Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm no drug trafficker! I think...

• 06-08-2011 6:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭NeptunesMoon

whats the situation if I'm going to the UK for to collect a few pallets or things for clients and imagine the client had their goods wrapped up on the pallet and then imagien there were actually drugs, weapons, ammunition or any illegal stuff within the package what would happen if it was then discovered by customs even though i knew nothing about it? who would be responsible? is there some kind of generic waiver of responsibility form i can get them to sign on loading that says these goods belong to them and were packed by them and there is nothing illegal in them and they accept responsibility if there is? is a signature enough or would i need to have their name address or more stated too? what if it was just wine from france or cigarettes from italy aswell, and i knew about them but they were for the customers own personal use , how can i prove this to customs and again would there be some page id need to get signed stating that they are for personal use.

cheers :cool::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

if you are transporting you are taking responsibility.

you must check your load and ensure that it is exactly as the consignee and documents have said, if there is a deviation its your decision to refuse to take the load or not.

if you are hired to goto England or another country - pick up a package and bring it back...... would you not be suspicious ?? Common sense rule applies.

in legal terms you could have some plausable deniability - but in real terms - you are guilty of transporting illegal substances, possession and possession with intent of sale or supply - most probably section 15A (manditory minimum 10years) .....assistance to the gardai would get a more lenient sentence but would more than likely result in jail time.

Also - when the person gets out of jail - they face the (street value+interest) debt to the drug lord/dealer who organised them to transport the stuff - so they are dragged into the criminal underworld until they disappear....criminals will also use this debt to encourage other family members into doing their work, so by taking on the role of courier...you face dragging yourself and family members into a life of serious crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

For personal use they must be for your own personal use otherwise duty must be paid on drink and smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Would the UPC delivery man be responsible for the type of goods he picks up and delivers if he had no knowledge of the packet contents...I think not.

If you know about the type goods, then you could be charged with smuggling.

Best to check with the relevant authorities before proceeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

old_aussie wrote: »
    Would the UPC delivery man be responsible for the type of goods he picks up and delivers if he had no knowledge of then packet contents...I think not.

If you know about the type goods, then you could be charged with smuggling.

Best to check with the relevant authorities before proceeding.

With UPC and other couriers the items can be opened at a depot to verify contents, like I mentioned before there would be a degree of plausible deniability - however if the OP is not operating a legit courier/transport company then the onus is on the driver to ensure the load they carry is what is on his/her manifesto....and what is declared to be the load when passing through customs.

and the reality of the debt to the criminals exists - even if the driver is not charged and brought before the courts, the criminals who hired him/her would blame the driver for the loss of "revenue" or "profit" and would insist on repayment.....ergo ...bringing an innocent person into a life of crime which will at some point result in getting caught again - only this time no deniability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Sorry, but I cannot resist this.

The UPC man cannot be done for anything, he only has cables for TV and BB.

The UPS man however......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I know it's a UK example, Drugs smuggled in WSB truck. The lads where arrested and questioned but released, not sure how it works if you've loaded the items though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Do you have an international haulage licence? Not having one and being engaged in such activity could be problematic.

Customs and the main international couriers / transport companies have a clearance system in place which grades the origin / destination and sender / receiver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭NeptunesMoon

cheers for the replies:cool:

pcphoto your acting like im thinking about doing a drug run :D im just wondering since i do have a legit transport company but even if i didnt, what would be the situation in a case where i might be loading up goods belonging to a customer and either they may have hidden away a few kg of drugs in a sealed box which just said pots and pans or a different situation where say they bought lots of wine in france to throw into the truck since they have the space on a move from say paris to dublin.

situation a the driver has no clue whats in the boxes and cant really be telling a customer hes helping move house or office or doing a delivery for that he wants to go through his underwear box to make sure theirs no coke :D

situation b the driver knows right well the wine is there but its being transported as the customers belongings and they have no intent to sell it or anything like that and the driver might have even bought a few crates for himself :D:D:D

the truck is signwritten and everything like that but doesnt hold an international haulage license , just doing a regular job to/from uk/europe in which vat will be applied on and everything