Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roundabouts and circles

• 09-08-2011 10:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭

I have something on my mind a lot lately and it leaves me scared for the future.

You know how there will be though budgets coming up to plug the deficit hole. This will mean taxes and charges and cuts. Is this not going to be counter productive because people will have less to spend in the local economy. This coupled with many people in debt with loans to service. Is it not going to lead to higher unemployment?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

you tricked me into a recession thread with promise of roundabouts :mad:

Yep.. It's a bit of an issue alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Ah sure you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

I thought this thread was going to be the OP complaining about people doing doughnuts or drifting at roundabouts :(
    Thread title disappoints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

The government need to indicate their intentions

FatherLen wrote: »
    you tricked me into a recession thread with promise of roundabouts :mad:

It's always crushingly dissapointing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I have something on my mind a lot lately and it leaves me scared for the future.

You know how there will be though budgets coming up to plug the deficit hole. This will mean taxes and charges and cuts. Is this not going to be counter productive because people will have less to spend in the local economy. This coupled with many people in debt with loans to service. Is it not going to lead to higher unemployment?

Apparently, collectively as a nation we have more than enough in savings to dig us out of the financial hole we are in but with the economy being so insecure naturally people are afraid to spend what they have in the event of becoming redundant themselves/some are waiting for prices to fall further. I'm not saying people should rush out and spend their life savings to save Ireland, far from it, but the government need to create a more stable environment before people will splash out and spend, spend, spend.

Also, are roundabouts not circles?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Is it possible to ignore the OP's question and just talk about circles and roundabouts instead.

I have strong opinions on both.

Thread is now about Roundabouts.

I quite like this one.
    http://www.swindonweb.com/uploaded_files/1167/images/magi01.jpg

I like the simple elegant grace of this one.

Looks more like some sort of intelligence/drving test that thing ^^ (post #10)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Ah sure you'll be grand.

Few naggins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Thread is now about Roundabouts.

I quite like this one.
    http://www.swindonweb.com/uploaded_files/1167/images/magi01.jpg

That roundabout is absolutely insane. I wouldn't like to go though that on my driving test.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Was trying to find one more of the roundabout and not just the fountain, but you get the idea.
    http://www.planetware.com/i/photo/singapore-sin341.jpg

Handy Tip – If you don’t have a compass handy you can use a jam jar lid to draw a circle.
    Coins can be used too, but only for smaller circles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Last time I was in Paris I spent about half an hour looking at the carnage here. Roughly 6 lanes, no markings, traffic going in literally every direction. I've heard that if you get car insurance in France you're not insured on the roundabout at the Arc de Triumph since it's so mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Last time I was in Paris I spent about half an hour looking at the carnage here. Roughly 6 lanes, no markings, traffic going in literally every direction. I've heard that if you get car insurance in France you're not insured on the roundabout at the Arc de Triumph since it's so mad!
    I was in Paris a few years back and went to go to the Arc be Triumph. Didn't know at the time that there is a tunnel leading to it. So the whole family went wandering across that mental roundabout, dodging crazy French drivers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

swings and roundabouts, its SWINGS and roundabouts OP

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

My favourite thing about roundabouts is that in America, they call the "traffic circles".

What's yours?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I drove the Champs-Élysées last year.... jaysus was it a nightmare! Got cut up twice on one roundabout. I was in one of the middle lanes and some van man on the outside decided he wanted to be on the inside and vice versa. Me stuck in the middle not knowing what to do so just continued as if nothing happened, seemed to be the done thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭carefulnow100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I've heard stories that the magic roundabout in Galway is to be replaced with a junction using traffic lights. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

Those crappy compasses you get in the cheap geometry sets are bad for drawing circles. They always move around and you end up with a squiggle on the page

roundabouts are a pain but the ones that are simply circles painted on the ground at worse

I drove the Champs-Élysées last year.... jaysus was it a nightmare! Got cut up twice on one roundabout. I was in one of the middle lanes and some van man on the outside decided he wanted to be on the inside and vice versa. Me stuck in the middle not knowing what to do so just continued as if nothing happened, seemed to be the done thing.

i ran across the arc de triomph thing twice - typical drunken irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

If I may get back on topic for a second: one useful concept is called "counter-cyclical fiscal policy". In plain English: the government should do the opposite of what the rest of the economy is doing.

