Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever found something seemingly awesome while rotten drunk?

• 08-08-2011 10:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭

The brothers were out on a session recently. They rattled out of the pub in a mouldified state and proceeded up the alley onto the main street. At the corner, in the shadow of the streetlight, they made a wonderful discovery-a bucket!! An argument ensued as to who, in fact, spotted the bucket first, and in the scramble for rights of ownership, said bucket was pulled between the two for a few minutes. Eventually, it was decided that brother 1 was indeed the rightful owner (mainly because he threatened brother 2 with the crutches he was on for his banjaxed knee). So he hangs the handle of the bucket on the hand grip of the crutch and swings himself along home to his OH.

He bursts through the door roaring to her at the top of his voice about this perfectly useful free bucket. Into the sittingroom he hobbles and straight away, she knows that something is amiss. As he thrusts the bucket into her face, raving on about the many uses it will have, she realises that she's actually staring into a bucket of putrified sh1te. Straight out the door goes the bucket, much to the protest of my senseless brother. Mind you, he wasn't so enthusiastic when he woke up the next morning and rolled over to the missus only to find he was embracing a bucket of god knows whose sh1t and herself
    asleep on the couch.... Bucket was thrown out for good with more than 1 bodily fluid in it.

I can still picture the poor hobo running around the alley holding his arse and he desperate for a sh1te with no sign of his toilet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

A man.

Till i sobered up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Eh, I found a plastic pirate's sword in the loo of a bathroom in a club one night.. Proceeded to go around smacking everyone in sight in the arse with it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I found an eighth of Morroccan on the floor of a pub before, but it probably doesn't count as it was awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Was in a massive German nightclub one night and these guys dressed up in uv suits came on to a stage. The prodigy were playing and they were moving to the music. Myself and the lads thought it was the coolest thing we ever saw. Next day we were going through the camera and saw that I had recorded it.

Man it was shít..:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Last week I spent the whole night going around with a magnetic 'M' off the fridge. Thoguht it was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

sh!tty music, sh!tty nightspots in Dublin, myself and my dancing abilities

....thank fook for alcohol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

I think everyone at some stage thinks it is hilarious to bring a trolley or traffic cone home after a night out. What I didn't realise about the traffic cone though was that the bottom of it had some sort of tar on it and it completely destroyed my bedroom floor. It was also pretty heavy to carry!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

I found a hat in Oxegen which I thought was fucking awesome, so I put it on and wore it for the weekend. Wouldn't even take it off to sleep. I saw photos of it on FB about a week later. It was quite possibly the gayest hat I have ever seen, no wonder I didn't get laid :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

Woke up bollock naked in a heinken rugby flag.... first thought was "nice flag!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a tenner in the back of my wallet, happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Was in a nightclub, oh, about 10 years ago, just gone 18, and needed a slash. Went into the cubicle, and for some unknown reason i lifted up the lid of the cistern. What did i find? A bottle of Southern Comfort and Pimms. It was near the end of the night so i pocketed the bottles and left for home with a few buds. Proceeded to skull the suddy, and have a few swigs of the pimms. Still to this day have no idea what pimms is. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Neigbour of mine about 12/15 years ago stumbled home drunk with a full size orange traffic cone that he'd carried about 4km, he left it on our porch for my brothers cause he thought they would be able to use it as a goal post on our green :pac::D My dad opened the door that morning and nearly toppled over the thing, no idea how it got there until yer man came down later to explain :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

surely everybody has found a traffic cone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Yeah it was just his thought process behind it, that he brought it all the way home and left it for my brothers as a goal post especially that was funny. Everyone takes them for the craic surely, he seemed to think he was doing us a really big favour :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I found a mountain bike and cycled it home pissed. Fell off about 5 times.

Imagine someone leaving a perfectly good mountain bike in their back garden like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Being insanely drunk was pretty awesome when I was insanely drunk.

Does that count..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Went out one night when I was about 18 and was wearing my new hugely flared jeans. Got up to leave the pub after having consuming about 10 cocktails, got to the door and loudly proclaimed I had lost my feet. My cousin had to left my jeans to show my feet were still there.

So that was pretty awesome that I still had my feet. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭stacexD

A giant metal sign for tramore, and one of those kiddie car things to wheel it home on..
    Do one night stands count? :pac:

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

On the way to a house party one night when I was about 18, myself and a friend had eaten one or two 'magic' brownies before we set off. We were walking along the road where a new cycle track had been put in and a new grass verge had been laid. Staring at the newly seeded grass I was struck by how much it looked like a newly seeded hair transplant, and I got quite distracted, but it worked out great cos as we were walking along I noticed a €50 note lying on the ground. We spent the whole thing on munchies in the local garage :o:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Find it amusing that people "find" objects like traffic cones and election posters.

