Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's great about running as a sport compared to other sports

• 08-08-2011 12:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭

One of the things I like about running is that no matter what level you're at you get to compete in the same events as the elite athletes.

I was out on Saturday afternoon for an easy 6.5km in Santry Demesne and who passed me going the other direction only Martin Fagan. I did a double take, but pretty sure it was him.

That's another thing I like about running. There aren't many other sports where you just casually train alongside other at the top of the sport.

Imagine a top footballer or rugby star going for a kick about in their local park.... the place would be mobbed before long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

I can do it on my own time, anywhere in the world..

Holidays recently, I put on shorts and runners and off I go running around Barcelona - I dont need a team to play against, a ref/official to manage things, specialist equipment [I dont "need" the fancy runners, I just choose to have them! I could use dunnes runners], I dont need someone to book or mark out a field or anything.

I lead a busy life, so I can do it when I want, 6am before work, or 10pm after a long crap day :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Oh, and on a sepperate note - its also the best thing you can do to loose weight on a per hour basis and a cost/money basis [IMHO, and open to debate in some fronts, but this is my opinion!]

Many people on this forum [very much including me] discovered running when they started on couch to 5k to loose weight.

Stick with it, eat properly, and weight will fall off - as I can attest to 6 stone later :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

I agree with everything you said Vaggabond....

I wasn't asking the question though, just making a statement - but after re-reading my post I can see that it was left very open!

Maybe we could turn this into a thread about what individuals think is great about running as opposed to other sports....??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

I have to agree about the thing of running with elites, how cool is it to run a marathon in the same race as a sub 2:10 marathon runner (even if I'm about an hour and a half behind him! :o). I also like the individual aspect to it, the way you can train with a few friends a few days a week, all aiming to get quicker together but then when it comes to a race its game on to see who can get home first!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

For me it has to be the lack of barriers to running. All I need is trainers, shorts a tshirt and motivation.

I don't need equipment, I don't need a location, I don't need other people, I don't need to get ready to go somewhere etc.

Its so simple and cheap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

When a runner running towards you from the opposite direction comes a bit close to you, you don't drop to the ground like a sack of spuds holding on to some part of your leg. In that way it's a relatively injury free sport.

I'm pretty sure Eamonn Coughlan said "Good man" or something to that affect one day when I ran by him, or someone very like him, in the Phoenix Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

ThisRegard wrote: »
    When a runner running towards you from the opposite direction comes a bit close to you, you don't drop to the ground like a sack of spuds holding on to some part of your leg. In that way it's a relatively injury free sport.

I'm pretty sure Eamonn Coughlan said "Good man" or something to that affect one day when I ran by him, or someone very like him, in the Phoenix Park.

That's the sort of thing that would inspire you to just keep going long past you're planned distance for that day!

Another thing I like about running is that although there are 'elite' athletes, there isn't a lot of elitism. It's open to all. It's your ability that determines how well you do, not how much you can afford to pay to join a club, buy equipment etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

If you are running a race and beat your target time it's like coming first & taking home the gold medal regardless of your position in the race.

It's one of the few sports where you can compete regularly and the only person you have to beat (if you want to look at it this way) is yourself, and the small increases in PB's are sufficient payback for the training input - even though you may never take home a winners medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

The lack of equipment required,despite the fact I have loads of shoes etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

No matter how fast or slow you complete a race, you're a winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭woody1

flexibility..as has been mentioned by almost everyone already..you can run anywhere at any time.. ive had a lot of weekends back home (meath, i live in mayo ) over the past 6 to 8 months and all i had to bring were runners socks shorts top and away i could go, at whatever time suited me.. and if something comes up ..you run the next day..or later on that week or whatever..
    its immensely satisfying to see very simple training reap rewards..and knock seconds or minutes off your times
    but
    heres my favourite and i may have somewhat of a chip on my shoulder but here goes
    for an individual sport its way more inclusive for all abilities than teamsports.. theres no one to take you off and put on a sub if your running crap in the middle of a race..similalry theres no one to b*ll*ck you for the same reason ( other than yourself )...or, if your particularly bad like i was at gaa when you train twice a week every week you wont turn up to a race and be told your not running and that some dude thats done no running for the past 6 months will run instead of you... like i said slight chip on shoulder... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I seem to have a similarly shaped chip on my shoulder.....huh.....weird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I was one of them lads you hate. Was too involved in my running to show up for GAA training despite this Never once showed up and was told I was on the bench.
    The reasoning you gave about being subbed off etc is kinda opposite to the reasons I like the sport. Being an individual sport if you dont show up in top shape it will show. There is no hiding behind a team and if you dont turn up mentally on the day tehre are always people lying in wait to take your scalp.

Another appealing team is that no matter if you are first in a WR time or last in a PB time the feeling of beating the clock is shared through all levels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭woody1

ecoli...i think you may be operating at a higher standard than me :-), if i show up in any shape im happy, dont hate the lads that werent training, fair play they had the talent to get away with it...if i had the talent i wouldve done the same..

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I like it because I can get a good workout in a short space of time,

Friend of mine is into cycling but seems to do 1-2hour min spins in order to get some training it, I can get training done (say 5-6km run) in less then 30min. If I do a 2hour run I'd be up around the 13-14mile mark.

So all in all I feel its better use of my time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

Bugsy2000 wrote: »
    If you are running a race and beat your target time it's like coming first & taking home the gold medal regardless of your position in the race.

It's one of the few sports where you can compete regularly and the only person you have to beat (if you want to look at it this way) is yourself, and the small increases in PB's are sufficient payback for the training input - even though you may never take home a winners medal.

+1..............I've won 2 golds already this month!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Probably that you can just put on your gear and head out the door. No expensive gym membership required.

It's also nice as others have said when you get a new PB and run faster than you ever have before. Although that for me often results in a bit of head scratching and wondering how I didn't do it sooner and why I don't always run that fast.

Plus nine times out of ten it makes you feel good and feel fitter. When I was in a gym doing a weights and cardio programme, only the cardio made me feel fitter and better. The weights just were heavy and I felt very little benefit from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

Keeps you on the straight and narrow with such high emphasis on fitness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Because it's what our bodies are designed to do.

That's the appeal of it for me. We can sprint to evade a predator and have endurance when we ARE the predator. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

Running results never lie - those who put in the work and dedication get the rewards. There is no buffer, no team. Talent is useless without discipline.

These are all positives & negatives of course :)