Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What tractor for me?

• 12-08-2011 3:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Im going back into farming on the fathers place after being away for a number of years. It's a small holding about 35 acres of mixed ground upland bottoms and bog.
    No machinery there at the moment so was looking to buy a small tractor and some bits and pieces.
    I was looking at a few Ursus 450 on donedeal and they seem good value for their years / hours. Anybody know much about them or have any other suggestions.
    Was thinking of spending areound 10K on the tractor as I'm working still ( at least till early next year) and could offset against tax I presume.
    Would I be better get something older in a better make? or even a 4WD?

I'm not mechanical so I dont want a project that forever breaking down or needs work.
    I look forward to hearing what you guys think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

You have a duplicate post:p...........................Why not go for a model that's more popular, I dont know about Ursus, maybe they are ok but why not something like a david brown? or Massey Ferguson? I know I am bias;) but parts would be easier to get.Masseys are expensive but parts would be also a doddle too.

http://www.donedeal.ie/find/tractors/for-sale/Ireland/david%20brown?source=all

Here are some from your area
    http://www.donedeal.ie/find/tractors/for-sale/Longford/david%20brown?source=all

http://www.donedeal.ie/find/tractors/for-sale/Longford/massey%20ferguson?source=all

or even
    http://www.donedeal.ie/find/tractors/for-sale/Longford/ford?source=all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Patrick_H

I was thinking of mf but read I think on this site or somewhere on the net anyway that an trays is just a modern version of the old mf like 135, 165 and so on.
    I thought would make it a simple reliable tractor with the bit of extra comfort of a newer model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭pat73

A zetor 7745 or some thing along that line would suit u.A simple tractor with a nice spacious cab.I know people might not like the zetor but it would suit a ur farm i think.parts are cheap if any thing goes in it.They are cheap compared to the mf and if u want a lower powered one u could pick a good clean one for 5 or 6 grand.Plenty of them to look at on donedeal.I have a zetor 7711 on my farm for the last 12 years and i would never sell it as its a great little tactor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Johnny welder

a good second hand ford or massey,simple to use and very reliable,most ford parts are easily available and very reasonable to buy.You would get a nice tractor for that money.A 4 wheel drive would be most suitable,I would be looking for a ford 5610(75hp) or 6610(85hp).There are a good selection in Donedeal.ie or in most local papers.Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Mr.Success

what about this mf 165, low maintainence, parts easily sourced and reliable engine etc. you'll also save a few pound out of your 10k

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2258755

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Personally if I was spending more than a couple of grand on a tractor then I'd be looking to something from the 80's, something with a proper cab,

like the 10 series fords
    Ford-5610-1568946.jpg?height=600&width=800&quality=80

or an XL cabbed case
    207.jpg

or a db/case 90 or 94 series
    78.jpg

Buy an olde but nice cabbed machine would be my preference, dont see the point in spending big money to buy a 60's-70's machine with an old style cab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Johnny welder

Spot on there,get some thing modern,with a quiet cab,heater,radio,power steering,there are some really great value tractors out there,a late 80's ford like the 5610/6610 can be got for under 10k,they were an excellent work horse with any parts ever needed easilly available and reasonably priced.They were a very reliable tractor and the ones with the super Q cab provided great comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,352 ✭✭✭threeball

The International XL series would be my choice, either a 585 or 785. Nice cab, torque amplifier, so they're nippy and very reliable. Had one for 10yrs and never took a spanner to it. Neighbour has it now and its still going strong. Won't break the bank either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

If you're thinking about buying an old tractor like that. Ask around, if you don't know someone, who works with them. Someone who can give it the once over. They'll have a fair idea what work needs to be done to it.
    I know guys who could judge the sound of an engine or the feel of a gearbox.
    Don't be fooled by a fancy paintjob either. It's what underneath that really counts. I've a 1976 David Brown myself that still earns it keep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

hi. I bought a lambo 1050 (105hp) turbo. its 98 and never strayed and fresh as a daisy. new boots all around. Its 4wd, gear splitters, trailer brakes, air con, 4 da spool valves etc and was 10k in July 2010 all it needed was 2 mirrors and a top link.

it backs in bales and a bit of work with the manure spreader and power box.

