Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mature student stuck in a grant loophole

Options
  • 05-08-2011 12:26am
    Registered Users Posts: 31

Being totally exhausted with dealing with CDVEC and the citizens info office, I'm looking for some advice as a last resort re applying for the student grant as a mature student.

I had done 3 years of a 5 year degree, but had to defer for the last two years because I never got any financial assistance from my parents but was means tested on their incomes regardless for the grant.

I have been working part-time for the last 2 years, am now 24 and obviously have been living independently for far longer than since last October.

I hoped to return to year 4 of the same degree course in September, with the aid of my first ever Higher Education Grant (to cover the student contribution fee) and hopefully the BTEA.

However, when I went to give my form to the CDVEC, they told me that I would have to declare my parent's income as well as my own, and apply as a dependent mature student.

The notes clearly state that you are a dependent mature student "If you were 23 years of age or older on 1 January 2011 AND were ordinarily resident with your parent(s) or legal guardian from the 1st October of the year prior to entry or re-entry"

I was very much not resident with my parents and have all the documentary evidence to prove it.

Can anybody help me with this please?

I really am quiet desperate at this stage.

Thanks

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭IPushButtons

Why are they telling you to do this ???