Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

another clamper rant....

• 12-08-2011 12:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭

I know we have had a lot of clamper thread...

In the Industrial estate I work in had a meeting with Industrial estate owners today, IDA.. it was being held in another office to mine. Went down parked on the side of a road beside the building in the industrial estate. load of other cars there,

I will admit where i parked was sort of half on the start of the yellow line, hard to tell its exact start point as it is so faded.

After meeting ****ing clamped.... 50e release fee...
    had my master key with me :) a large set of industrial bolt cutters..
    but before I went at it, rang the local Garda, they informed me that they dont get involved with clamping BUT if i did damage the clamp in anyway getting it off the car I would be open to criminal damage charge....
    so had no choice but to pay the release fee...

So I pay the security cost through my business and because no where else to park to meet the owners of the park.. i have to pay a clamp fee... i am fumming....

anyway rant over.. just needed to rant....

and yes i know i was in the wrong.. but needed to rant :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

What is the point in carrying bolt cutters with you unless you have the balls to use them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

robtri wrote: »
    rang the local Garda, they informed me that they dont get involved with clamping BUT if i did damage the clamp in anyway getting it off the car I would be open to criminal damage charge....

They're correct.

However, How can one prove Criminal Damage with no evidence of the damage?

Grand Canal is a "Grand" spot when combined with a clamp and bolt cutters :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

MugMugs wrote: »
    They're correct.

However, How can one prove Criminal Damage with no evidence of the damage?

Grand Canal is a "Grand" spot when combined with a clamp and bolt cutters :)
    I was thinking the same thing. Im sure the clampers took a photo of the car with the clamp in place, but they can't prove anything, unless they are in posession of the damaged clamp right??

07Lapierre wrote: »
    I was thinking the same thing. Im sure the clampers took a photo of the car with the clamp in place, but they can't prove anything, unless they are in posession of the damaged clamp right??

I wouldnt know the ins and the outs but you'd assume that "if the clamp wasnt there when I got there" then it isnt your issue, is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TheZ

The criminal damage argument is an interesting one for a private clamper

the private clamp is a trespass to your property so you could sue for damages

is parking their deemed acceptance of a contract that allows them to clamp you - that is a difficult one especially if you put a note in your window that says clamps will be removed and putting a clamp on your car is deemed acceptance of that

If you arrive home and I had boarded up your front door with a sign allowing me to do that and you cut the boards off would that be criminal damage

has anybody ever heard of anybody being prosecuted for criminal damage to a clamp put on by a private clamping company - my view is they won't do it in case the court case blows up in their face and the practice is deemed to be an unlawful trespass to private property

TheZ wrote: »
    has anybody ever heard of anybody being prosecuted for criminal damage to a clamp put on by a private clamping company - my view is they won't do it in case the court case blows up in their face and the practice is deemed to be an unlawful trespass to private property

They wont run them for fear of having precedent set.

Road Traffic Act says that nobody has the right to interfere with your vehicle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

stop parking where you shouldn't, fairly simple really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Take photos of the car and surrounding area. If you cant see a sign that will help. The faded yellow line will also be a help.

Definately look into appealing it if its not clearly marked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

What is the point in carrying bolt cutters with you unless you have the balls to use them?

I use them in Work... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

stop parking where you shouldn't, fairly simple really

I know, my own fault... but just needed a rant :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Take photos of the car and surrounding area. If you cant see a sign that will help. The faded yellow line will also be a help.

Definately look into appealing it if its not clearly marked.

It's a private company operating a semi legal business. Save the cost of the stamp/call as I can tell the OP the result of any appeal now.

Until the whole clamping operation is regulated i would have no qualms about cutting the Fecker off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

cisk wrote: »
    Until the whole clamping operation is regulated i would have no qualms about cutting the Fecker off.

do it in front of them as well, shower of *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Del2005 wrote: »
    It's a private company operating a semi legal business. Save the cost of the stamp/call as I can tell the OP the result of any appeal now.
    Just as well this guy didn't follow your advice, isn't it? ;) [url] http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73783030&postcount=20[/url]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Anan1 wrote: »
    Just as well this guy didn't follow your advice, isn't it? ;) [url] http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73783030&postcount=20[/url]
    It's different there as it was his own development which refunded him.