Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funniest Thing That's Ever Happened in Work

• 08-08-2011 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭

I was thinking the other day of an incident that happened in a supermarket where I worked that still cracks me up. Over at the customer service desk, one of the customer service girls could be heard screaming. As people rushed to see what had happened, something ran off. It turns out that a cat had fallen through a roof tile and landed on her head. Apparently the cat got just as much of a fright as the girl did and in response to this unexpected turn of events held on to her head for dear life. When she relayed the story to me, I of course acted in the appropriately sympathetic manner and laughed so hard I cried.

So, good people of AH, what's the funniest thing that has ever happened in your workplace?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Oh rub it in that you have a job :rolleyes::pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

This thread is now a cat thread. A cat jumped out of a tree on top of me the other day. Awful creatures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

A woman once claimed "The Customer is Always Right".

T'was hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Samich wrote: »
    Oh rub it in that you have a job :rolleyes::pac:

Eh, the "where I worked" part is relevant there. :D

This thread is now a cat thread. A cat jumped out of a tree on top of me the other day. Awful creatures.

I will forgive this hijack if that is true. Cos that's hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

lol, sorry millicent this happened today, not in work, one of my kittens (bob) got the entire back half of his body lodged down the u-bend of the toilet. the look of terror on his face :eek: :pac:
    i love cats :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Crashed a forklift. Was awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭animan

lol, sorry millicent this happened today, not in work, one of my kittens (bob) got the entire back half of his body lodged down the u-bend of the toilet. the look of terror on his face :eek: :pac:
    i love cats :D
    They're bastards to flush aren't they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Cats have come together and decided that they don't like me. Everytime I go near one they scratch me. One took a poo on me years and years ago I've never liked them since:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

One time me and one of the lads at work found a huge mallet.

Being highly industrious we decided the best course of action was to cover him in ketchup and have him lie on the ground with the mallet beside him, took a picture and sent it to our boss with the caption "Tom's dead!". We laughed until we cried. Good times :)

Another one. One of the lads in work (supermarket again) was attempting to be all suave and cool by leaning on the window of the deli. Said attempt failed dramatically as the glass shattered under his elbow and he fell through the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Elba101 wrote: »
    Cats have come together and decided that they don't like me. Everytime I go near one they scratch me. One took a poo on me years and years ago I've never liked them since:mad:

what the fcuk were ya doing ..when the cat shat on ya ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

mattjack wrote: »
    what the fcuk were ya doing ..when the cat shat on ya ?

Holding it!

A neighbour's cat had some kittens so naurally the entire street went round for a look. I was holding the cute little thing and when I gave it back to the owner there was two poos stuck on my top. I went to the mother of the house and she laughed at me so I ran home crying.

Haven't liked cats since!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

Seeing as your talking about CATS!

So after a restless nights sleep, I wake up bleary eyed & still tired and realized there was someone else in the room with me! half panicked/scared thinking OMG what the hell this is not my imagination while still hiding under the duvet covers!! So eventually I braved on there was someone in the room with THE NEXT DOORS NEIGHBORS CAT...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

RMD wrote: »
    Crashed a forklift. Was awful.

Hope you stayed back to clean up that lot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

Just remember another funnie from work. One of our many high calibre customers came into work absolutely off her face. She spent nearly a good hour in the toilet and when we tried to ask her to leave she wouldn't. Guards were called and she then decided to escape by climbing the christmas tree. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Someone sneezed so hard they farted really loudly. Farts are always funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭ClimberC

Working in a fish farm years ago (oh the glamor!)

One of those boring as fcuk days when all of a sudden about 7-8 sheep come running like fcuk, and into the lake. I didnt even know sheep could swim. Then 3 sheep dogs come running in after the sheep, go into the water and start biting the sheep.

Cue the angry farmer running into the waist deep filthy water trying to beat the dogs with a stick for biting the sheep.

This went on for about 10 min before the sheep decided to go home.
    the farmer left with out saying a word, stinking like ****e water.

