Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Punching the air

• 07-08-2011 2:11pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else find the trend of punching the air in delight after every little free has been won cringeworthy?

I remember when I was playing at club level if a team member did it I felt embarrassed for them.

It's very prevalent at inter county level. Makes watching games uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Does anyone else find the trend of punching the air in delight after every little free has been won cringeworthy?

I remember when I was playing at club level if a team member did it I felt embarrassed for them.

It's very prevalent at inter county level. Makes watching games uncomfortable.

It depends. If your team are winning by a small margin with a minute left a free can be almost as valuable as a point as it eats up the clock and guarantees posession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

It doesn't bother me at all.

Id imagine lads are unbelievably fired up so sometimes its nice to see but there are occasions it can go way over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

Sure beats punching the ref á la Paul Galvin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Usually love a good air punch but there's a time and a place. Waterford player give it a triple air punch today when his point brought his team to within SIX points of Kilkenny.

Wasn't really the time or the place in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

Did he really punch a ref taught he just knocked his book out of his hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Did he really punch a ref taught he just knocked his book out of his hand.

He was trying to punch the wasp. D

Pighead wrote: »
    Usually love a good air punch but there's a time and a place. Waterford player give it a triple air punch today when his point brought his team to within SIX points of Kilkenny.

Wasn't really the time or the place in fairness.

Then or ever it was needed as they needed the fans to shout them on and rally his own players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Im pretty sure that didn't happen... ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

John Mullane did a two handed air punch about 6 or 7 times today after winngin a free in the first half. Was a bit much, especially while he was looking around into the crowd..... cringe

Still though, I'd say its some buzz out there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

When he player scores 1-6 and wins two or three frees he can do whatever he wants in my view. Also, the crowd love when it happens, gets a rise out of em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

When he player scores 1-6 and wins two or three frees he can do whatever he wants in my view. Also, the crowd love when it happens, gets a rise out of em.

It was probably the second free he won in fairness...... he hadn't 1-6 at that stage. And I don't begrudge him a punch or two... but 6 or 7??? Come on....??:eek:

harry21 wrote: »
    It was probably the second free he won in fairness...... he hadn't 1-6 at that stage. And I don't begrudge him a punch or two... but 6 or 7??? Come on....??:eek:

This is the thing. From what I read and here from fans in other counties, the seem to take personally as if he's taunting them. It's a motivational technique nothing more. The nerves and the shouting that would go on in a dressing room he's entitled to. He was urging the players to keep fighting, as we'd had a bad start. Absolutely nothing wrong with it in my few. It would be like if I started complaining about Eoin Kelly tapping the side of his helmet with his index finger after Tipp's second or third goal in the All-Ireland final last year when he was telling them to stay focused, saying he could have just tapped once not four times or whatever. It really is nothing to do with the opposition. He wasn't looking at T.J. Reid, he was looking down the field at his own players, so he is also probably acknowledging their efforts in winning that free as well, in his own way. As I said nothing wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭detective

This could be called the Deise thread....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭spankadamonkee

This is the thing. From what I read and here from fans in other counties, the seem to take personally as if he's taunting them. It's a motivational technique nothing more. The nerves and the shouting that would go on in a dressing room he's entitled to. He was urging the players to keep fighting, as we'd had a bad start. Absolutely nothing wrong with it in my few. It would be like if I started complaining about Eoin Kelly tapping the side of his helmet with his index finger after Tipp's second or third goal in the All-Ireland final last year when he was telling them to stay focused, saying he could have just tapped once not four times or whatever. It really is nothing to do with the opposition. He wasn't looking at T.J. Reid, he was looking down the field at his own players, so he is also probably acknowledging their efforts in winning that free as well, in his own way. As I said nothing wrong with it.
    In fairness , Eoin Kelly doesnt do it every time he gets a decision or a score. Id say MUllane does it alot cos a free is the only thing he will win. You also said it was to get a rise out of the crowd. If ye hurled well all of the time i dont think he would have to do is as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

In fairness , Eoin Kelly doesnt do it every time he gets a decision or a score. Id say MUllane does it alot cos a free is the only thing he will win.

