Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noise levels in clubs/pubs?

• 14-08-2011 10:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭polod

Is it just me or is the decibles levels in night clubs just crazy ? woke up this morning with a horid ringing in my ear that cant be good after being out last night. I wish there was a law to limit how loud they can play music. any one else share these views ??? i also find it is a real pain when you have to shout to talk to the person right next to ya. Im in my early to mid twentys BTY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

polod wrote: »
    Is it just me or is the decibles levels in night clubs just crazy ? woke up this morning with a horid ringing in my ear that cant be good after being out last night. I wish there was a law to limit how loud they can play music. any one else share these views ??? i also find it is a real pain when you have to shout to talk to the person right next to ya. Im in my early to mid twentys BTY.

Pub FTW!

And you probably paid in to have your ears tortured!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Same thing happened me, this constant ringing in my ears, then discovered it was my phone so i answered it and it stopped...thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

never had a ringing from a club or anywhere i've been. but seriously, stop going there then.

old man pubs are the new in thing donchaknow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Thank you for reminding me of my tinnitus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭polod

Pub FTW!

And you probably paid in to have your ears tortured!!

some pubs are just as bad i find.

I find the same and my hearing isn't the best to start with

so I don't go to them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I wouldn't go to niteclub without ear plugs, damaged my hearing about 6 years ago and have had constant ringing in them ever since, sometimes i forget i have it until someone mentions it, it seems to have got a lot louder in the last few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

WHAAAAAAAAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Thats a sure sign you are getting old lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭polod

1210m5g wrote: »
    I wouldn't go to niteclub without ear plugs, damaged my hearing about 6 years ago and have had constant ringing in them ever since, sometimes i forget i have it until someone mentions it, it seems to have got a lot louder in the last few minutes.

think il do the same now too :D A law will have to come in soon before they F~~~ up peoples hearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

I sometime's head to the pub first off and having a good chat and craic then off to the nightclub but the music in pubs does be far to loud for chats,

Also they say the louder the music the more you drink cause the person beside ya can't hear what your saying most of the time anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Arthur.

Lads wait till yous get tinnitus from clubs. Ive got it. Most nights I have trouble sleeping and some nights I cant sleep at all... And my case isnt even bad compared other people Ive met. A lot of people become legally disabled it screws up their lives that much. What you wouldnt give to go completely deaf. Complete deafness would be a blessing over tinnitus. Next time your at the club just think about that.

I like it loud in nightclubs and late bars tbh, its usually quieter in the pubs earlier in the night when you would be having more conversations. When your locked later in the night nothing better than the music blaring!!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Theres no treatment.It's too personal.Though there are claims.Tell me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

I'm 26 I hate going to places where the music is really loud.
    I much rather a quiet pub or dinner with my friends so I can actually hear what is being said to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

It's a pile of balls- and it's not just music, we were in the smoking area of a pub in Dublin this weekend and they had the commentary of whatever match was on at FULL volume. Couldn't hear the person next to me, we ended up leaving after one drink. At least when it's music you can hum along or whatever, I couldn't care less about some pile of **** sports event. Why do they assume that everyone who goes to a city centre pub wants to watch/listen to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

The only place I've had ringing in my ears is after staying in the pit of rock/metal concerts/gigs for the duration of it due to the proximity of the speakers and subs (took 12-14hrs for it to come back to normal after Muse in Marlay Park '08).

As clubs go on through the night, they slowly turn up the volume too, as it has a subconscious effect of making You drink more. Stay away from the speakers, or away from the clubs, its up to You.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Some clubs I go to my ears would be left ringing for the entire day. Depends on the type of music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

The pub should be silent, fair enough. In the club I wanna feel the floor shake, as loud as possible please!

Pet peeve - Music in the smoking area, thats where you go to chat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Ah Joe, you should hear it, your ear drums would be fit to explode, its a disgrace Joe, DISGRACE!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

The only place I've had ringing in my ears is after staying in the pit of rock/metal concerts/gigs for the duration of it due to the proximity of the speakers and subs (took 12-14hrs for it to come back to normal after Muse in Marlay Park '08).

As clubs go on through the night, they slowly turn up the volume too, as it has a subconscious effect of making You drink more. Stay away from the speakers, or away from the clubs, its up to You.
    TACTIC:
    Purpose of loud music is so you have to shout to be heard & this dries out the mouth and you drink more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Just go to a quiet pub - well, one that doesn't have crap music playing in it.

