Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pairc Tailteann capacity cut in half.

• 11-08-2011 3:35pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭

More H&S crap from the GAA.
    Pairc Tailteann had a capacity of nearly 30k at the start of the year. The Galway game got over 17k through the gates comfortably and the capacity was then cut to 20k for the Kildare game (which again it held easily).
    Despite this and the fact it held over 20k for the Louth game in 02 and over 25k for a Leinster semi final in the 90s, the GAA has decided it's now unsafe for Navan to hold more than 10k unless the grass banks behind both goals are done away with.

Now I'd be the first to admit that the stadium needs an upgrade but personally I feel the stand is more dangerous than the grass banks because of the steep steps. I think the grass banks are harmless (well the O'Mahoney's end anyway because of the railings) and are unique (as far as I know) for such a large ground.

I think forcing the capacity to be cut so drastically is very harsh, especially if the county board have to pay for the redevelopment themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Don't see the problem really, the grass banks are a joke and need to be done away with.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

fullstop wrote: »
    Don't see the problem really, the grass banks are a joke and need to be done away with.
    Can I ask why you think they're a joke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

have been there, extremely slippery in the rain. Not surprised at this at all.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I always thought that GAA ground capacity was decided on as part of an agreement between the GAA/Insurance/Fire Officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i remember the grassbanks in hyde park roscommon and in castlebar during the 80s, got quite dangerous in wet weather, you would be slipping trying to hold your balance

Can I ask why you think they're a joke?
    Well for a start they look ridiculous in a 'stadium' and secondly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

rossie1977 wrote: »
    i remember the grassbanks in hyde park roscommon and in castlebar during the 80s, got quite dangerous in wet weather, you would be slipping trying to hold your balance

I remember a very fine day at the hyde in the late eighties I cant be sure but think it was 88, anyway the point is eveyone sat on the grassbank and watched the match twas a mighty day.

So they should keep the grass banks incase the weather happens to be fine for a match? You can sit on a seat or step in the sunshine too you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

They aren't really. I was on them for 2 games this summer ( a wet day and a dry day).

Absolutely no danger.

They weren't slippery for the Kildare game this year which was a pretty wet day.

You must have a problem with your balance or a drink problem.
    So they should keep the grass banks incase the weather happens to be fine for a match? You can sit on a seat or step in the sunshine too you know...

No, they should keep the grass banks so Navan can host any qualifier match next year that requires a capacity of 10,000+

Can anyone give any reason other then they aren't aesthetically pleasing or, heaven forbid, someone might slip and get a wet arse!!!

Serious horsesh!t decision.

Jaysus ye all must be like Bambi on ice. Always liked the grass banks and it definitely isn't dangerous.
    If people don't want to use the banks there's a stand on one side and a concrete terrace on the other so I don't see the problem. It certainly isn't enough of a problem to cut the capacity to just 10000. I mean we got more than that for an O'Byrne cup game last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

Eh no where did I say that?????? can a man not reminisce about the old days at all at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭paul71

Jaysus ye all must be like Bambi on ice. Always liked the grass banks and it definitely isn't dangerous.
    If people don't want to use the banks there's a stand on one side and a concrete terrace on the other so I don't see the problem. It certainly isn't enough of a problem to cut the capacity to just 10000. I mean we got more than that for an O'Byrne cup game last year.

Did you say 10,000? Or was that a typo, 10,000 in Navan would be ridiculous surely.

paul71 wrote: »
    Did you say 10,000? Or was that a typo, 10,000 in Navan would be ridiculous surely.
    Nope not a typo.
    Here's the link.
    Its ridiculous that just over a month ago, Navan's official capacity was close to 30000 and now it's 10000.
    Can anyone who supports the removal of the grass banks give better reasons than 'it looks ridiculous' and 'I nearly slipped got grass stains on me'? To anyone who's been in PT, surely the ridiculously steep steps in the nearly 50 year old stand are infinitely more dangerous than some grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

mossyc123 wrote: »
    Can anyone give any reason other then they aren't aesthetically pleasing or, heaven forbid, someone might slip and get a wet arse!!!

Serious horsesh!t decision.
    Because insurance companies assess the risk associated with having large numbers of people on a grass bank and determine they will have to charge an excessively high premium to cover that risk. It would be extremely negligent (and probably illegal) for the GAA or county board to open the ground to more people than their insurance covers.

Blame it on the litigious world we live in but really they have no other option other than cut capacity.

Nope not a typo.
    Here's the link.
    Its ridiculous that just over a month ago, Navan's official capacity was close to 30000 and now it's 10000.
    Can anyone who supports the removal of the grass banks give better reasons than 'it looks ridiculous' and 'I nearly slipped got grass stains on me'? To anyone who's been in PT, surely the ridiculously steep steps in the nearly 50 year old stand are infinitely more dangerous than some grass.

Ok, thanks for the link, and I concur 10,000 is utterly ridiculous. Navan could comfortably accomodate 10,000 each bringing a sunlounger.

I attended games in the late 80s and 90s there which had crowds in excess of 25,000 and it was easily capable of accomdating those crowds.

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    Because insurance companies assess the risk associated with having large numbers of people on a grass bank and determine they will have to charge an excessively high premium to cover that risk. It would be extremely negligent (and probably illegal) for the GAA or county board to open the ground to more people than their insurance covers.

Blame it on the litigious world we live in but really they have no other option other than cut capacity.