What are you on about? Mullane got 1-6 from play yesterday and destroyed the Kilkenny backs. He also won frees which points were got from them. You swear the way you are talking that Mullane was only an average forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Fergus_Nash

It does appear as if Waterford do it more than anybody. There's nothing wrong with it but it does get a little annoying at times. But what Eoin Kelly did yesterday in the second half when Brian Hogan knocked the ball over the sideline on his own 65 - standing over him and appearing to almost drive his knees into him just to rise the crowd - was totally wrong.

In fairness , Eoin Kelly doesnt do it every time he gets a decision or a score. Id say MUllane does it alot cos a free is the only thing he will win. You also said it was to get a rise out of the crowd. If ye hurled well all of the time i dont think he would have to do is as much.

Oh my look at you and your sharp wit. Boy am I impressed, and so is everyone else. I'm suprised you don't use your real name when posting, because everyone is dying to know who our hero is with his terrific insight...:rolleyes:

It does appear as if Waterford do it more than anybody. There's nothing wrong with it but it does get a little annoying at times. But what Eoin Kelly did yesterday in the second half when Brian Hogan knocked the ball over the sideline on his own 65 - standing over him and appearing to almost drive his knees into him just to rise the crowd - was totally wrong.

Was that when he got the yellow? You sure that was to rise the crowd? Duno, think he jsut fouled him, nothing more. Definetly think your going to far with that one.

As I said to a friend of mine, there is absolutely no harm in Mullane annoying people from other counties ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

I dont really have an issue with it tbh, yes it is a bit OTT but what harm, only making hinself look a bit foolish at times, but if it helps him get more focused and gets the blood flowing more power too him, its not as if he is doing it into an opponents face or anything its generally to the crowd or hes own team mates.

Was that when he got the yellow? You sure that was to rise the crowd? Duno, think he jsut fouled him, nothing more. Definetly think your going to far with that one.

As I said to a friend of mine, there is absolutely no harm in Mullane annoying people from other counties ;)

No Hogan was coming up the field with the ball and Kelly was in pursuit. Hogan, under Kelly's pressure, put the ball out over the line, falling over in the process. From what I saw on the television, Kelly stood over Hogan shaking his fists and appeared to be driving his knees into/towards Hogan's head. The crowd near the incident got a good rise from it.

Maybe it wasn't as malicious as I have described but that's what I saw.

Even though you may see it as inspirational or just a ploy to annoy opposition fans, others may see it as childish. I'm probably in between annoyance and seeing it as petulance. Others, if they are being cynical, could see it as the Waterford players celebrating their only chance to be victorious.

No Hogan was coming up the field with the ball and Kelly was in pursuit. Hogan, under Kelly's pressure, put the ball out over the line, falling over in the process. From what I saw on the television, Kelly stood over Hogan shaking his fists and appeared to be driving his knees into/towards Hogan's head. The crowd near the incident got a good rise from it.

Even though you may see it as inspirational or just a ploy to annoy opposition fans, others may see it as childish. I'm probably in between annoyance and seeing it as petulance. Others, if they are being cynical, could see it as the Waterford players celebrating their only chance to be victorious.

Don't see it as petulance from Mullane's point of view, I mean petulance would be if they were throwing toys out of the pram because of a refereeing decision. What harm is it doing really. I think Premierstone summed it up well.

I actually saw the incident your refering to kind of. You couldn't see it 100% clearly, but I can certainly see where you're coming from. If your right then I certainly wouldn't condone that, but I think there is certainly a difference between that kind of thing and what Mullane did.

I think there is certainly a difference between that kind of thing and what Mullane did.

