Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glanza S insurance help

• 11-08-2011 11:42am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, first time driver looking to insure glanza s.

Obviously finding it difficult to insure with it being an import. Anyone know of good insurance companies and brokers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

try chill.ie , but obviously you will find it hard on the wallet..but if you have a NCB it should lower the price abit...or you could get a glanza rep the lloks of a glanza with out the cost...:D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2409318

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

try chill.ie , but obviously you will find it hard on the wallet..but if you have a NCB it should lower the price abit...or you could get a glanza rep the lloks of a glanza with out the cost...:D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2409318

That car pretty much is a Glanza S. I don't think the S had the bonnet scoop though

me thinks its a "starlet" with a glanza body....:D....i think he looking for a glanza s....:)

I'm not too up on my Toyota's now, but what's the difference between a Glanza S and a Starlet with a Glanza kit on it.?

they have a different name:P .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

The Starlet Glanza is the sports version of the P90 generation Starlet, and is the successor to the 80 series normally aspirated Starlet 1.3 Gi and Starlet GT Turbo. The Glanza S was powered by the naturally aspirated 1331 cc 4E-FE and the Glanza V was powered by the turbocharged 1331 cc 4E-FTE. The 4E-FE used in the Glanza S generated 85 PS (63 kW; 84 hp) which, for the extremely light Starlet, was enough to propel the car from 0–100 km/h in 9.6 seconds. The turbo 4E-FTE used in the Glanza V generated 133 PS (98 kW; 131 hp) at 6400 rpm with a 0–100 km/h time of 8.3 seconds (factory brochure stats).
    In December 1996, the Glanza S Limited was released. It has standard body kits same as Glanza V Turbo except the scooped-hood and the engine did not have a Turbo. A lightweight version of the Glanza V was also available without air conditioner and electric windows to keep the car as light as possible, the idea being that it would make an ideal track day car.
    The Glanza S and Glanza V were not sold in Europe and were only available on the Japanese market, although some used private imports made their way to the UK and New Zealand. Recently the Glanza has become a popular import in Ireland for its efficient engine and impressive power outputs.

From wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Starlet

i suppous you could get the glanza s and insure it with quinn

Glanza S = Japanese import 4EFE (non-turbo) with 85bhp
    The S will probably confuse the hell out of Quinn as they are muppets.:rolleyes::D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

This helps me in no way track down an insurance company that does imports for less than 2 grand.

i suppous you could get the glanza s and insure it with quinn

Glanza S = Japanese import 4EFE (non-turbo) with 85bhp
    The S will probably confuse the hell out of Quinn as they are muppets.:rolleyes::D:D

Do you think id be hear asking if I hadnt already tried quinn!

What age are you? An import for your first car is going to cost.

What do you want to hear? Start calling every insurance company and ask for a quote. I paid 1900 on a 1L Ibiza as my first car when I was 19 so if you're about that age I can't see you insuring a Glanza for less

maxxie wrote: »
    Do you think id be hear asking if I hadnt already tried quinn!

TRY CHILL.IE:cool:

cheers mate, tried them 2400

no problemoh , although 2400 seems a lot still....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

rip off
    and here is a one litre that will laugh at the glanza
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2229261

irish and cheap to insure

jimmynokia wrote: »
    rip off

ROCKET IN MY POCKET:pac:

isint it something like 0-60 in 6 or 7 sec???:)

ROCKET IN MY POCKET:pac:

isint it something like 0-60 in 6 or 7 sec???:)

they are animals yeah i had two of them myself unreal for the engine and the boost out of them puts anything to shame savage car

they are very rare to come by now a days id say...alot of them got abused ...by boy racers ... or so i heard:eek:

that one is mint my mates cousin owns it had a spin in it its super quick

oh i know that one is in great condition , but im just talking about thiem i general...

ah yeah i know that your right most of them was wrote off think there is only 20 left in Europe now

2O? collectors item :D

they are a collectors item spot on.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

20 At most left, he should be asking bout ten grand, tell him to up the price:D

liam7831 wrote: »
    20 At most left, he should be asking bout ten grand, tell him to up the price:D

its going up alright :D still people will want it for nothing:eek:

The last ten posts have been totally off topic, if ye want to talk about Charades then make a new thread or take it to PM

ok so chill.ie has the cheapist insurence for the glanza s:D

rip off

the hack of it!!!

Ha where is yours i smell the jealousy from here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Ha where is yours i smell the jealousy from here!

In fairness it's a terrible lookin yoke

SV wrote: »
    In fairness it's a terrible lookin yoke

In fairness you have not a clue about cars and this old school gem that laughs at at cars today remember its a one litre that can wipe out most cars at take off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

In fairness you have not a clue about cars and this old school gem that laughs at at cars today remember its a one litre that can wipe out most cars at take off

I don't care how fast it is, it looks like shíte.
    That has nothing to do with knowing about cars ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 mackinfella

Have you tried brittoninsurance.com? I found then half decent.. although if its an import it will need an nct.. they will give you 28 days to nct it... hope this helps

Thread Closed