The War on Common Sense claims another victim so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭big toenails

There'll thousands and thousands and thousands sneakily stolen here by the MCB because of this decision. The MCB are only just thrilled with this decision. Think of all the bumper games down the coming years that attendance will be numbered 10,000 when it may in fact be twice this. This is a masterstroke. Easy money from loyal supporters. Burn the place to the ground. That'l teach the ****ers for their lies and greed.

The Meath county board will lose money not gain. Ticket prices are falling and reduced capicity will exasperate that, additionally games will actually go to other venues.

With capacity officially reduced to 10,000 the Meath County Board won't be able to claim with any credibility the ability to host any Qualifier games next year.

Navan as a neutral venue for the likes of a Louth v Kildare Leinster C'Ship game would also be out of the equation.

If they don't get this sorted over the winter, Meath could lose a fair bit of gate revenue next summer and beyond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

I must say as a Dub I love going to Pairc Tailteann be it for an IC game or more regularly for a club championship match.

It's unfortunate that this has happened and I can see both sides of the argument. I was at the recent Meath V Galway match and maybe this stemmed from it? As I remember the start was delayed by 10 minutes and they had to open up the gates on the terrace side to let spectators in because they couldn't get them through the turnstiles quick enough. There's possibly more to this than the grass banks. Maybe it's the ability to safely get that number of spectators into the venue in whatever period of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

some kip they'd wanna improve it and do up the facilities

Frank, the reason the Galway game was delayed was because so many people left it too late to get into Navan and the traffic was bedlam.
    For the Kildare game, there were more people at it but no problems with the game starting on time.

And Pete, I take your point but would it not be the Meath County Board who would be paying this insurance? If that's the case, why is it Croke Park who are forcing them to remove the grass banks? Also, why would they insist on removing the grass banks and not make any demands to redevelop the ancient stand?

I've very fond memories of the grass banks. When I was a kid, I'd bring a football to games to play with on them and half time was usually spent rolling down them. I'd be disappointed if they were done away with for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

it will probably mean more games at croker , i.e. more money for them , the meath co. board will lose out more often on hosting games and the fans having to travel to qf games outside their county meaning more cost for them,

Maybe they're paving the way for this??

That's appalling by the GAA. Meath home games in Dublin? Do the heads in Croke Park have a brain cell between them?

DP

An Uncle of mine told me about this a few months ago.

He's friends with someone involved with the Dublin Spring Series idea.

This is a follow on from the Spring Series, the novelty of which will wear off in a few seasons they reckon.

They hope to play Dublin League games in this new Stadium in future seasons.

Make no mistake, this is a project that is exclusively for the benefit of Dublin GAA.

They don't give a damn about any of the other counties.

They are only interested in competing with Leinster Rugby and see the Dublin Inter-County teams as a means to do this.

Meath will be starved out of Navan.

Kildare won't be given any funding for Newbridge either and Louth may forget about their proposed project (Somewhere in the Wee County, just off the M1 would be a great venue for a neutral ground between Ulster and Leinster sides IMO)

If this goes ahead, it'll be a sad day for the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

Remember the old hill in Clones.Was some atmosphere on hot july day with 35,000 there.No character there now at all.

Save our Grass Banks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

definitley smacks of paving the way to one common venue between five or six counties for qualifiers.fair enough i dont dispute pairc tailtenn needs a facelift.not just the grass banks but the toilets on the terrace side are a joke and the stand is brutal.but to cut the capacity to 10k is way ott surely it would easily hold even up to 20k?if the meath county board and in fact kildare louth wicklow etc stand by and let their grounds fall by the wayside for someones pet project out in blanchardstown or somewhere well they should be barred from all gaa related activity for life!

and on this new 25k capacity ground,surely parnell park isnt that far off that is it?dublin arent long finished doing it up surely letting it go by the wayside too is a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

This must be a joke.If theres one thing the gaa doesnt need its another ground.Wht about the white elephants in Portlaoise and Tullamore.Surely Kildare and wicklow could use one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Would building a simple terrace be possible... can't imagine it'd be a huge cost.. and could easily get the capacity back up to somewhere near where it was...

I know it'd obviously down to insurance but it really is ridiculous that these sort of measures have to be taken today in case some fecker "slips" and decides to sue the GAA despite the GAA offering much "safer" concrete terraces if you wanted to use them...

maybe something like "enter here at your own risk" disclaimer or something could be introduced...

but cutting the capacity to 10,000 is a terrible decision by the GAA... there going to have to do something about it....

rpurfield wrote: »
    definitley smacks of paving the way to one common venue between five or six counties for qualifiers.fair enough i dont dispute pairc tailtenn needs a facelift.not just the grass banks but the toilets on the terrace side are a joke and the stand is brutal.but to cut the capacity to 10k is way ott surely it would easily hold even up to 20k?if the meath county board and in fact kildare louth wicklow etc stand by and let their grounds fall by the wayside for someones pet project out in blanchardstown or somewhere well they should be barred from all gaa related activity for life!

and on this new 25k capacity ground,surely parnell park isnt that far off that is it?dublin arent long finished doing it up surely letting it go by the wayside too is a joke

Parnell Park is deceptively small. It's capacity is only 13,500.

This list of GAA stadiums and their capacities makes for interesting reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Parnell Park is deceptively small. It's capacity is only 13,500.

This list of GAA stadiums and their capacities makes for interesting reading.

honestly thought it was a bit bigger than that now.good list that fair play.just had a closer look 70k in carrick on shannon thats some ground!