Well if it wasn't malicious then I do believe that Kelly's intentions were to rise the Waterford supporters just like Mullane celebrated getting a free or Maurice Shanahan fist pumping after scoring a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 igas

Difference is Eoin Kelly was motivating his team, Mullane was playing to the cameras! Did it 6 or 7 times is case they didnt see the first ones! I was at the game - he warmed up separate to the team - not what the newer players need from an experienced team mate. Browne is 10 times the player Mullane is but he is a team player!

It achieved a lot for him didnt it?! Hogan went on to be a man of the match contender and Kelly was taken off! He would be better to get on with his own game and forget playing to the crowd or his mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭chipsdave

watching too much soccer on SKY..

igas wrote: »
    Difference is Eoin Kelly was motivating his team, Mullane was playing to the cameras! Did it 6 or 7 times is case they didnt see the first ones! I was at the game - he warmed up separate to the team - not what the newer players need from an experienced team mate. Browne is 10 times the player Mullane is but he is a team player!

Look, you can't get an objective view of Mullane from most people within our neighbouring counties. They just hate him because they see him as a threat. Kelly was motivating his team but Mullane wasn't? Talking through your hat lad.

He didn't warm up separate to the team, he was practising his shooting. I'd say it worked pretty well from that regard. Wouldn't have minded if Kelly and Moran had been doing the same thing to be honest. I think what Mullane did was exactly what his team mates needed. Very disappointed I have to say with some of the posts here. They seem to be predominantly from Kilkenny people (obviously not all Kilkenny people are disappointing me, others are perfectly fine). I don't live in the City so I've no idea what words are said between the two, but I would advise you be more objective and stop letting personal bias get the best of you.

The fact that you think Hogan was contender for man of the match further emphasizes the one sided view you hold.

It achieved a lot for him didnt it?! Hogan went on to be a man of the match contender and Kelly was taken off! He would be better to get on with his own game and forget playing to the crowd or his mates.

Ohh jesus wept, seriously are you for real, he was tore a new one over and over.

Did ya hear Martin Storey on 'take your point' by any chance? He kept trying to defend Hogan's performance by saying Mullane moved all over the place. I wonder was he expecting him to stand still or something.

Doubt he was using the same defence last year when Noel McGrath hit 0-6 points off Brick. I got a serious vibe of some bitterness from him about the whole 'Munster championship is better than the Leinster championship'. A listener texted in to say Storey was talking through his hat when he suggested Kilkenny eased off and that he kept goin' on about the distance they were shouting from and that they were holding something back. His response was something like 'Oh yeah, Munster is better then Leinster. Here we go again', even though nobody even said anything like that. Talk about jumping on the defensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Live4Ever

Jesus, if you knew anything about hurling you'd know that fist pumps are Mullane's trade mark, he's been doing them as long as I remember.

He is easily the most passionate hurler around. I would even go as far as saying he is one of the most passionate GAA men. He goes out every game and gives 150%, whether they are winning or not he is always encourging team-mates and fans. That's who he is, he wears his heart on his sleeve.

How many players come out and take personal responsibility and apologise to the fans for losing a game? None. He is totally entitled to fist pump, kiss the crest or whatever the hell he wants to do. He always steps up to the plate and gives it everything and I feel sorry for him. John Mullane and Tony Browne deserve an All-Ireland medal, probably more than anyone else who's ever played the game and not won one.

Look, you can't get an objective view of Mullane from most people within our neighbouring counties. They just hate him because they see him as a threat. Kelly was motivating his team but Mullane wasn't? Talking through your hat lad.

He didn't warm up separate to the team, he was practising his shooting. I'd say it worked pretty well from that regard. Wouldn't have minded if Kelly and Moran had been doing the same thing to be honest. I think what Mullane did was exactly what his team mates needed. Very disappointed I have to say with some of the posts here. They seem to be predominantly from Kilkenny people (obviously not all Kilkenny people are disappointing me, others are perfectly fine). I don't live in the City so I've no idea what words are said between the two, but I would advise you be more objective and stop letting personal bias get the best of you.

