Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever get barred from a pub/nightclub?

• 11-08-2011 4:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭

As the title says, Ever get barred from a pub/nightclub and if so why? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Yes - for having an argument with the barman who was attempting to curtail my freedom of expression and creativity.

I like the place so I hope he's forgotten by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

never barred, refused a few times though, but sure, that's a whole different ball game :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Barred once for a week for punching out a guy who tried to maul my then girlfriend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭norris_minor

Rarely gain entry to clubs here anymore. I just don't fit the conformity of faux high-end chav

Kitchen was awesome in the 90s til even that changed to accomodate the new clientelle. Popular demand, or bust :(

Never barred but got a punch for mauling some fellas missus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Barred for a year from the local 'club' here, they probably did me a favour, its a shìtehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

stovelid wrote: »
    Yes - for having an argument with the barman who was attempting to curtail my freedom of expression and creativity.

I like the place so I hope he's forgotten by now.

Smearing sh1t on walls does not fall under freedom of expression...
    Vicxas wrote: »
    Barred once for a week for punching out a guy who tried to maul my then girlfriend

For actually trying to maul her like a bear, or just kiss her? These things can be sorted with words.

Never, because I get horrendously drunk and just laugh at peoples faces, never even been kicked out of a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Barred from the one of the locals once for two weeks for acting the maggot as he put it:o, was made put ten wait at the main door of the pub when the bouncer arrived back with the charity box in front of acrowd and made me put a tenner in it to get back in :).

Been asked to leave an establishment on a few occassions but always let back in the next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

In the days that i drank i was Barred out of quite a few, Apparently my singing is not a good career move ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I managed to get barred from Barcode of all places. Can't even remember why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭twistedsoul

yeh for streaking through a pub :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

DrumSteve wrote: »

they thought the shadow on your lip was a 'tasche, when they discovered it wasn't, you had to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Beating someone to death with your bare hands is pretty much the only way to get barred from that knacker hole.

EL_Loco wrote: »
    they thought the shadow on your lip was a 'tasche, when they discovered it wasn't, you had to go.

Man I spent months cultivating that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Barred from a good few in Dublin and some outside Dublin.

It never lasts though. Bouncers forgive and forget.

Maybe they don't. Maybe the owners tell them to let me back in.

"He's putting my kids through college!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

once for decking a bouncer who was kicking my friend repeatedly in the head while he was on the ground knocked out cold...no choice but to punch him tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Matthew23

:mad:

yes i HAVE been barred,and it was from the place where all my mates go, and still go. it has actually made a big problem for me because they still all go there on saturday night and all i do is leave the presession and walk the streets drunk on my own waiting for them to come out.

i was bared for throwing pint glasses around and shouting, but if u know bars u know this kind of thing happens alot. the only reason it was a big deal was because their were all old people in that night and i scared them by shouting and throwing drink over them. the bar man freaked out and said i could never set foot in the place again or hed call the gards. :mad: easy for him to do and it has ruined alot of my fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

Eating dinner in one of the local pubs a couple of years back and was messing with the salt shaker, spilled some out onto the table and the owner looks over and says "no f***in drugs in here BOI" Tried explaining it was salt and I'd hardly be sniffing coke eating the spuds, he was having none of it, barred ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Smearing sh1t on walls does not fall under freedom of expression...

For actually trying to maul her like a bear, or just kiss her? These things can be sorted with words.

More like trying to put his hand up her skirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,674 ✭✭✭DirtyBollox

got barred from a place 3 times in 2 weeks (twice in 1 night). the bouncer just kept forgetting that he had barred me. once i got barred for the 3rd time i said screw it and never went back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

LaVail wrote: »
    Eating dinner in one of the local pubs a couple of years back and was messing with the salt shaker, spilled some out onto the table and the owner looks over and says "no f***in drugs in here BOI" Tried explaining it was salt and I'd hardly be sniffing coke eating the spuds, he was having none of it, barred ever since.

coke and spuds...hmm now there's a taught :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

I was throwing out of a pub for been caught with a nagin :o worst thing is I worked there for a few months last year :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Never barred but got a punch for mauling some fellas missus.
    bwahahahaha.
    nicely done.

Matthew23 wrote: »
    i was bared for throwing pint glasses around and shouting, but if u know bars u know this kind of thing happens alot. the only reason it was a big deal was because their were all old people in that night and i scared them by shouting and throwing drink over them. the bar man freaked out and said i could never set foot in the place again or hed call the gards. :mad: easy for him to do and it has ruined alot of my fun...

Throwing pint glasses around is normal:confused: If someone was throwing pint glasses aroound smashing them then you get barred or throwing drink all over me i wouldnt be having it thats not normal in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭cgordonfreeman

Never been barred, been removed a couple of times for being hammered or falling asleep.

Work as a doorman now and to be honest, unless someone did something serious like start a proper brawl or glass someone (which would warrant a lifetime ban) we'd keep them out for a few weeks and ask them to cop on in future. Most people would behave after that then.

Bygones etc.

