Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Germany - Brazil

• 10-08-2011 8:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭

Just watching the friendly between Germany and Brazil, which is currently 2-0 for Germany.

Looking at it I have to say that the germans seem to have an impressive amount of youngsters coming through. IMO they will def. be a force to be reckoned with for the next few European and World Cups.

So far they have been showing up the Brazilians at time, and are better on the ball and far more creative then the Brazilians (playing Neymar, who looks a bit lost).

Esp. Goetze shows what kind of talent he is. Only 19 years of age he started today and scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭DubDani

Just as I wrote the post Robinho scored via penalty and makes it 2-1.

3 -1 Germany scored by Schuerrle (another new youngster coming through the ranks).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,554 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Inevitable that Barca/Madrid/United snap up Götze and the league loses another top talent.

Scary to think how good he'll be in 2 years when he's only 21 :eek:

Schürrle makes it 3-1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,405 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

This Brazil team if very lacking. I know they are building for the WC but I dont see at this moment in time how they'll be contenders for WC

On the other side, Germany absolutely look brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Jesus, I fear for us when we meet this German team.

Looking at the Age of the German Team that started today there were 6 players 23 or under starting:

Neuer 25
    Lahm 27
    Hummels 22
    Badstuber 22
    Traesch 23
    Kroos 21
    Schweinsteiger 27
    Goetze 19
    Podolski 26
    Mueller 21
    Gomez 26

Klose 33
    Schuerrle 20
    Boateng 22

And most of the rest of the bench also seems to be in their early 20s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Nice strike for Neymar to make it 3-2. Neuer maybe should have done better beaten near post but was going at a fair speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

That looks a talented young German side. Damn u Ronaldo for putting them in our group. Germans willl walk it and it's play off time at best again if we are gonna get to WC2014.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

DubDani wrote: »
    Goetze
    Goatse? :o

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Goatse? :o

Götze?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,832 ✭✭✭✭JPA

How good is Goetze? I have never seen him play.
    Beckenbauer has compared him to Messi.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/14436683.stm

Germany legend Franz Beckenbauer believes his country have unearthed the next Lionel Messi in the form of Borussia Dortmund starlet Mario Goetze.

The 19-year-old is earning rave reviews ahead of his country's friendly with Brazil on Wednesday.

And Beckenbauer believes the midfielder has the skills to rival Argentina and Barcelona playmaker Messi.

"It is not possible to stop Mario Goetze," he said. "He has the same assets as Messi."

Goetze played a starring role in Borussia Dortmund's 3-1 win over Hamburg on Friday, their opening game in defence of the Bundesliga title.

He set up Kevin Grosskreutz for the first goal before adding the second with a deft chip.

MARIO GOETZE FACTFILE
    Continue reading the main story
    Goetze made his international debut at the age of 18, against Sweden
    The youngest German international since Uwe Seeler
    Part of the Dortmund team that won the Bundesliga last season
    Germany Football Association technical director Matthias Sammer has labelled him "one of the best talents that we've ever had".
    His talents have already earned him six caps for the full national team, and Beckenbauer is excited by his country's latest prodigy.

"There is no one playing better than him," he said. "He runs through opponents as though they aren't there.

"He is an instinctive footballer, just like Messi."

Goetze is taking the lavish praise in his stride, but has admitted his new-found fame does have some difficulties.

"Of course, it is a great honour to get such praise," he said.

"I have learned I can no longer just do anything I want. Sometimes it sucks when you just want peace and quiet to do something normal like go to the cinema.

"People just see me as a footballer and want to ask me about it."

Dortmund midfielder Sven Bender, who is also in the squad to face Brazil, added: "He raises the standard of those around him, he controls the ball as though he has a magnet in his boot."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

He is very promising but only Franz would say such a thing. Tbh this guy has come out with a few right clangers over the years and it doesn't seem to get better with age. Stupid thing to say as it's not true and also it doesn't do the kid any favours. Beckenbauer likes to talk all things German up a bit. Can't take him serious for quite some time.

Its probably not fair on the young lad to pass judgement on him at such an early agebut I don't think he'sgoing to be a Messi. Mostly because there is no one like Messi. Full. Stop.

Having said that he is probably in the Ôzil bracket and maybe even a touch more effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Boskowski wrote: »
    He is very promising but only Franz would say such a thing. Tbh this guy has come out with a few right clangers over the years and it doesn't seem to get better with age. Stupid thing to say as it's not true and also it doesn't do the kid any favours. Beckenbauer likes to talk all things German up a bit. Can't take him serious for quite some time.

They're a completely different type of player and while it's probably not fair on the young lad to pass judgement on him at such an early age I don't think he's a Messi. Mostly because there is no one like Messi. Full. Stop.

There is only one Messi but Goetze's rise is unprecedented in the modern age - he could be the best German player of his generation if he continues the way he has. For the 2009/2010 season he had a handful of games, now he's close to locking down a national starting place, has a league title and only turned 19 last month - forget the comparison, you're still understating the kid.

