Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Essentials for Oktoberfest??

• 12-08-2011 2:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 45

heading to Oktoberfest this year for a few days...

I am just wondering if there are any essentials I would need that i have forgotten to get that i may need. We are camping just outside Munich in a designated campsite for it and any experience here would be great also...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Not sure if you'd be interested in the culture/history side of things ?

If so, there are Third Reich walking tours in munich which are worth checking out, also Dachau (suburb).

One day excursions to Salzburg (austria) /Obersalzberg/Berchtesgaden and so on. If you get any free days & fancy a change from the beer tents I'd recommend those, also there are beer gardens everywhere you go and it's certainly enjoyable to sink a few beers with a view of the alps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 DiegoMaradona

yeah we were thinking of going to munich for one of the "recovery days". will look into tours etc also too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

get someone to book you a table or a place at a table (bench) early in the day, you cannot get served unless you are sitting down, don't even waste you time going there on a friday/saturday night or opening night if you don't have a table, there will be hundreds outside the halls on those night just TRYING to get inside, even once inside its nearly impossible to get seated on busy nights

go easy, i saw people downing drinks like they were the watery bottles of bud and corrs you get over here, weissbier is strong and its very very easy to get drunk quite quick on a couple of glasses

the olympiapark in the northern part of the city on a sunny day is a great place to relax and ease a sore head the afternoon after a heavy night, munich has some lovely city parks actually Englischer Garten is another

most of all enjoy yourselves, octoberfest is a fantastic experience, singing along to the songs after a while becomes infectious, do a walk around munich main railway station at about 12-1am, eye opener how many arrive with no accommodation plans and just sleep on the floor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭wicorthered

Like Rossie said book a table in one of the beer tents. One of the most fun days I've ever had! Maybe do it on your first/second night, before the wear and tear of Octoberfest catch up with you. After 3-4 drinks, before you get too drunk go and visit some of the rides, really good craic.

Not to put a downer on anything, but I camped when I was over there and it took away from the experience. It was freezing at night, make sure you bring a good sleeping bag. Maybe your campsite will be different (I stayed at the tent) but the campsite was very noisy, very early. Everyone seemed to be up by 8. Not good if you've got into your tent at 5 and then spent an hour trying to get to sleep. I went Thurs to Sun and got about 4 hours sleep the whole weekend. Come Saturday/Sunday I was like a zombie!! Maybe I'm just getting old but a hotel room would have turned a great weekend into legendary weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Plenty money is the only essential for that place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Booking a table is not possible for the weekends at this chronically late stage. And to be honest even 6 months prior you aren't sure to get a table as last years reservations get first call so there's never so many free tables up for grabs
    And over the week its not necessary so long as you are in before about 4 pm

Anything else is just basic session survival.
    Don't bring passport or valuables with you to the fest and the likes.

And the previous poster is right to mention the price.
    Money just flows out of your pocket. The beer isn't so dear, it's the stupid hats and buying beer for strangers that adds up!!

ah ye we have a beer tent booked. and we are staying in the tent campsite as well(munich was booked out)

thanks for the tips guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭catch--22

A mate of mine is trying to convince me on heading over. But really can't afford the flights. When did you book yours OP and how much did you have to pay? I might look into booking early for next year instead.

if it's any help to you my mate is running these things this year. Kinda of like a portacabin thing in the city. Might be better then your camping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

heading over to the girlfriend meself....who you flying with? did you get decent prices direct into Munich? interested to know what you paid...being a poor student :D

and make sure you have lederhosen and a massive bladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭backboiler

Posted this a couple of years ago and it's still relevant because the 'fest is a timeless environment.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=61662405#post61662405

catch--22 wrote: »
    A mate of mine is trying to convince me on heading over. But really can't afford the flights.
    Try skyscanner.com

they have a connection from Dublin via edinburgh to memmingen (Munich east!) and back via stansted with 2 and a bit hour layover in both for 135 return incl taxes
    Thats for the friday and monday of the first weekend. Landing to memmingen at 1.30 on the friday afternoon and leaving at 3.30 on the Monday afternoon-
    For a weekend on the beer great times to be travelling.

Or simply fly the one way to munich that way and its only 60 to get back direct with aerlingus from munich proper on the monday

where theres a will theres a way!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Ongarian

Heading there this year for the first time,just going for a long(very long!) weekend.
    will be there for the first three days and like that, didnt realise you have to book seat's beforehand, needless to say they're all booked out for the larger tents.
    What are the smaller tents like, presume they dont need reservations?
    cant wait.

Ongarian wrote: »
    Heading there this year for the first time,just going for a long(very long!) weekend.
    will be there for the first three days and like that, didnt realise you have to book seat's beforehand, needless to say they're all booked out for the larger tents.
    What are the smaller tents like, presume they dont need reservations?
    cant wait.
    you dont need reservations.
    At the weekend most tables are up for grabs without reservations.
    Its just that the only way to guarantee entry is with a reservation.
    If youre there early enough you'll be grand.

Or if the weather is fine, just land at about midday or one o clock - have a beer outside in the beergarden if the doors are locked and try to get in a side door at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 anthonyc123

Gone to Octoberfest for a few years.

1. Get to the tents EARLY. We have arrived at 11am and had no chance of getting in.

2. Before 4 o'clock some tables will be up for grabs. Just a matter of finding them and not moving.

3. Very important - Soft toilet roll, Preferably baby wipes.

the best advice would be to avoid the bloody weekend actually :)
    hotels and flights are much cheaper and youre nearly guaranteed a place in a tent.

some tents even have afternoon reservations for the week up for grabs (Armbrustschutzenzelt for one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

the second sunday was quiet enough when we were there last year (quiet enough to get a seat in the tent anyway), saturday was insane and i wouldn't advise anyone to arrive at 5-6pm on a saturday like we did :(

rossie1977 wrote: »
    the second sunday was quiet enough when we were there last year (quiet enough to get a seat in the tent anyway), saturday was insane and i wouldn't advise anyone to arrive at 5-6pm on a saturday like we did :(
    nooooooooooo (you unfortunate souls !)

5 is too late as ye found out, theres a minimum of about a thousand extra people per tent just having entered because of change of reservations, and the people off the old reservations are still in the tent.
    result = closed doors guaranteed.

as the previous poster said <4pm is good. Getting closer to 5 is bad.

one bit of advise that is not emphasized enough is that the weekends are bedlam and awful hassle in getting into a tent BUT during the week its much better and not so overcrowded and frustrating.
    And during the week accomodation at a half ways affordable price is easier to some by.

I was in the Hofbrau tent last night (Tuesday) and it was not closed at any stage that I could see and there was plenty of seats where you could squish into all over the tent.

All in all a quite pleasant experience !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Don't go on a weekend..

Also, when the band strike up "que cera, cera " don't do this

leaving for oktoberfest in the afternoon... should be fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 anthonyc123

Don't forget the soft toilet roll!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 zeirtz

Some reservations are available for Friday at 11am.

http://www.toytowngermany.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=201297&st=80