When the economy is booming, more people are working, and so the government can afford to spend less on e.g. social services - which is fine because more people are working and can afford private health insurance. They should raise more in taxes during a boom, which also serves to slow the boom. e.g. higher property taxes might have prevented the housing boom from happening. (No, I'm not saying that was all there was to it!)

Then, when the boom is over, the government has built up a handy surplus on the balance sheet, which it can use for social services and in infrastructure projects. Less traffic on the roads? Good: fix the roads. And so on.

If that doesn't sound like the last decade, you're spot-on. Some countries did get it right, or just about e.g. Germany, Canada, China, Brazil. The governments in Ireland, the UK, USA, and so on did not practice a counter-cyclical fiscal policy: they did not make hay while the sun was shining. Thanks to tax breaks etc. during the booms, they entered recessions already in the red, and it was only going to get worse. So now they have to borrow from outside to try and spend their way out of recession, and we can see how well that's going: downgrades, higher interest rates on new and existing loans, which is lost money flowing out of the country.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

My favourite type of roundabout is the ones they paint on the road, coz you can drive over them, rather than have to veer around them.

Not sure if that's technically legal though, so always check your rear view mirror before doing so.

bnt wrote: »
    If I may get back on topic for a second: one useful concept is called "counter-cyclical fiscal policy". In plain English: the government should do the opposite of what the rest of the economy is doing.

When the economy is booming, more people are working, and so the government can afford to spend less on e.g. social services - which is fine because more people are working and can afford private health insurance. They should raise more in taxes during a boom, which also serves to slow the boom. e.g. higher property taxes might have prevented the housing boom from happening. (No, I'm not saying that was all there was to it!)

Then, when the boom is over, the government has built up a handy surplus on the balance sheet, which it can use for social services and in infrastructure projects. Less traffic on the roads? Good: fix the roads. And so on.

If that doesn't sound like the last decade, you're spot-on. Some countries did get it right, or just about e.g. Germany, Canada, China, Brazil. The governments in Ireland, the UK, USA, and so on did not practice a counter-cyclical fiscal policy: they did not make hay while the sun was shining. Thanks to tax breaks etc. during the booms, they entered recessions already in the red, and it was only going to get worse. So now they have to borrow from outside to try and spend their way out of recession, and we can see how well that's going: downgrades, higher interest rates on new and existing loans, which is lost money flowing out of the country.
    Fyp.

I've reported your post for trying to drag this discussion on circles and roundabouts off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭teol

Germans don't understand roundabouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

Holiday ro-oooooooooo-oad, holiday ro-oooooooooo-oad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

teol wrote: »

Do they not have them over there? bar this one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Saila wrote: »
    swings and roundabouts, its SWINGS and roundabouts OP

Think the OP was having a case of trial and miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I was on a roundabout once. In a car, like. AFAIK you're not allowed to walk around them.

As Starbelgrade says you can plough straight thru* them in the wee hours

*I accept no responsibility for loss or injury if mimicked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

teol wrote: »
    Some Germans do, actually:

:cool:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Saw roundabouts and thought this would be heavy stuff.

I read on and appreciate your economic concerns.I agree..its tough times at the moment.:(

Hows the spot on yer arse ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

FatherLen wrote: »

So the entirety of Hyrule was surrounded by a roundabout in Malaysia all along!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

This thread reminds me of a hilarious game the cousins out the country play. Yeh get 5 or 6 lads with cars, the more the merrier, and keep driving around a roundabout not letting anyone in. Never laughed as hard before in my life. Watching the reactions of people on the outside and their feeble attempts to gain entry onto the roundabout wad just priceless.