The fact that you think Hogan was contender for man of the match further emphasizes the one sided view you hold.
    Oooh a tad sensitive are we??
    Mullane is a fine hurler and he should concentrate on that. Punching the air and goading the opposition might do something at club level but it WILL equally motivate the opposition if they have any balls so it is counter productive at best.

Which was more successful Kelly directly motivating his teammates with an intelligent signal to keep them focused and going on to take over the game and win an AI or Mullane playing to the crowd/cameras? Talking through my hat eh?? Give me the team player ANY day.

Yes he had a fine game but maybe if he took the effort to talk to and motivate the rest of the team during the warmup he could have helped the TEAM! Thats what you expect of your senior players - to give confidence to the team.

Oh and lads - if ye think Hogan didnt have a fine game maybe ye should have another look at it!

Everyone, including me, wants to see Waterford achieving what they deserve - and they will! - but giving adoration to showboating wont help!

Did ya hear Martin Storey on 'take your point' by any chance? He kept trying to defend Hogan's performance by saying Mullane moved all over the place. I wonder was he expecting him to stand still or something.

Doubt he was using the same defence last year when Noel McGrath hit 0-6 points off Brick. I got a serious vibe of some bitterness from him about the whole 'Munster championship is better than the Leinster championship'. A listener texted in to say Storey was talking through his hat when he suggested Kilkenny eased off and that he kept goin' on about the distance they were shouting from and that they were holding something back. His response was something like 'Oh yeah, Munster is better then Leinster. Here we go again', even though nobody even said anything like that. Talk about jumping on the defensive.

I didnt actually hear Storey and tbh I have never really heard or read any of he's views so not really sure what he is like, but it is a bit ironic for a Wexford man to be jumping to the defense of KK and turning it into a provincial thing, guess it shows how far Wexford have fallen, more the pity.

Davy has gotten many many many(you get the message) things wrong in hes tenure but moving Mullane to CF was a great move and I actually said it here before the Galway game, he recognised that Tony Og Regan, while great arieally and in a physical duel has feet like a boat and is as slow as a funeral so he brought Mullane out to withdraw Tony from hes comfort zone and use the open spaces in Semple, similarly with Hogan, while he is nowhere near as slow as Tony Og he does like to play a sitting role as a CB kind of as an auxillary full back, KK have used this tactic to great effect for years and it has made Hickeys job a hell of alot easier and you wont recall too many goals been scored down the middle against them pre 2009.

The problem arises when the CF refuses to play a typical role and stands back off him and draws further out the field, Noel McGrath on Brick last year was the perfect example, Brick didnt know whether to follow him or hold he's ground he actually ended up doing neither and as a result Noel scored 0-6 and Liam Lawlor was roasted as he had no protection in front of him.

Oooh a tad sensitive are we??
    Mullane is a fine hurler and he should concentrate on that. Punching the air and goading the opposition might do something at club level but it WILL equally motivate the opposition if they have any balls so it is counter productive at best.

Which was more successful Kelly directly motivating his teammates with an intelligent signal to keep them focused and going on to take over the game and win an AI or Mullane playing to the crowd/cameras? Talking through my hat eh?? Give me the team player ANY day.

Yes he had a fine game but maybe if he took the effort to talk to and motivate the rest of the team during the warmup he could have helped the TEAM! Thats what you expect of your senior players - to give confidence to the team.

Oh and lads - if ye think Hogan didnt have a fine game maybe ye should have another look at it!

Everyone, including me, wants to see Waterford achieving what they deserve - and they will! - but giving adoration to showboating wont help!

The fact that Tipp beat Kilkenny by 8 points was probably more to do with them having the superior team then Waterford (and Kilkenny), then it was to do with Kelly's signal being a better choice then Mullane's. If Mullane was tapping his head you'd probably still be giving out about him. Look back at when Mullane did fist pump, we were 1-2 down.

