Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you store all your airsoft stuff??

• 08-08-2011 12:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭

Ok, firstly- I do not play airsoft, but my boyfriend is absolutely *obsessed* (even made a site for designing guns and whatnot, which gets more time than I do lol) but I'm just wondering- where do ye guys store all your guns, pellets, mags, uniforms, gear bags, backpacks, orange 'death' hats, the whole lot? We haven't a big apartment at ALL and our bedroom is turning into what can only be described as a weapons storage room :S

How do ye manage your things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭dinko4gr

Siuin wrote: »
    Ok, firstly- I do not play airsoft, but my boyfriend is absolutely *obsessed* (even made a site for designing guns and whatnot, which gets more time than I do lol) but I'm just wondering- where do ye guys store all your guns, pellets, mags, uniforms, gear bags, backpacks, orange 'death' hats, the whole lot? We haven't a big apartment at ALL and our bedroom is turning into what can only be described as a weapons storage room :S

move to a bigger apartment with an extra you-call-it a guest room/we-call-it arsenal?

on a serious note all you need is a corner in the house with a table and a couple of drawers or shelves. i would suggest the closet but anyone that has been in a relationship would know thats about as bad as asking for bathroom space from your lovely wife / gf . :D you just dont ask for things like that ..:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭Arkslippy

Welcome to the madness.

I keep mine in a holdall and a bag in the boot. Having said that, I only own one gun and a pistol plus I set of uniform and the like. It can be hard to keep control of all the gathered bits but for your own sanity, if you have a car and its secure, don't allow the little bits into the house, especially bbs.

The little feckers will escape and you will find them in the Hoover, in the washing machine and the dishwasher if you have one. You are also pretty much guaranteed to be walking barefoot to the loo in the middle of the night and walk on some, the same person must have designed them as the guy who created lego for the same purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

I keep my AEG in a gunbag and the BBs, clothes, boots etc in a holdall and it's all kept under the bed in the guest bedroom. but then I've one AEG and one pistol,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

dinko4gr wrote: »
    move to a bigger apartment with an extra you-call-it a guest room/we-call-it arsenal?
    I wish! Not living in Ireland atm, and around here, the only accommodation that people in their 20s can afford will allow you to take a shower while sitting on the toilet :P
    dinko4gr wrote: »
    i would suggest the closet
    Ain't happening!! XD Does anyone here hang their guns on the walls to keep them from getting broken? He got one recently for 1,500e ('Systema ptw m4a1 max' whatever that means) and won't put it anywhere other than beside the bed- wah!
    Arkslippy wrote: »
    I keep mine in a holdall and a bag in the boot. Having said that, I only own one gun and a pistol plus I set of uniform and the like. It can be hard to keep control of all the gathered bits but for your own sanity, if you have a car and its secure, don't allow the little bits into the house, especially bbs.
    We're actually thinking of buying a car, just to do exactly that XD I'm just afraid of breaking his stuff- he recently bought a lot of scopes and attachments, which are fairly fragile
    The little feckers will escape and you will find them in the Hoover, in the washing machine and the dishwasher if you have one. You are also pretty much guaranteed to be walking barefoot to the loo in the middle of the night and walk on some, the same person must have designed them as the guy who created lego for the same purpose.
    SO true! There are also holes in the wall of the living room where he decided he wanted to 'test out' his new gun- it went through 2 cardboard boxes, both filled with foam :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Shidosha

Apologies for butting in on this, but I gotta question the sense of storing airsoft gear in the car.

If you're just driving around on every-day business, you don't have reason to have a realistic imitation firearm with you. I appreciate that there's very little cause or reason for your car to be randomly searched, but the odds on you getting caught shouldn't be the only reason to not do things that are legally dubious.

Only last week someone posted saying their car had been broken into and their airsoft gear nicked. Now if your car is securely parked, that's not going to be much of an issue, but should it happen it's something that's going to raise a lot of eyebrows when you're making your report to the Gardaí.

If nothing else, keeping stuff in your car involves paying extra in fuel to haul that extra weight around!