Good times :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Friend had a job **** pigs.. nuff said

ClimberC wrote: »
    Working in a fish farm years ago (oh the glamor!)

One of those boring as fcuk days when all of a sudden about 7-8 sheep come running like fcuk, and into the lake. I didnt even know sheep could swim. Then 3 sheep dogs come running in after the sheep, go into the water and start biting the sheep.

Cue the angry farmer running into the waist deep filthy water trying to beat the dogs with a stick for biting the sheep.

This went on for about 10 min before the sheep decided to go home.
    the farmer left with out saying a work, stinking like ****e water.

Good times :p

Oh God, that's brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

About 6 weeks ago, I had dropped into my bosses office to go through some files. On my way out, he went to ring a fairly senior guy from a company we deal with quite a lot. This guy is notoriously difficult to get on the phone, and the boss had called at least 5 times over the previous couple of days. Anyway, he has the phone on loudspeaker, and after about 3 rings its put through the voicemail. I was just on my way out the door.

Boss lets the "leave a message" play out, and slaps the phone in the general area of the button to hang up when on speaker phone, and goes JESUS FCUKING CHRIST, DOES THAT FCUKING CNUT EVER ANSWER HIS FCUKING PHONE, FIVE FCUKING TIMES AND THE FCUKER WONT FCUKING CALL BACK, LIKE I'VE NOTHING FCUKING BETTER TO BE DOING THAN RINGING THE CNUT MORNING NOON AND FCUKING NI...............beeeeeeeep.

I don't think I've ever seen the colour drain from someone's face so fast. I think they sorted it out but there was a bit of grovelling to be done. Now my boss is generally a nice guy and grand to work, and yer man is impossible to get hold of, so I felt sorry for him, but I made it back to my office and laughed away for a good while thinking about how he was going to explain that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

I was in Debenhams a couple of months ago - around mothers day - and was on the queue in their underwear dept. A man in front was paying for pjs for his wife and had his little boy with him. A few minutes later the kid said - 'dad look what I did' - and pointed. Everyone looked. He had gone up to a mannequin and pulled the knickers down to the knees!!!!

The father couldn't get out of the shop quick enough. Everyone was howling and the poor girl behind the till couldn't catch her breath with the laughing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I used to work in a video game company and one of our high profile video games was getting the voice acting done. We had a high profile actor coming in to do some lines and he was costing serious cash. The recording studio was a different location so all we'd get was the audio files.

On the day they are due, the management are all laughing their heads off and I've no idea why. Finally I go in to check out the files and there is our high profile actor, pissed a monkey, making up his own material. Thousands of euros spent on a drunk guy roaring :D Was brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭what a day

I once worked as a bricklayer (RIP celtic Tiger) and my boss got the thinking "wonder what would happen if i hit this can of expansion foam with this brick hammer". Me thinking he was just messing seeing as he was an elderly man and old enough to have sence, i took no notice till BANG!!!!

I turned around and saw him standing in shock covered in expansion foam, i nearly wet my self laughing at him and all the other brickys came running around to see what had happened. He looked like the thing from the fantasic four!, Expansion foam even on his eye brows!!!!

Next day he came in to work with bald patches all over his head, to this day i still laugh my head off thinking about it!! :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Used to work in a sport shop and had to bring runners up for customers to the tills as a security measure. I knew there was a couple of girls on the till and the manager was away doing count ups in the office so I decided to be a bollox.

I'd recently found one of the biggest house spiders I'd ever seen in our stockroom and managed to put him in a shoe box. It was one of those ones turbo fast brown spiders that made you think twice approaching when you seen it move.

So off I go with my boxed spider and leave it on the counter knowing that they'll just leave it there knowing they'll eventually look in it.

A few minutes later from the back of the store, I hear a sound of banshees as the two girls on tills, leg it out of the store screaming. Half of the staff were clueless what was going on so we all went to see the what the racket was.

The icing on the cake was a kind customer bringing the box out to release the spider into the wild and scared them once more as they returned into the store.

Best job ever.