Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hyundai Santa Fe

• 13-08-2011 12:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭

im thinking about buying one of these for the upcomming winter months, seeing as they seem decent value at the mo for the 01-04's anything id need to look out for? Also if anyone had one during the last cold spell if they could post up how they found theres on the ice that would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Johnny welder

I have a 05 sante fe,found it quiet good over the cold spell,not quiet as good as a true 4x4( e.g. land cruiser or pajero)but a lot better than your normal family car,it would drive much better but just as hard to stop it you use the brakes!!!We also drive a ford galaxy which we left at home many times because the sante fe was much better in the ice and snow.
    They are as a rule very reliable,the only money spent on my one was heater plugs at 100 euro and fitted my self.Local mechanic says they are for the most of it trouble free.Our one gives about 38 mpg if driven reasonably well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The 00-06 old model is A bit of a dog, most aren't 4wd
    Clutches aren't particularly strong, diesels give injection problems and petrols are fairly thirsty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

were all the diesels 4wd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

TGi666 wrote: »

TGI, i have a 02 Santa Fe TD ( which is for sale;)). Found it good in the snow last winter. They are heavy oul yokes, so takes a lot to move them. As someone else said, I have had my injectores replaced and the pump too cost over a grand.
    Have heard of the clutch issue, but been lucky with my one. I have 145k done and its still drives like when I bought it...

all the diesels are not 4x4,mine is,it only comes on when needed,a system that works fairly ok but it would not be a serious off -roader,I use mine for some farming pulling a 10x5 ifor williams with 4 cattle most of the time.It moves quiet well with them(4 cattle x 500kg = 2 ton,plus the weight of the trailer,total weight in the region of 2.75 - 3.0 tons).Thankfully no clutch problems yet!!!Hopefully it will go on that way!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

all of the commercials are 4x4 afaik , the passenger models its pot luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

all of the commercials are 4x4 afaik , the passenger models its pot luck

Are the passanger UK imports not all 4x4? My one has a 4wd badge on it and its an import ??

canonball5 wrote: »
    Are the passanger UK imports not all 4x4? My one has a 4wd badge on it and its an import ??

not all of them, in the UK they care a lot more about spec than our poverty spec cars over here , so the sensible option of getting 4wd and not just wanting to look like you have a jeep was often used. there are still 2wd ones from the uk but youd probably have to go looking for them.

if it has the 4wd badge on it, its most likely 4wd unless somebody went and bought the badge , does it have the '4wd lock' switch on it ? (not sure where it was on the older ones but the post 06 it was down the bottom in the centre console

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

just buy a fecking Land Rover Discovery 3 already ! :pac::pac::pac:

robbie_998 wrote: »
    just buy a fecking Land Rover Discovery 3 already ! :pac::pac::pac:

or a kia sorento , similar price range , similar size but has low range, propper 4wd and in the 01-06 year range looks a damn lot better inside and out than the hyundai

just had a quick nose around dungdeal and buy the look of things there all 2.5 and no way im paying that tax bill, are the tucson's worth the extra few quid?

860 vs 935 , its 75 a year more

860 is 2.3 tax isnt it?

614 to tax sante fe up to 2006 model

860 is 2.3 tax isnt it?

sorry your correct , 823 , still only a little over 100 more