Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working cocker

• 08-08-2011 11:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭

Lads im thinking of buying a working cocker to replace my springer whos sadly gone to the big hunting ground in the sky , the dogs are definitely from working lines but im just king your opinions on the as gun dogs.

WF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

Lads im thinking of buying a working cocker to replace my springer whos sadly gone to the big hunting ground in the sky , the dogs are definitely from working lines but im just king your opinions on the as gun dogs.

WF
    I use a cocker myself, Christ she'ld do anything for you. Great breed, highly recommend them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

I also have a cocker - I find them brilliant.

As my dog is a house dog / children's pet / hunting dog in a suburban garden (small) in Dublin I find them the ideal size to suit all above needs.

The cocker is not as hyper as the springer (in my opinion) . I had a springer and they are great.....will beat through any bit of cover from start to finish rising everything in its path. The cocker I find hunts more with her nose & wind.....she'll go in and beat all cover but is constantly stopping / checking the scent / wind / sounds etc......doesn't just charge through cover from start to finish.

Cockers are great for retrieving / working on water etc. and get through even the thickest of cover.

If I could think of a downside it would be that they need to be trimmed a few times a year to tidy up / stop thistle heads sticking to their coat etc. I do it myself with a dog groomer bought in Argos.

Hollywithpheasantdummy.jpg

1Nov2007.jpg

blackcockerspaniel.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭td5

www.drumbanaghershoot.co.uk Seem to have some nice ones at Stud and some pups available from Top working stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭highduck

Hi WF.

New to forum and read some of your posts re-wildfowling (spot on advice).Are you looking for pup or older dog.(dog or bitch).I'm into dogs and would be fairly up to speed re irish+uk working springer/cocker and lab lines.If I can help in any way I will.
    file.php?id=868&t=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ejoss

WF

I've both springers and cockers and find my cockers unbeatable for game finding and on runners. I help out on a nearby driven shoot and i had my young cocker bitch picking up one day last season that they were short of dogs and she picked 104 partridge. she was tired but still did what she had to do and would have done more, unbelievable stamina. She has recently had a litter of pups and there's a couple remaining, if interested.

ejoss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

td5 wrote: »
    www.drumbanaghershoot.co.uk Seem to have some nice ones at Stud and some pups available from Top working stock.

Thanks for that Highduck, any advice on wildfowling ask im more then happy to answer, as regards cockers, and labs which would you say would be the best all rounder?

WF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭highduck

Thanks for that Highduck, any advice on wildfowling ask im more then happy to answer, as regards cockers, and labs which would you say would be the best all rounder?

WF[/Quote
    The lab or a good working line Irish water spaniel is unbeatable as a out and out wildfowling dog.I've had both and they are equally as good on phesants and woodcock.but these bigger dogs get punished in heavily cover.

A good cocked can be a serious roughshooting dog but gets it hard to cope with a lot of cold water work.great little swimers though.had a few over the years always went for the Welsh lines and they all hunted like hell.warning though!they can be kinky little bastards.there is no shortcuts in training them and they can take you on and sulk or switch off if you come the heavy.

I keep 4 springers,shoot 100-150 duck,70-80 woodcock,pigeons,a few phesants and rabbbits every year and find the springer the best allrounders.love a good lab too.had and bred some cracking labs.sold a few really class animals for 3+4 grand.they've paid me well over the years.built my kennels for me,bought me a new burren trailer and financed every purchase for our first baby.