He's incredible and I wouldn't say he's "completely different" from Messi, although if there's one aspect he'd need to improve it's his goalscoring. He'll be a Bayern/United/Barca/City/Real player in a years time I reckon. Best teenager in the world right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Its probably not fair on the young lad to pass judgement on him at such an early agebut I don't think he'sgoing to be a Messi. Mostly because there is no one like Messi. Full. Stop.

Having said that he is probably in the Ôzil bracket and maybe even a touch more effective.

He said he was similar to Messi, not in his league or as good as him.

Ye I though about it for a moment and they're not that different at all. Hence the Ninja edit. ;)

He is very very promising I just don't like this sensationalist crap where every new promising young guy has to be the new this and that. Also hope he stays in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Ye I though about it for a moment and they're not that different at all. Hence the Ninja edit. ;)

He is very very promising I just don't like this sensationalist crap where every new promising young guy has to be the new this and that. Also hope he stays in Germany.

This new German side seems to be talked up a lot. How do you see them faring at next year's European Championships?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

You didnt ask me but I'll give it a go! It'll be Germany or Spain in my opinion. The youngsters are amazing - Goetze, Hummels, Schurrle, Holtby, Gundogan, Grosskreutz, Marin (bit of a showpony) are all quality, hell even 17-year-old Draxler could make the squad if he has a breakthrough season. Only problem I can foresee is a lack of quality, world class strikers coming through to the same extent. They still rely on Klose to an extent and outside of Gomez, the best Bundesliga strikers aren't German

I would see them being one of the contenders for the title. Semi finalist or so, maybe better, but it's tight at the very top so wouldn't want to make any predictions after that. The bookies have them evens with or just behind Spain.

Tbh that's what you would expect from a good German side looking at their credentials anyway. if you look back at how often we came second or third with a crap squad you'd have to make us one of the favourites because we actually have a talented side with depth again. Whay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

They could do with someon ereally top class to play beside Hummels as well at the back. They were a bit dodgy back there in the last World Cup.

I'd love to see them win it mind you. Played the best football at the World Cup of any team IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

You didnt ask me but I'll give it a go! It'll be Germany or Spain in my opinion. The youngsters are amazing - Goetze, Hummels, Schurrle, Holtby, Gundogan, Grosskreutz, Marin (bit of a showpony) are all quality, hell even 17-year-old Draxler could make the squad if he has a breakthrough season. Only problem I can foresee is a lack of quality, world class strikers coming through to the same extent. They still rely on Klose to an extent and outside of Gomez, the best Bundesliga strikers aren't German

thanks.

I have noticed that Gomez does not score enough goals against the big nations, despite being a prolific club scorer. Opposite of Klose, it seems to be.

@speedboatchase

I know its only a friendly but I thought Hummels was massive tonight.

Ye there's no new finisher making a real breakthrough yet but that wouldn't worry me too much. The strength of Germany always has been coherent teamplay. Makes up for a lot.

@flah

Boateng is actually a central defender by trade. He would be your man to partner Hummels.

thanks.

I have noticed that Gomez does not score enough goals against the big nations, despite being a prolific club scorer. Opposite of Klose, it seems to be.

I know it's totally irrational but I have difficulties taking a player seriously whose (weird) hairdo is always perfect(ly weird).lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,554 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

I put money on Germany to win in 2012 and 2014 about 16 months ago. I did a treble at the time for 2010, 2012 and 2014 but that's already done :o.

Can't remember what odds I got but I'm looking at getting well over a grand back! C'mon the Germans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Goetze, Grosskreutz, Hummels...just amazing lads they are and the key to Borussia Dortmund's recent success. I'm sure, they are closely watched by some big clubs in Spain or England, but I hope, they will stay in Dortmund :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

There is only one Messi but Goetze's rise is unprecedented in the modern age - he could be the best German player of his generation if he continues the way he has.

Are you serious? What about the likes of Pedro, Muller, Rooney etc? Pedro and Muller had particularly amazing starts to their career.

I've been keeping any eye on the Germans for a good while now. I really like the style of play, how the clubs are ran, facilities for supporters and the younger players coming through. In fact one of my first boards threads was all about how I hope Germany would win the World Cup and that German club teams would start reaching the last 4 of the Champions League.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

@flah

Boateng is actually a central defender by trade. He would be your man to partner Hummels.

What about Howedes, isnt he supposed to be given the captaincy at Schalke this season, or does he usually play at right back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Are you serious? What about the likes of Pedro, Muller, Rooney etc? Pedro and Muller had particularly amazing starts to their career.

I've been keeping any eye on the Germans for a good while now. I really like the style of play, how the clubs are ran, facilities for supporters and the younger players coming through. In fact one of my first boards threads was all about how I hope Germany would win the World Cup and that German club teams would start reaching the last 4 of the Champions League.

If that young team, Borussia Dortmund has, can deal with both defending the national title and playing in the CL, there might be a surprise in the next final. It will be played in Munich, so was the final in 1997...and guess, who won ;)