Throwing pint glasses around is normal:confused: If someone was throwing pint glasses aroound smashing them then you get barred or throwing drink all over me i wouldnt be having it thats not normal in a pub.

well it is not normal i supose but it happens alot and i never got baned for it. the only reason i got baned this time was because i was "terorising the elderly". stupid barmen :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Went to the upstairs bar in a pub near my house to go for a piss. I was rotten there was no one there so I climbed over the counter in an attempt to steal a bottle of whiskey. Took the whiskey and went to climb back over the bar when I decided I might as well take a drink from the taps, I was leaned under the tap with the whiskey bottle hand operating it when the manager of the bar walked in. Needless to say I was barred.

well it is not normal i supose but it happens alot and i never got baned for it. the only reason i got baned this time was because i was "terorising the elderly". stupid barmen :mad:

It seems like a foolish thing to be doing to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

back in my younger days...before I had any class or knew what constituted a good nightclub the bouncers turned me away from copper face jacks and told me not to come back.

I told them (in a mildly drunken fashion I have to admit) it would give me no greater pleasure to never once darken the doors of Slapperface Jacks again.

I then departed from their doors rather pleased I had the wit to come up with such a retort in my condition and also relieved they hadn't taken it upon themselves to give me a couple of digs.

I have been true to my word to this day.

(it was puzzling though because for possibly the only time in my life I had not one but two very attractive ladies, one on each arm - I never got turned away from anywhere when I was on my own and drunk before or after that.....I think the fookers were jealous of my fate that particular evening)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

Never been barred...but I have been asked to leave, drinking my weight in vodka....not a good move!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Man I spent months cultivating that

You were born with that!

It seems like a foolish thing to be doing to be fair.

yeah like youve never done anything like that? :mad::mad::mad::mad: get real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Throwing pint glasses around is normal:confused:

It is, when you're from Darndale...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

You should pop into your local, Finches they play that instead of darts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

wow...culture clash or what...thats hilarious

no honestly, most people dont throw pint glasses or drink around the pub on a night out

theres the risk of lifetime facial injuries etc...I may occasionally accidentally drop one or spill some on someones ample bosom but thats a different matter entirely

methinks you're a wind up merchant....either way its been fun!

As I said in my previous post, I've been kicked out for getting hammered or falling asleep. Throwing glasses around is a sure way of getting the **** kicked out of you if you hit the wrong customer. So no, I've never done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

I can honestly say I, nor have I seen, people throwing around glasses, scumbaggish and dangerous thing to do which is not normal behaviour. You need to get real and cop on and stop drinking if all you're going to do is throw around glasses when you're drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

:mad:

yes i HAVE been barred,and it was from the place where all my mates go, and still go. it has actually made a big problem for me because they still all go there on saturday night and all i do is leave the presession and walk the streets drunk on my own waiting for them to come out.

you ruined it for yourself tbh. barman was right to make you a lifer for that display

yesno1234 wrote: »
    I can honestly say I, nor have I seen, people throwing around glasses, scumbaggish and dangerous thing to do which is not normal behaviour. You need to get real and cop on and stop drinking if all you're going to do is throw around glasses when you're drunk.

i could imagine you sitting in the corner, just sipping a fruit juice. step aside while we are having real fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Been kicked out a good few times.
    Never barred though thank feck

ive worked in a good few pubs over the last 15 years and i can tell you its not normal. if i was behind the sticks and you did that i would call the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Ive never been barred even though im a very messy drunk and when i go "auto pilot" or black out as you kids say, i can make a lot of enemies i dont know how or why as im not really there.
    Ah well those where my younger days I rarely go out anymore.

i could imagine you sitting in the corner, just sipping a fruit juice. step aside while we are having real fun!

real fun is having a laugh with your mates without making a show of yourself. the best pubs operate because they have a regular clientele that builds up a good relationship with the staff. you could slag the barman and call him every name under the sun and him do the same to you but you both know its just a bit of fun without getting out of hand

You should pop into your local, Finches they play that instead of darts.

:pac::pac::pac: im sure they do in there alright or the Swallows were they play shooting practice instead of darts, but i can gladly report they wouldnt be my locals for drinking.

You were born with that!

Haha you know it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Real fun? Ha I'm sure you'd have had some craic if you were in London the last few nights. Seems like you're sort of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭johnny_cash

Throwing pint glasses around the pub is normal :confused: I have never seen anybody throwing glasses around and i have been in some rough pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 pa1

Kind of barred from a pub near me, downed 2 naggins and walked in, called a pint and then the vodka hit me, got sick all over the floor.

i didn't stick around to see what the barstaff said, just got up and ran (stumbled) out the back door.

Haven't been back there since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

Icon in Limerick...
    I had no money so decided on a cheap night out and went on the rob, Bouncer catches me robbing a pint, casually walks over to me 'Right I seen what ya did put down the pint and leave'...
    I anxiously look left and right then just start sculling the pint in front of him!
    Next thing i'm being carried out by 3 bouncers and told never to come back..