Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3rd XV

• 10-08-2011 2:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭

hey lads i play on a 3rd xv, not going to mention any clubs or anything, i only got into rugby recently, i love it. My skills are, well, **** because im 25 and only started last year. however in the club im in, i feel anyway, the 1sts and 2nds kind of look down on us as if we shouldnt be there in the first place, I understand these lads have been playing most of their lives but is there any need for the superiority?? i guess this is just a rant more than anything else anyone else feel the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

newby.204 wrote: »
    hey lads i play on a 3rd xv, not going to mention any clubs or anything, i only got into rugby recently, i love it. My skills are, well, **** because im 25 and only started last year. however in the club im in, i feel anyway, the 1sts and 2nds kind of look down on us as if we shouldnt be there in the first place, I understand these lads have been playing most of their lives but is there any need for the superiority?? i guess this is just a rant more than anything else anyone else feel the same?

Ya I f-ing hate the 3rd XV as well. Waste of resources... :p

Nah to be honest never seen it. I'd be under the impression that people would be happy with more numbers turning up an playing Rugby. Might just be the attitude of people in your own club. A lot of lads in my club just play for the social element and thats grand. Whether you're on the 1sts or the 3rds its all a bit of craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Some clubs have a reputation as being a little snobby or unfriendly. I have come across it before. Its a real pity as club spirit is why I particularly love my club. You'll see 1sts coming down to J4 matches and visa versa. Everyone gets along really well. As long as you have the craic with your team and enjoy playing with them, then screw the rest. Use it as an 'us against them' mentality. It has served teams well in the past :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

To be honest the only time I've really encountered this if the club in question is the type that buys in a lot of players and it only arises because the senior lads won't know guys on the junior sides because they haven't played through from underage.

Edit: Just to say even then, I doubt it's a case of lads looking down it's more a case of them just not knowing many on the junior sides and a lack of integration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

3rd XVs are basically used as human tackling bags for the first XV. Well at my club we never stretched as far as 3rds but we had a 2nds team which I captained when I was an under20, and every week in training that's what we were used as. We would make our tackles, not too hard, couldn't challenge in the lineout/ruck, couldn't touch the ball and if we did we'd get a right bollicking. I used to get bored and tell my forwards to pinch the ball and get it back to me and then I'd sprint down the wing and chip&chase over a winger much to the anger of our head coach.

I used to love winding him up.