Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxing Car

• 12-08-2011 8:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭

Hi

Is it still possible to tax your car from this month when its been out since may, or do you now have to backdate it..

Use to be you could go to the garda station , get a stamp on it and ye,d be grand but heard somewhere its not possible anymore.

Anyone??

Its a continuous system so you will still need to get that form stamped by the guards and bring it along with you.

The guards just stamp it and tend not to ask any questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Unless you were driving in the mean time and logged by the anpr system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭smurph10

No iv got it stamped before without any hassle, just thought that it had now become law that you had to backdate it regardless....

I got a car signed off the road last week so the old system still applies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

When is the SORN system coming in. Supposed to be this year. The sooner the better

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

cisk wrote: »

they imput reg's into their system these days.......

Well ill let you know how i get on..

Why the sooner the better????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

smurph10 wrote: »
    Well ill let you know how i get on..

Why the sooner the better????

Current system is open to abuse. SORN system takes away that ability to abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

cisk wrote: »

Thats because they're just witnessing you declaring it off the road, not confirming it was off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Ummmm, Declare it off the road if it was off the road. Otherwise pay the arrears like you should.

If the Garda takes the incling to go inside and check your plate in Pulse and your reg has been run for whatever reason then you're landing yourself in a whole world of pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Thats because they're just witnessing you declaring it off the road, not confirming it was off the road.

I've heard of them checking if people had been met at checkpoints etc. and I remember a Garda refusing to sign a fella off the road.

furtzy wrote: »
    When is the SORN system coming in. Supposed to be this year. The sooner the better

Hopefully never.

got it stamped , thanks folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Just from curiosity, but how does it work.

If you are declaring car off the road, go with a form to garda station, and they discover that car wasn't off the road (f.e. was spotted by one of anpr in the mean time) what will garda do? Could they arrest you on the spot for making false declarations in front of them. What can be the consequences?
    Otherwise, if they don't check it, who else checks it? Can motortax office check? Would they have access to any data that could confirm that car was used in public place?

CiniO wrote: »
    Just from curiosity, but how does it work.

If you are declaring car off the road, go with a form to garda station, and they discover that car wasn't off the road (f.e. was spotted by one of anpr in the mean time) what will garda do? Could they arrest you on the spot for making false declarations in front of them. What can be the consequences?
    Otherwise, if they don't check it, who else checks it? Can motortax office check? Would they have access to any data that could confirm that car was used in public place?

From my experience they never check, I've signed my car of the road 2 or 3 times per year for years and it was always just signed and stamped. Ive even sent in other people to do it for me when I hadn't time and even though that's definitely not allowed most guards don't care, only once I can remember did they refuse because I wasnt there to sign it in there presence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

MugMugs wrote: »
    Ummmm, Declare it off the road if it was off the road. Otherwise pay the arrears like you should.

This. Any other advice is promoting tax evasion and therefore against the Charter.

Thread closed.