Personally, my stuff lives in my wardrobe. My AEGs are in their original boxes, my other gear packed into a bag, and that still leaves me plenty of space for my clothes and stuff. But it sounds like your man needs some sort of display wall which just isn't going to happen in a rented flat. Perhaps convince him to divert some AEG money to the rent and find somewhere bigger so he can show stuff off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭chris20

44747_146650008700832_100000675021007_272904_4795815_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭dinko4gr

chris20 wrote: »
    44747_146650008700832_100000675021007_272904_4795815_n.jpg

yeah try asking a landlord permission to put a gun display on one of his walls. i see no good outcome... a stand would be a good idea but the ready made ones cost a fortune and most are crappy quality wise or too generic. a custom made would drive you broke unless you got the know how/free time/missus permission to make one yourself:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

With a small place, you have to get inventive. With all the junk that me and the other half Lemming have between us, its no small ammount :P

Cupboards (on top of) beside cupboards... the airing cupboard... granted we have a two bedroom place, and use 'the spare room' to dump airsoft kit in/ keep all my clothes! Lemming being a computer nerd, took over our room with games and computers *domestic*

On the car point... REALLY Bad idea... if you must, rent a small storage place for it all, but DO NOT keep it in the car. If it gets nicked, you're screwed, if someone nicks it and the guards find all that stuff.... I'd be phoning your brief asap

Shidosha wrote: »
    Apologies for butting in on this, but I gotta question the sense of storing airsoft gear in the car.

If you're just driving around on every-day business, you don't have reason to have a realistic imitation firearm with you.

This is a really good point- I'd be interested to hear people's views on this too. Don't suppose the Gardai would be all that impressed- especially with how real some of them actually look.

I'm living in Israel now, so to have a gun in your car isn't all that uncommon (be it real or otherwise). Since my boyfriend's in the army, they would assume he had a real one on him. But car boots are checked whenever you go into any kind of carpark facility, so it would be questioned or possibly looked at by the security guard doing the search.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Shidosha

I was posting under the assumption we were talking about Ireland, to be honest. I have no idea of any of the legal implications in Israel.

I've been driving in Ireland for the best part of fifteen years, and I've never once had a Garda even ask to look in my car. Been stopped at random breathaliser checks once or twice, that's about the limit of it. But, if your boot being checked is a relatively regular occurrence, keeping things that look like military assault weapons in there might be more hassle than it's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭Arkslippy

This is a really good point- I'd be interested to hear people's views on this too. Don't suppose the Gardai would be all that impressed- especially with how real some of them actually look.

I'm living in Israel now, so to have a gun in your car isn't all that uncommon (be it real or otherwise). Since my boyfriend's in the army, they would assume he had a real one on him. But car boots are checked whenever you go into any kind of carpark facility, so it would be questioned or possibly looked at by the security guard doing the search.

Shalom.

Stuff kept in a suitable container, that being a gunbag is not an issue, likewise a standard holdall bag for the bits and pieces.

Nothing illegal or suspicious in that. Besides, you are more likely to be broken into your house than your car, having a hanging rack for guns is just dumb i think, and un-neccasary, at the end of the day they are toy guns, and some people lose sight of that.

I also have a personal rule, if i am going to buy another item, like a gun or a scope whatever, i sell on something else to make space for it.

שלום right back at you :)
    I also have a personal rule, if i am going to buy another item, like a gun or a scope whatever, i sell on something else to make space for it.

Yes! This really is the only way forward- I think he's coming around to the idea of it, but... I prefer for him to do it himself, otherwise I feel like I'm crushing his spirit lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Speaking as a collector, I have to say that you accumulate gear fast. On last count, I have quite a lot of RIFs and gear to go with it. Where do I store it? Everywhere.

I have designs drawn out for a proper storage unit which will house all rifles, pistols and tactical apparel, whilst displaying some of the showier pieces in a glass cabinet. But that is for when I get my own house. Why bother? Keeping it all in one place, under lock and key, can stop anyone (read 'Kids') getting the bright idea to play with your RIFs.