That would infer that these items were lost....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I found a mountain bike and cycled it home pissed. Fell off about 5 times.

Imagine someone leaving a perfectly good mountain bike in their back garden like that.

Just in case people think I'm a scummer I actually did find a mountain bike up against a hedge with the chain off the front sprocket walkng home from a friend's house drunk. I pushed myself a couple of miles home on it falling off repeatedly and was destroyed with bruising the next day.

I took the bike to the local police station and handed it in the following day. I'd completely forgotten about it but got a call from the police saying 'the bike is yours if you want it it hasn't been claimed' over a year after handing it in. I said I may as well have it so collected it.

I had it for a few months and then it got stolen! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

traffic cone with loads of tin foil wrapped around it and bits of glittery stars and moons and stuff all over the tin foil! one of the lads put it on his head, started calling it his sorting hat and walked around ballymun at about 5 in the morning shouting huffle puff at people! was funny when found out what it ment the next day!

I found a big shabby black wig lying on the footpath on my way back from the offie during a big drinking session at our flat. I come in wearing it yelling "Look what I found!" My ex jumps up and yells "Awesome!", while his ex, there with her fiance, has to shoot me down at every available opportunity, says "Oh my God, you picked it up and put it on? Don't come near me! Go wash your hair!" which led to me wearing the wig all night and constantly leaning over near to her to see her recoil. Binned it a few weeks later, but that wig WAS awesome.

Found a kid's peddle car in a skip on our way home very drunk. Took it and scooted around on it, then decided "This will be awesome to ride down the hill tomorrow!" so stuck it in the back garden. Woke up, saw it there, and went "WTF?" Had to go skip hunting in the dead of night to find one to dispose of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Shotgun_TEXAS

Few years ago at a green gathering I had a great night place was full of great people, music, tents and camp fires drank way to much home made cider. Anyway the guards had kicked us out of the local so it was just down the road from home we went in through the forest drank and partied like fook we ended up coming out with a step ladder and a garden chair:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭siobhanosaur

Found an old, dirty Dora the Explorer doll on the Molly Malone statue one night on the way to a nightclub. Thought it was amazing at the time, took photos with it and everything. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

yes I found a moment of clarity while drunk as a skunk in the mountains of Donegal once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I do somewhere possess a baby's soother from a sculpture outside that artists house on abbey st if anyone remembers it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Yeah it was just his thought process behind it, that he brought it all the way home and left it for my brothers as a goal post especially that was funny. Everyone takes them for the craic surely, he seemed to think he was doing us a really big favour :pac:

Keep this friend in your life. He could be useful someday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

The student house I had has a tradition over the years that whenever you bring something back you stored it in the attic.

Going through it one day we found 23 election poster dating back to the 90's
    80 nagging of varying types including two Japanese bottles.
    12 individual ladies left heels
    3 Cones
    6 pares of underwear both males & Female
    A kettle
    3 remotes
    16 green army men
    1 large broken silver trophy for golf.

Inside lay a note written from long ago occupants saying always add,Only watch,Never take!

I love being a student :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Stumbled home one night after the pub was closed. Managed to get in the door to a very frosty reception from herself. She says to me, BLAH BLAH F'N BLAH, anyway i realised i had no fags so decided to go to the 24 hr up the road. On the way(pissing rain) and to my fcuking delight i spotted a 50 euro note on the ground, woo hoo, put it in my pocket took another 2 steps and another 50 euro on the ground. I looked around and there was another 2 x 50 euros stareing up at me. I ran the rest of the way to shop, got my fags, ran home and stupidly told herself about my adventures, of course i lightened of 3 of those 50s but hey,she was happy and my ears stopped ringing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Not me now but my best mate back home after a night out was stumbling home and just outside the church on the way home found a big 2ft x 2ft slab of green marble. Something in his mind clicked along the lines of "Marble is expensive, If I take that I'll be rich!"

It took him two hours to get home with it (20 mins walk normally) and he woke up with it in bed beside him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

danslevent wrote: »
    I think everyone at some stage thinks it is hilarious to bring a trolley or traffic cone home after a night out. What I didn't realise about the traffic cone though was that the bottom of it had some sort of tar on it and it completely destroyed my bedroom floor. It was also pretty heavy to carry!

Oh, this reminds me of a lad back in college who was always getting twisted drunk and bringing stuff like that home.

I lived on campus and he was in the 'villa' up from me. One morning I woke up to see a police car parked out the front of his place.

He had taken to bringing home a red traffic cone and put it up in the sitting room window. The thing was it had a flashing red light in it :D

I think some neighbours had complained about the flashing light going through their bedrooms all night and called the cops.

We laughed about that for a loooong time :D