Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tallaght AC 5 miler - 9th October

• 12-08-2011 9:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭

Hey Guys

TAC are holding their first ever road race. There has been alot of planning gone into this over last few months and the lads who are organising it (Im not one I promise just trying to support the club with this).

Most of the information is here

http://www.tallaghtac.ie/Tallaghtac%205%20Mile%20Road%20Race/tallaghtac_5mile_road_race.htm

Not 100% certain of the course but from what I heard the plan will be to have it from the village down to Glenview and loop around by castletymon. If they went ahead with this course its very flat/ slightly down hill for majority of the race with a looped lap so could be a very fast course.

I will find out the exact course and run it in training and post the garmin link to give people exact details of the course

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 4 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    100%
    ecolitunguskafoleyalanrunning_away 4 votes
    3 stars (average)
    0%
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

interesting... three weeks out from Dublin, could fit the 10k race in the P&D schedule...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

4 stars (good)
    Jesus Cecil will drop kick me when he sees me next, I promised him I'd pimp the race on here but completely forgot. Fair play Luke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Tempting, very tempting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

4 stars (good)
    tunguska wrote: »
    Jesus Cecil will drop kick me when he sees me next, I promised him I'd pimp the race on here but completely forgot. Fair play Luke.

Only saw link myself on facebook to be honest. Hadnt heard much about it in months since i was approached about trying to get a meeting set up for sponsorship with work.

4 stars (good)
    ecoli wrote: »
    Only saw link myself on facebook to be honest. Hadnt heard much about it in months since i was approached about trying to get a meeting set up for sponsorship with work.

Yeah they lads do seem to be trying their best to keep the race a secret.

Right so the softly softly approach is out the window, everybody better do this race or you're dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭itsalltrue

My Wife has just started running and i think this might be an ideal race for her.

Will it be a hard course?

Would it be suitable for a first time runner or is it aimed at stronger runners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

A better bet for a first time runner might be the Rathfarnham 5k. Just because the Tallaght race is an unknown quantity at this point, while Rathfarnham is shorter, and will definitely have a mixed field of faster and slower people.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Same day as the simon 5 miler in the park methinks, but, thats course sounds incredibly flat so it's preferable. Likely to give this one a bash myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭runrabbit

Yeah they lads do seem to be trying their best to keep the race a secret.

First I heard of it even though I know a few from Tallaght AC! I'm definitely keen on it and I've sent the link on to a few people so hopefully we get a posse out to Tallaght for this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Is it their first road race?

I seem to remember they organised a few races years ago. But perhaps that was when they were called Oisin AC? I think I manned a few water stations for the races as a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Yeah, when they were Oisin AC I seem to remember they organised a lot of road races, there was a club 10 miler every year anyway. Maybe it's the first since it became Tallaght AC after Oisin and Cuchulain amalgamated, but that still seems suss to me, that was back in 1993 and I would have thought they would have continued organising races.

See their history here
    http://www.tallaghtac.ie/history.htm

Edit, just read the link posted, it says "First annual 5 mile road race" so it probably means just that, it's the first of what's going to be an annual 5 mile race.

And a more depressing edit: I'm looking at some of the results on that website and my dad is in there for some of them puttin me to shame, for example his Sports World 5mile time back in the mid 80s would have put him 8th this year, and he's got a 33 minute 10k in there somewhere, not sure if that was his faster either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

RayCun wrote: »
    interesting... three weeks out from Dublin, could fit the 10k race in the P&D schedule...

..or maybe not.
    It been planned for a Sunday will probably mean the weekend long run would have to be sacrificed. Pity

4 stars (good)
    Abhainn wrote: »
    ..or maybe not.
    It been planned for a Sunday will probably mean the weekend long run would have to be sacrificed. Pity

Move the LSR to a Monday;) will all be grand

4 stars (good)
    Suprised how many people know their history on Tallaght. Yes as far as I know the club used to hold races as Oisin and Cuchulain (as far as i remember they hosted Dublin Marathon championships back in the 80s?).