Most Irish nightclubs have utter piles of crap for sound systems that are driven as loud as they'll possibly go so it just distorts to feck and you end up with your ears ringing for the following week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Pet peeve - Music in the smoking area, thats where you go to chat!

I thought thats where people went to smoke (hence the name) :confused:

Then again what would I know. I havent been in a nightclub since 2008

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    I thought thats where people went to smoke (hence the name) :confused:

I think you'll find the two aren't mutually exclusive, how else would you chat up girls on a night out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

py2006 wrote: »
    Thats a sure sign you are getting old lol

Perhaps but tinnitus is no joke. I've got it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I think you'll find the two aren't mutually exclusive, how else would you chat up girls on a night out?

How does one chat up a non-smoking girl/fella/whateveryerhavinyerself ?

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    How does one chat up a non-smoking girl/fella/whateveryerhavinyerself ?

They'll generally have gone to the smoking area for some air, or they'll accompany me there for a smoke and a chat after I make a good impression at the bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Firetrap wrote: »
    Perhaps but tinnitus is no joke. I've got it :(

So do I. I am I am a musican, part time music producer (hobbyist) and DJ so it really affects me. I am never without my earplugs. It's head wrecking but it has to be done. Part of my life now for the last 5 years.

Music is far too loud in nightclubs... unnecessarily so. This is a major health and safety issue and it's being ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's not even just loud in some places, they've gone beyond the capabilities of their sound system and you can hear the distortion in the speakers.

Irish nightclubs are totally shyte, they play shyte music, they serve shyte drink and they simply don't give a shyte about the people who come in, we're just cash cows to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Well organise your own parties then. That what I do.

Anyway i would urge anyone who still hears ringing in their ears the next morning after a night out to invest in a set of earplugs for next time before you fuck your ears up permanently like I did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

paddyandy wrote: »
    TACTIC:
    Purpose of loud music is so you have to shout to be heard & this dries out the mouth and you drink more.

You're not far off. Because you can't have a conversation you tend to drink more.
    I don't mind the music in the nightclubs because I usually have a few in me by that stage but I hate walking into a pub to start the night having to shout because of the music, tends to make me stay out in the smoking area for most the night - you can have the craic there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

In Amsterdam there's limits on how loud the music can be in nightclubs etc.. they even have decibel counters on the walls in some places which give constant readouts. Never really understood why a similar thing couldn't be brought in over here. I can't stand places where you can barely hear people talking.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

In Amsterdam there's limits on how loud the music can be in nightclubs etc.. they even have decibel counters on the walls in some places which give constant readouts. Never really understood why a similar thing couldn't be brought in over here. I can't stand places where you can barely hear people talking.

Absolutely. I don't see why pubs/clubs shouldn't have to provide warnings about how loud their music is going to be. Most people don't know the sensitivity of the human ear and the damage that can be done by even infrequent and limited exposure to loud music.

I don't condone a capping of decibel levels in a nanny state sort of action but rather it should be the club's responsibility to inform customers about the decibel levels on the premises. Pubs/clubs that use unnecessarily loud music as a tactic to encourage extra drinking are a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

http://www.imt.ie/news/latest-news/2011/06/dublin-pubs-pose-risk-of-hearing-loss-issues.html
    http://www.lowertheboom.org/trice/safedblevels.htm

Dunno if I agree with the "nanny state" objection. It's noise pollution, isn't it? Surely the powers that be have a right/responsibility to protect people from such?
    But yes, it would help if people would ask for the music to be turned down or take their business elsewhere. But they won't, because people are silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Anyone working in an environment where you have to shout to be heard, has to be provided with ear defenders.
    The punters in these clubs have the option of leaving if they think the noise levels are too high but the staff have to work in that environment several nights a week.
    Justifiable case for deafness claims IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

It's not being policed, that's for sure. I wonder what the decibel levels in your average pub/nightclub are in comparison to what caused all those army deafness claims?

Of course anyone who complains about the music being too loud is accused of being a crank/too old/a killjoy. I've been in pubs where the music has been at an OK level in the early part of the evening. You can speak to people, hear the music and dance to it if you want. Then some moron comes along and turns it up to 11 :mad: