Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

STAG dos/weekends

• 04-08-2011 11:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭

howya lads, I am just wondering does anyone have any recommendations for a stag weekend. I recently got asked to do bestman, and I'm probably gettin ahead of meself but, i dont want it to be **** as its one of the main jobs ive to do. UK or Europe it doesnt matter just looking for a good destination nightlife activities etc... some elaboration on suggestions would be helpful??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

you'd need to give some indication of what you want to do?

what's the age of the group/groom?

are you planning on getting lamped/visiting lap dancing places the whole time or do you want to do activities tie it in with a sporting occasion?

there've been a good few threads here so search on here first and then ask further questions.

oh a budget would be useful too, cheap and cheerful or fancy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

you'd need to give some indication of what you want to do?

what's the age of the group/groom?

are you planning on getting lamped/visiting lap dancing places the whole time or do you want to do activities tie it in with a sporting occasion?

there've been a good few threads here so search on here first and then ask further questions.

oh a budget would be useful too, cheap and cheerful or fancy?

age group would be 22-50, groom is 24. Well yea getting lamped, im not bothered about the lap dancing clubs. Yea im not sure on the activities what the youger lads might be up for and what the ol lads might be up would be seperate.

with regards price i suppose 2-300 would be what id be lookin at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I think these days it's better to stay in Ireland for stag parties. Everybody is watching their pockets lately. Galway is a good spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 djml

ive posted about Trim in county meath before. Great town for pubs and craic.
    Lots of activities too. http://www.boynevalleyactivities.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

If you're staying in Ireland, Galway, Westport, Kilkenny, Carrick-on-Shannon.

If you're thinking of Europe, maybe check skyscanner.com, set the destination as 'Anywhere', set the date range as the whole month that you're thinking of, or particular dates if you have them, and see where you can get cheap flights to. Then do a bit more research on the various options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Leeds is a good spot. Cheap to get to, cheap to be there. There are some great pubs and clubs and loads of activities for daytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

yeah leeds is a good spot, nice and small city centre lots of all types of pubs.

you could do a day trip to york for a bit of culture too (or another pub crawl!).

do keep an eye out on the decent hotels too, we got the marriott there at a great rate (like £80 a night per room).

should be easy to get tickets for a leeds home game if you're there during the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I brought a rugby team over, we got Bewley's Hotel for a pretty good rate, can't recall now but flights and two nights in the hotel came to less than €200 anyway. Plus one on York for a day trip.

If it's in summer you could take in a one day game or maybe a Twenty20 in Headingley and follow it with the Otley Run if you're brave enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If you go to Leeds, go to Akbars indian for probably the nicest and cheapest indian meal you ever had. They cater for groups and is fast service, and keep the beers coming, so would be a good place to eat for a stag.