After that we played much better only to have a sickening blow right before half time (tempted fate myself, turned to my Dad after half an hour and said 'they just need to keep out the goals til half time and this game could be very close at the end') which I think ultimately took the wind out of our sails. If it improves Mullane's performance then I would greatly encourage him to keep doing so. As for motivating his team, well they're all adults. Often people say leaders should lead by example and Mullane did exactly that. If the player's couldn't motivate themselves (which I don't think is true) when we were well in the game against Kilkenny then that would be entirely their fault.

Also I think there is a difference between showboating and fist pumping. Showboating is what Kelly did when he scored the goal against Tipp in 2008, or what Mario Balotelli did in a recent game. Fist pumping psyches yourself up and the crowd up, and possibly even your team mates.

Finally, Tommy Walsh was very good, as were Fennelly and Shefflin. J.J Delaney was good, but I did feel Seamus Prendergast actually gave hims some problems. Brian Hogan was average at best.
    I didnt actually hear Storey and tbh I have never really heard or read any of he's views so not really sure what he is like, but it is a bit ironic for a Wexford man to be jumping to the defense of KK and turning it into a provincial thing, guess it shows how far Wexford have fallen, more the pity.

Davy has gotten many many many(you get the message) things wrong in hes tenure but moving Mullane to CF was a great move and I actually said it here before the Galway game, he recognised that Tony Og Regan, while great arieally and in a physical duel has feet like a boat and is as slow as a funeral so he brought Mullane out to withdraw Tony from hes comfort zone and use the open spaces in Semple, similarly with Hogan, while he is nowhere near as slow as Tony Og he does like to play a sitting role as a CB kind of as an auxillary full back, KK have used this tactic to great effect for years and it has made Hickeys job a hell of alot easier and you wont recall too many goals been scored down the middle against them pre 2009.

The problem arises when the CF refuses to play a typical role and stands back off him and draws further out the field, Noel McGrath on Brick last year was the perfect example, Brick didnt know whether to follow him or hold he's ground he actually ended up doing neither and as a result Noel scored 0-6 and Liam Lawlor was roasted as he had no protection in front of him.

Agree with most of that alright. It was a great decision by Davy.

Teams have yet to get to grips with the roaming centre forward. Wonder how they will, and when they do will they be compensating somewhere else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Mullane could take his mickey out and give it a few raps with the bos of his hurl for all I care tbh, he owes no one anything.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Mullane could take his mickey out and give it a few raps with the bos of his hurl for all I care tbh, he owes no one anything.

I agree with the principle, but I'd still rather he didn't do that :D

Teams have yet to get to grips with the roaming centre forward. Wonder how they will, and when they do will they be compensating somewhere else?

I think the key to curbing it is having a balanced and versatile midfield partnership, preferably one of the midfielders that is comfortable droping a bit deeper to plug the hole this combined with a centre back who is a bit more fleet footed than say Tony Og or the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

Tipp fella's all hug each other every time they win a free and point to the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

thesultan wrote: »
    Tipp fella's all hug each other every time they win a free and point to the head.

Maybe you could do with http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055902992

I've no problem with fist pumping, it happens in club and intercounty matches up and down the country and only seems to piss off a small minority (who are probably mainly frustrated at the sight of their team losing).

Benny Dunne gave a fantastic fist pump recently in the North Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship Final. He had just won a free for his club Toomevara, who were beating Kildanagan 6-7 points at least and there was less than a minute left in the game. It's perhaps easiest to describe in boxing fashion, standing in an orthodox stance, with his left arm in perfect position for a lead uppercut(fistpump), Benny switches to southpaw in an exaggerated motion, before throwing a monstrous hayemaker of a right uppercut (fistpump).
    The whole thing was simply ludicrous, as was the amount of time it took him from winning the free to executing his fist pump, but never the less it really was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

No not really its a sense of achievement yes but if its the opposing team then It be a bit cringy but if its a team I am following then its sense of achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

0004d187189r.jpg

even the managers are at it now. cringe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

O Riain wrote: »
    0004d187189r.jpg

even the managers are at it now. cringe!
    Gowan Dalo!

I don't really mind fist pumping unless they won the game or a free for a chance to finish off the game.