Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I love my straight friends (not like that ;))

• 14-08-2011 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

Hey guys don't know why I'm posting this really but just wanted to write down a few bits ha! So I haven't actually said to my guy friends that I'm gay but I always knew that they knew. So at a wedding last weekend one of the lads said to me that they knew and I shouldn't be afraid to say it to them. He said that they were waiting for me to say it so they could take the piss out of me ha! I said to him I suppose I can't seem to say it when I'm out with them etc. I said it to him that I didn't want them to think that I can't tell them because they're great but i suppose i'm just trying to get around it myself in my own head. :confused: One of the lads I'm actually going to tell him tomorrow because i love him to bits and i want to say it to him instead of him asking me. I feel like i owe it to him and i don't want him to be thinking why can't i tell him. Anyway sorry for the pointless thread I just have a lot of things going on in my head! Its great to have cool friends and I know the majority of people here have experienced the same thing:P
    "It is better to be hated for what you are than loved for what you are not." - Andr Gide”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Good on you, nothing beats a good coming out story.

Btw I always think that your friends are a reflection of yourself :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I suppose this could be a thread for all of us who love our straight friends :P That's great OP that your friends are so cool :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭WonderWoman!

I love my straight female friends ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭Killer_banana

That's great OP. I have been ridiculously lucky with my straight friends. One bad reaction out of loads of brilliant ones and even then it was more inability to understand due to a sheltered and religious upbringing rather than actual hatefulness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭WonderWoman!

Btw I always think that your friends are a reflection of yourself :)
    I agree
    Show me your company and I'll tell you who you are .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

Hey guys don't know why I'm posting this really but just wanted to write down a few bits ha! So I haven't actually said to my guy friends that I'm gay but I always knew that they knew. So at a wedding last weekend one of the lads said to me that they knew and I shouldn't be afraid to say it to them. He said that they were waiting for me to say it so they could take the piss out of me ha! I said to him I suppose I can't seem to say it when I'm out with them etc. I said it to him that I didn't want them to think that I can't tell them because they're great but i suppose i'm just trying to get around it myself in my own head. :confused: One of the lads I'm actually going to tell him tomorrow because i love him to bits and i want to say it to him instead of him asking me. I feel like i owe it to him and i don't want him to be thinking why can't i tell him. Anyway sorry for the pointless thread I just have a lot of things going on in my head! Its great to have cool friends and I know the majority of people here have experienced the same thing:P
    "It is better to be hated for what you are than loved for what you are not." - Andr Gide”

I have a great bunch of friends too, who just happen to be straight. I grew up in a straight world mainly, well that’s all I saw as a young man!
    I left Ireland and headed for the larger cities (London/New York) hoping to meet like minded people and it broke my heart to leave them all behind. They even form a distance gave me full support and remained close friends.
    Now I’m back living here with my partner and in the hub of my wonderful straight friends again and their partners/children and even grand children in one case and I love it. Been home and surrounded by those I/we love.
    OP thanks for your post, as it reminded me of how much joy they have brought into my life.
    Bloody straight people..... whoever knew!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 coolpaddy

It's so great to read a heartwarming story like that. It really restores my faith in people. I know not everyone is lucky enough to have the same experience as the OP. My straight friends are the best anyone could ask for. Apart from one, my being gay was never an issue for any of them. In fact, my friends embraced it, for the want of a better word. I was terrified of being alienated and ostracised. When I came out I was living in small town Ireland. I was still exploring my sexuality and didn't know any other gay people. My friends kind of rallied around me. They never said it but I think they felt sorry for me being in an environment where the chances of me finding a partner and love were limited. I got a bit of stick from the usual small minded eejits in every town but my friends were always there to have my back. It's something I'll always remember as I grow older. Our group has drifted somewhat over the past few years between emmigration and marriage and babies but I know I'll always consider them friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

I've already bagged the best friends ever, sorry guys.