And the odd day drawing turf and gravel. But she keeps her way.

Buy something with a bit of power and comfort. I plan on buying an 8ft topper and 1600g tanker this winter when they are out of season.

and herself (a townie) drives it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

Patrick_H wrote: »
    Im going back into farming on the fathers place after being away for a number of years. It's a small holding about 35 acres of mixed ground upland bottoms and bog.
    No machinery there at the moment so was looking to buy a small tractor and some bits and pieces.
    I was looking at a few Ursus 450 on donedeal and they seem good value for their years / hours. Anybody know much about them or have any other suggestions.
    Was thinking of spending areound 10K on the tractor as I'm working still ( at least till early next year) and could offset against tax I presume.
    Would I be better get something older in a better make? or even a 4WD?

I'm not mechanical so I dont want a project that forever breaking down or needs work.
    I look forward to hearing what you guys think.
    How can you offset the price of the tractor against tax? I am thinking of changing my tractor and also have a off farm job.Can the full price of the tractor be written off, or if you take out a loan can the repayments ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

You can offset the depreciation of a tractor against tax.

I assume you'd have to get a receipt when buying it to do that.

You right off a percentage each year as an expense against your tax. think it's 8 years.

repairs are however 100% deductible in the year they're incurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

The ones mentioned already, although good tractors (We have one of them:P) I would have thought to be on the big side for the OP giving his query.Could be wrong of course and he might love them in which case I would sound like a Berk:( :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

Fiat 780 or Fiat 880-5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,352 ✭✭✭threeball

Nice machine VB. I'd just be a bit worried about the mounting of the seat :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2443135

Something like this would be just the ticket, check the tinwork though!

or this

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2387788

Was looking at an MF265 the other day that a local fella has for sale.
    Has had it himself from new, its 1987 with 5800 hours
    seems to be very well cared for , he retiring but looking for 9000.
    Is it worth that even though its in good condition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

2wd or 4wd? we have a 2wd 265 restored cost us 8000 so if his is a 2wd you can get many better deals on done deal

one alot like this: http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2493137

the one we have has a few faults so why not look out for them when buying, try hydraulic pedals as our clutch is very heavy, make sure the power steering is going good on it, PTO is hard to engage at times apart from that i cant fault it operates a hydraulic box with ease and brings in bales of silage no bother.

It's a 2wd. I don't know what you mean by hydraulic pedals. Is that an option on certain models or can you fit it on later?

I had a look at a couple on donedeal bur none were as good in reality as they were on screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

It's a 2wd. I don't know what you mean by hydraulic pedals. Is that an option on certain models or can you fit it on later?

I had a look at a couple on donedeal bur none were as good in reality as they were on screen.

im not sure about the proper term for them, but the pedals dont go through the floor the are attached to the sides of the dash you know the column where the steering wheel is placed, they are much easier to press. they are on some models more recent ones i think not fully sure.

if you were going for a 265 and spending 9000 on one (too much IMO) i would get one for around 4000-5000 and restore it or else just look for one and wait it out, i would recommend the tractor though very reliable it has been to us any problems it had could have been fixed ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Don't know if this thread is dead .. but the question about offsetting the cost of the Tractor (Capital Expense) against tax .. only applies if you are paying tax from a self employed job where the capital expense is directly related to that business (eg. Farm)

If you are in a PAYE job ...and also farming on the side, you can only offset the capital cost (of your tractor for example) against the farm income tax .. not against your overall tax bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

an international 785 or 885, 2wd, basic machine that will definately do all you want. at handy money. youll buy a very good one for 4-5k. Your farming 35 acres, how can you realistically send 10k on a tractor on that amount of land. tax breaks and all, how many hours will you be sitting in it for each year. I presume you will have to buy machinery and all for it.
    I may be completly wrong here and i know i have a slightly miserable outlook when it comes to buying machinery, but if you cant manage 35 acres with something under a couple of thousand then you are only buying a play thing.
    Lads spend thousands on cars and machinery in a heartbeat. their are far better investments out there that at least will return some sort of half reasonable return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

Some of them 265, 290 masseys are hard started