Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sleep Deprivation

• 10-08-2011 11:41pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I was slightly annoyed tonight to learn that Guiness World Records don't certify attempts at sleep deprivation for health reasons. The current contested record stands at 11.5 days or 276 hours.

I was thinking of going ahead with an even 12 days just to raise money. Just asking though, what's the longest you all have gone without sleep?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Can't sleep, clown will eat me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

what's the longest you all have gone without sleep?

About 4 days.

Man, those drugs were strong.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I used to go two day without sleep regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I used to stay awake for four maybe five days straight... now i sleep everyday thanks to medication :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

about 14 days.....but then I woke up and realised I was only dreamin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

12 days!? You'll go bananas after about 5

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

I used to go two day without sleep regularly.

likewise, id work all weekend and drink in between shifts and only go to sleep on monday night

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Danbo! wrote: »
    12 days!? You'll go bananas after about 5

Hallucinations start to kick in around the 5 day mark. Cognitive abillities and co-ordination deminish over time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

For "health reasons"?
    I'm sure there's records for stuff a lot worse for your health. It's probably too hard to judge properly: If you use some drugs to help or something, is it counted, if you kinda "nod off" for less than a second and wake back up straight away does it count, do you have to keep your eyes open (apart from blinking) the whole time, people sleeping without it being obvious, etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

don't do it op you'll kill yourself

I've every intention of. I'll be checking in with a Doctor soon enough to have someone to keep a check.

Was there not some TV show before about this? Some Big Brother styled shite I believe. I think it was Channel 4 that had it. It was called 'Shattered' I think. People just had to stay awake, you weren't allowed close your eyes for longer than 10 seconds, person who stays awake the longest wins prize money (but everytime someone closes their eyes for 10 seconds, the prize money gets reduced)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I once stayed awake for 20 minutes....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Didn't feel too inclined to sleep (or eat, for that matter) for the full 3 days and nights at Indiependence this year. I reckon that's the longest I've gone.

You haven't a hope of going 12 days, OP; I doubt you'd make it to half that with an unlimited supply of crystal meth. If you even make it close to your goal, enjoy your psychotic episode.

What's the longest you've gone yourself, out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Danbo! wrote: »
    You'll go bananas after about 5
    I can do ok on 5-6hrs midweek but makeup for it with serious snoozing on the weekend. Id be a murderous b!tch even with only 24hrs of no continuous sleep nevermind days upon days. Are ya mad???

I look forward to weekend lie ons!

Why why why would you do that to yourself?? Sleeeeepppp zzzzz......!!!!

anniehoo wrote: »
    Why why why would you do that to yourself?? Sleeeeepppp zzzzz......!!!!

For charity. Going to be painful but worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

F*** THAT.

Fair play to rabble, rabble rabble rabble. Rabble rabble. Rabble. But there are plenty of other records out there to be broken.

In conclusion, F*** that

& Good Luck.

Edit: On top of that, you do realise in fact you are but an animal, and need sleep regulary ? It would be a shame if something were to happen. Kind of reminds of this story in a way. In the way that you're putting your health at risk for no real good reason. As I rabbled, rabble rabble, it's great you're doing something for rabble, but not at the risk of your rabble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

5 days straight before when I was about 19. Started seeing things and got chest pains. Slept for about 18 hours straight after that, and felt grand. Not recommended tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭hare05

Did 8 days, bout of insomnia. At the end of it I slept about 35 hours straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Was there not some TV show before about this? Some Big Brother styled shite I believe. I think it was Channel 4 that had it. It was called 'Shattered' I think. People just had to stay awake, you weren't allowed close your eyes for longer than 10 seconds, person who stays awake the longest wins prize money (but everytime someone closes their eyes for 10 seconds, the prize money gets reduced)?
    Yes! I remember that! In 2004! Shattered was the name of the show. I remember they used superglue and everything. And it was £1,000 per 10 secs I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭alcomoholic

hmmm if you're going to try and break the record it wouldnt be recognised anyway, all those steroid hormones you're taking will skew your need/desire to sleep so staying awake will be easier for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Pingu-D

i go through bouts of insomnia every other week for at least the last 6 years (haven slept in 3 days now hoping to get some kip tonight at some stage) longest iv went was a week or so jus for curiosities sake and i can tell you i will never do it again. Reaction time was zero, thinking and logic was all over the shop, hallucinations kicked in and i was basically a glorified zombie.

unless there was the promise of a years supply of joy and sex on tape i wouldn even consider trying for 12 days.

think of it like this they use sleep deprivation as a form of torture like why do that to yourself when you wont even get ur mug in the Guinness book of records :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

I go through bouts of insomnia, especially when I'm stressed. It's not so bad now but when I was a teenager it was at its worst. The year I was doing the leaving cert was a total nightmare. I was getting very little sleep that whole year. I'd go 4 or 5 days without sleeping at all. When I did sleep - I only slept for 4 hours at the most. I was like a zombie most of the time. I was terrified I was going to fail my exams because of the insomnia. I was really surprised when I did so well - didn't fail anything, 2 A's, only 1 D and the rest B's & C's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

4 days, with daily visits to the Hospice in Harolds Cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

4 days was my longest and I have to say I have no desire to do it again. Towards the end I was having micro sleeps where I would drift off for 20-30 seconds and wake in a fit of panic every time. When I eventually put the head down to sleep I was having heart palpitations and a constant feeling like I was driving over a massive hump in the road, like my heart was going from the pit of my stomach and then up my throat.

Its not natural to go without sleep and if you have never tried it before I suggest building up to it by going a day or two without sleep and take it from there, otherwise you will end up in the guinness book of records as the loudest snorer ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Pingu-D wrote: »
    .... Reaction time was zero, thinking and logic was all over the shop, hallucinations kicked in and i was basically a glorified zombie
    Thats pretty quick... :pac:

Did 80 hours once myself, after 3 days drinkin vodka and redbull, not recomended, serious paranoia and hearin' voices goin on, got a few seriously strong sleepin tablets, only slept 4 or 5 hours, but felt a whole lot better,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

lol, enjoy your dementia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

2 and a half days was the most I could go, I was having a bad trip.