However since they became Tallaght they have not held any road races to the best of my knowledge (admittedly only born in 89 so if there has may have slipped my mind:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Suprised how many people know their history on Tallaght. .................................(admittedly only born in 89 so if there has may have slipped my mind:D)

Ha Ha, there's your answer ! I was possibly still a member of Oisin back then but I think I may have already moved to hurling at an under age level and finished my early athletics career by the time you were born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Move the LSR to a Monday;) will all be grand

I was waiting for that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Suprised how many people know their history on Tallaght. Yes as far as I know the club used to hold races as Oisin and Cuchulain (as far as i remember they hosted Dublin Marathon championships back in the 80s?).

However since they became Tallaght they have not held any road races to the best of my knowledge (admittedly only born in 89 so if there has may have slipped my mind:D)

Tallaght A.C. hosted the National Marathon Championship in May 2000 which Gerry Healy won in a time of 2.21.28.
    I remember running in their annual 10 mile race before they changed to Tallaght A.C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

Abhainn wrote: »
    ..or maybe not.

Would be very interested in doing this but the LSR has to take preference. If this race was to be organised for the Saturday you would get a lot of Dublin Marathon runners doing it as a prep race.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭pre

Pronator wrote: »
    Would be very interested in doing this but the LSR has to take preference. If this race was to be organised for the Saturday you would get a lot of Dublin Marathon runners doing it as a prep race.:rolleyes:
    Totally agree around 12 o clock when i finish work ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Excellent, fits in perfect between Rathfarnham and racepix 5km. I smell a sub 35 as long as I'm allowed to run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 running_away

4 stars (good)
    Is this still going ahead?? Haven't seen it advertised anywhere else really! If so anyone know the exact route.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭strokeslover

Is this still going ahead?? Haven't seen it advertised anywhere else really! If so anyone know the exact route.

Thanks.

AFAIK it's still going ahead. It was advertised in the Half Marathon Race program thingy on Saturday. I Haven't heard anything on the route though!

4 stars (good)
    Cool thanks. Just saw there's a contact number on their site. Will give them a shout.

4 stars (good)
    This needs a big bump..........whos running?

4 stars (good)
    This needs a big bump..........whos running?

Mod: No bumping unless you are actually contributing

Mod hat off and luckily I finally got the course today and looks like it will be a fast enough course:

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/53256796/?open_ive_done=1&new_route=1

(This is the route I have done up roughly on map my run from being told the course but is accurately measured)

Looks like a fast enough course with long gradual downhills coupled with only two small climbs coming up the Greenhills road

4 stars (good)
    Mod: No bumping unless you are actually contributing

Feck off.
    Mod hat off and luckily I finally got the course today and looks like it will be a fast enough

course:

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/53256796/?open_ive_done=1&new_route=1

(This is the route I have done up roughly on map my run from being told the course but is accurately measured)

Looks like a fast enough course with long gradual downhills coupled with only two small climbs coming up the Greenhills road

Ok just ignore the post I made on your log so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

Doing this one lads. Definitely a fast course. Lets hope this wind dies down a bit.

Balls on the block: sub 29.

4 stars (good)
    cwgatling wrote: »
    Doing this one lads. Definitely a fast course. Lets hope this wind dies down a bit.

Balls on the block: sub 29.

I'd question the "flat" comment Paddy. When you turn onto the greenhills road from tymon theres a decent drag, especially on that second lap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

That's true, I used to do tempos up there and that hill was a bitch. Still though, I reckon it's PB territory.
    Good luck with the 17 mile warm up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Thanks to all in Tallaght AC for a great race & the fine feast that followed. The wind made it a bit tricky. Like the tee shirt & the rapid text with your race time.:D

4 stars (good)
    Some of the provisional results from today:

http://precisiontiming.net/result/view/id/192

Have to say run around the area the whole time and was a harder course than anticipated (wind didnt help). All in all I think the race went pretty smoothly nice to have a new 5 miler around this time of year

4 stars (good)
    Good race today. Running against the wind up the greenhills road was a killer though especially the second lap! Was hoping for a sub 30 and with 4 miles done in just under 24 thought I could push on but last mile i fell apart and was lucky to get in under 31. oh well. Great organisation and super spread afterwards. Well done Tallaght AC.