At the moment I use a mixture of bags, closet-space and drawers to stow all my gear, on top of plastic boxes. Tis the price of owning so much crap :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Salaas

I've not gathered much stuff yet but I do have my current gear in a neat pile.
    For my gun I have a gunbag with pockets that I store things in, my vest stores my mags and radio. Then I have a toolbox that I store pretty much everything else in it rather handily.

If he's careful about his gear then he's best to get a toolbox that has shelf layers so he can place things ontop of each other without damaging them, but keeping them in a compact space.

Also never underestimate being able to store stuff under the bed, though I advise leaving a bit of space between the item and the bed as 'flexing' can damage the item.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

I converted the attic into my own "private" space. All AEG's , pistols , camo and extras get stored up there along with a work bench. Need more room , sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭$kilkenny

kieth i was even thinking of doing that myself!its already converted to storage so it would be easy
    unfortunatly there is alot of crap to move and the foldable stairs is a pain :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Made my owen rack:D

229054_10150168357482747_748362746_6803018_1877814_n.jpg

i have since made up a frame for it with legs.

as for mags ect i keep them in a bag and tac vest ect hangs on my old pegboard rack.

it dose help that theres only 2 of us in a 4bed house tho

I think the wall rack is a pretty cool idea- he's got a few gas powered hand guns and 3 bigger ones, so it might fit well! Toolbox is also a good idea, but when I said it, he asked what was a toolbox and I had to google images it... don't think he has one, somehow!

He doesn't know what a toolbox is and he calls himself a man? :O
    What is the world coming to? :P
    Yeah the toolbox I got literally was a box with a shelf that I can put inside so I can store stuff in layers.
    Works like this pic. http://visual.merriam-webster.com/images/house/do-it-yourself/carpentry-miscellaneous-material/tool-box.jpg

I have all the tools, small bits and random bits put into it. If you store the stuff in it right you can put alot of things in there that might otherwise take up loads of room.
    I would say combine that with the gun rack or a Gun stand. http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/5e06319eda06f020e43594a9c230972d/J/Y/JYC-GS-A001_mark2.jpg

Salaas wrote: »
    He doesn't know what a toolbox is and he calls himself a man? :O
    What is the world coming to? :P
    Lol! True it is- part of me hopes it's language confusion, but I haven't seen one since I got here. Looks like a good idea- he said he'll sell some stuff first, then I'll go about educating him lol

Ha ha, I can imagine you with a board with diagrams of what a toolbox is lol.
    I'll take photos of the setup I have tonight and post them for you so he can get a idea about what I'm on about.
    Describing it only does so much.

But the best layout I've seen is a gunrack and a chest of drawers or toolbox and a hanger for the vest and camo.
    It takes up very little room cuz it is all compacted into a vertical space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

you mean you only have one vest/webbing and set of camo?

Gosh, I dont think I could manage with only one :P

Ah well I am still starting out so you'll have to forgive me. :P
    I've got a second vest coming to me thats alot better quality than the one I have atm so may give the old away or something.

I'm waiting for Bullseye to get in Marpat in my size so I can order it as only have desert camo atm. *Its gonna be fun when my buddy and I arrive in different camo cuz we are always identified by the desert after we've shot people*

I dread to ask how many you have at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Tried to make a Rotary gun rack before But it Did not turn out as expected.
    Wont fit through any door of me house when assembled! Had planned on having slots or footprints on the bottom where the butt of the gun would fit into but it did not work out with all the different weight/balance of the different guns. Would love some slatwall but dont know of any walk in store
    locally that sells it.

Currently I've all my gear in a corner of my box room thats tiny, along with the Laundry.
    Its a total mess. would love to have all mine mounted on the wall of my back room.

th_IMG_0648.jpgth_IMG_0646.jpgth_IMG_0645.jpgth_IMG_0644.jpgth_IMG_0643.jpgth_IMG_0642.jpgth_IMG_0641.jpg

th_IMG_0622.jpgth_IMG_0621.jpgth_IMG_0620.jpgth_IMG_0619.jpgth_IMG_0618.jpg

The one thing that worried me looking at that Rotary design is how tempting it is to give it a spin before a match and go "Wheel of fortune turn turn turn, show the gun I should use"
    *Rhyming needs work but you get the idea*