds later... BOOOOM :eek: !
    I couldnt believe my eyes ! the ****ers were stunning our fish and then scooping them up with a salmon net ! Ive often heard stories from my father about doing somethin like this in the pond on our farm when he was younger but I never thought Id actually see it in action. Does anyone know what they were using or what the setup is? I called a friend of mine who rounded up a few committee members so we could approach them , unfortunately we couldnt actually do anything as they took off up the field towards the road where they had parked. We got the reg plate it was some eastern European number and the car was a green audi ... anyone any idea of what method they were using... just curious to know is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭homerhop

Cheeky buggers hope the cops folow up on it.

On a side note them crows are fed mighty good up your way seeing as they are as big as cormorants which are a protected species

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I doubt if it was explosives but it could have been a banger or something similar Which are illegal in Ireland but can be bought over the counter in the North and Europe.

Fact of the matter is, By Golly that wasn't playing fair now was it. :mad: however +1 for ingenuity normally they get caught netting Lakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I called a friend of mine who rounded up a few committee members so we could approach them

Make a written statement (they have to follow those up) and leave it to the law, if you approach them you don't know what type of mess you might potentially be getting yourself into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

the only reason I really posted this is Hunting is because we had over 20 duck go missing in 1 night from our pen and we think possibly the same lads are taking them as there was no evidence of fox/mink and there wasnt any sign of predator attack.. anyone else had birds go missing from release pens??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭homerhop

seems to be turning into a common thing, 2 clubs i know of had their birds stolen in the last couple of weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

I got a lift home from college over 20 years ago from an old lad from Sligo somewhere who had a hook on one hand and a tumb on the other from not throwing one of them bombs in quick enough!! He drove like the clappers though i was pertified!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,868 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Fishery and duck pond owners should also be aware of another disturbing and highly illegal practice I've heard about recently. A gamekeeper friend of mine was telling me a while back about a case in Fermanagh were a guy's duck pond were baited(usually bread) with underwater hooks attached to stakes. These are sometimes used in Eastern Europe(illegal there too I might add) to catch wildfowl who undergo a cruel and horrible death via drowning and bloodloss:( - this chap discovered what was going on when his spaniel become stuck on one of these stakes and the poor thing did herself terrible damage which lead to a serious vets fees and long recooperation:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

its a pity you couldnt pepper em at 60 -70 yards with bird shot , they couldnt report you without implicating them selves in a crime also
    But it would make them think twice about comming back ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

I would have left off two boom booms into the water, no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Careful lads,bad enough the antis getting ammo against us,but don't let the gardai think we're going to start shooting at people...

Longranger wrote: »
    Careful lads,bad enough the antis getting ammo against us,but don't let the gardai think we're going to start shooting at people...

No one is suggesting that the op fired at them..

4gun wrote: »
    No one is suggesting that the op fired at them..

Neither did I. Nobody mentioned shooting at them until YOU suggested peppering then with birdshot from 60-70 yards. I'm not having a go at anyone,I'm just saying that we should be careful what we say because someone could take it up the wrong way. The last thing legitamate hunters need is for people to think we are vigilante nutters. Just in case you missed it in the forum charter,peppering someone with birdshot is still shooting someone,and ILLEGAL!

Longranger wrote: »
    Neither did I. Nobody mentioned shooting at them until YOU suggested peppering then with birdshot from 60-70 yards. I'm not having a go at anyone,I'm just saying that we should be careful what we say because someone could take it up the wrong way. The last thing legitamate hunters need is for people to think we are vigilante nutters. Just in case you missed it in the forum charter,peppering someone with birdshot is still shooting someone,and ILLEGAL!

since when are you a moderator.
    I try to explain
    there are many thing we say we would like to do we all understand that that in reality we cannot do them. For example we all have our own opinion on how to deal with the criminality but we know that its not our place to hand out justice.
    I repeat my self that I did not suggest that he actually fire on them mearly that it was a pity he couldn't
    do it because (first) its morally wrong and (second) it is illegal
    I should have been more specific

Neither am I having a go at anyone because I understand your point of view, but mine is I dont give two ducks what antis think because going by their beliefs no one shoud have a gun for any reason, full stop

since when are you a moderator.
    I try to explain
    there are many thing we say we would like to do we all understand that that in reality we cannot do them. For example we all have our own opinion on how to deal with the criminality but we know that its not our place to hand out justice.
    I repeat my self that I did not suggest that he actually fire on them mearly that it was a pity he couldn't
    do it because (first) its morally wrong and (second) it is illegal
    I should have been more specific

Neither am I having a go at anyone because I understand your point of view, but mine is I dont give two ducks what antis think because going by their beliefs no one shoud have a gun for any reason, full stop

I never claimed to be a moderator. All I was trying to say was mind our p's and q's cos some folks love to try and catch us out. I'm with you on your anti opinion though. Look, I don't want to start a row or anything,I just don't want to see fellow shooters get into sh1t they don't deserve. Sorry if I offended you, but I hope you see where I'm coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,107 ✭✭✭clivej

its a pity you couldnt pepper em at 60 -70 yards with bird shot , they couldnt report you without implicating them selves in a crime also
    But it would make them think twice about comming back ;)

Would be better to pepper the radiator/tyres of their car/van while they are out poaching your pond. Now that would be a real sickener :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Closing this before we start having to remind people about rule 8...