Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man banned from shop after his card was declined

• 04-08-2011 10:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭

Another sorry consequence of the recession...
    A CUSTOMER caused ‘pandemonium’ at a Barry supermarket, after filling  22 trolleys with goods worth £3,400 and checking them all through the  till - before leaving with nothing. 
        Staff at Morrisons helped the man fill up the trolleys with whole  shelves of beer, soft drinks and crisps, after he told them he was  holding a fundraising party and raffle in aid of charity. 
        All 22 trolley-fulls were rung through the till, after a lane was  opened specially for the man, and staff packed the food and drink into  bags. 
        But after the man’s bank card was refused, he left the store with  nothing - leaving 15 employees busy for more than hour returning  everything to the shelves. 
        Store manager Tony Ware described the scene last Wednesday (July 13) as ‘pandemonium’. 
        "The man said he was doing a raffle for charity and asked if he could  have some assistance with his shopping," said dad-of-two Tony. 
        "I became concerned as on his tenth trolley he already had about £1,500 worth of goods. 
        "I asked if he could really afford this, but he said he had £9,000 in the bank.” 
        Morrisons staff, eager to help, even appealed for donations towards the raffle over the store’s tannoy system. 
        "He asked for some more trolleys so we gave him more help - he had  three members of staff helping him do the shopping,” added Tony. 
        "He was taking whole shelves of cola, beers and crisps. 
        "He ended up with 22 trolleys of goods, from one end of the store to the other. I even opened a separate check-out for him." 
        One staff member, who helped the shopper put all the goods through the till, described the incident as ‘crazy’. 
        "He had 22 trolleys full to the brim," said the employee. 
        "It was the biggest order I have ever seen." 
        Tony, who took a picture of the trolleys as they were being filled,  added: "There was a lot or beer and spirits, party food, cola and  crisps." 
        “But when it came to paying, his card was repeatedly declined." 
        The man was asked to leave and has now been banned from the store. 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

what the **** is this code bull****, son

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I think you are looking for the icon two to the left of the one you clicked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Any chance of a decent link OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Great fun trying to read that on a mobile!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A CUSTOMER caused ‘pandemonium’ at a Barry supermarket, after filling 22 trolleys with goods worth £3,400 and checking them all through the till - before leaving with nothing.
    Staff at Morrisons helped the man fill up the trolleys with whole shelves of beer, soft drinks and crisps, after he told them he was holding a fundraising party and raffle in aid of charity.
    All 22 trolley-fulls were rung through the till, after a lane was opened specially for the man, and staff packed the food and drink into bags.
    But after the man’s bank card was refused, he left the store with nothing - leaving 15 employees busy for more than hour returning everything to the shelves.
    Store manager Tony Ware described the scene last Wednesday (July 13) as ‘pandemonium’.
    "The man said he was doing a raffle for charity and asked if he could have some assistance with his shopping," said dad-of-two Tony.
    "I became concerned as on his tenth trolley he already had about £1,500 worth of goods.
    "I asked if he could really afford this, but he said he had £9,000 in the bank.”
    Morrisons staff, eager to help, even appealed for donations towards the raffle over the store’s tannoy system.
    "He asked for some more trolleys so we gave him more help - he had three members of staff helping him do the shopping,” added Tony.
    "He was taking whole shelves of cola, beers and crisps.
    "He ended up with 22 trolleys of goods, from one end of the store to the other. I even opened a separate check-out for him."
    One staff member, who helped the shopper put all the goods through the till, described the incident as ‘crazy’.
    "He had 22 trolleys full to the brim," said the employee.
    "It was the biggest order I have ever seen."
    Tony, who took a picture of the trolleys as they were being filled, added: "There was a lot or beer and spirits, party food, cola and crisps."
    “But when it came to paying, his card was repeatedly declined."
    The man was asked to leave and has now been banned from the store.
    For phone users.
    OP must have pressed the wrong thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

trol staff eh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Absurdum wrote: »
    what the **** is this code bull****, son
    It's an intelligence test.
    You failed it, btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

It's an intelligence test.
    You failed it, btw.

my thanks pimps say otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Read this story a few weeks ago from another source. He wasn't banned and he had a mental illness. I'd love to go in and do it just for the funny looks you'd get but wouldn't for the sake of the employees sanity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭chiloutus

I dont get it...was he trolling? haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Tabloidy headlines that imply the story is something its not should be left to the tabloids. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

a man has died while he was eaten by a crocodile queueing in a bank
     to dontate money to the save the crocodiles association

give a link OP or its just bollox in between code tags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Another sorry consequence of the recession

Consequence of the recession my arse, who buys 22 shopping trolleys full of food. This guy was clearly taking the piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

fecking lightweight. Filled 22 trolleys. He should go shopping with my missus, she can fill 1 with a similar value. Well, she can fill it with enough so that my card is declined anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Another sorry consequence of the recession...

OMG! I know his brother, Table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Gordon wrote: »
    OMG! I know his brother, Table.

Any relation to Tupper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Link-
    http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/need-to-read/2011/07/22/shopper-abandons-22-trolleys-filled-with-3-338-of-food-and-drink-after-card-refused-91466-29099615/
    A shopper filled 22 trolleys with £3,338 of food and drink and put them through the till – without having the cash to pay for them.
    Supermarket workers were left furious as they had helped the man fill his trolleys with beer, soft drinks and crisps after being told he was shopping for a charity fundraiser.
    Three staff who had helped the man with his bumper shop were left to return everything to the shelves after his card was repeatedly refused.
    The manager of Morrisons in Barry said he had even opened a new till aisle to help the mystery shopping put his goods through the checkout, where they were packed for him.
    Store manager Tony Ware, who even publicised the man’s supposed charity fund-raiser on the store’s public address system, said the scene was “pandemonium”.
    Mr Ware said: “He said he wanted to do quite a large shop for a raffle on the waterfront with balloons and inflatables to raise money for the British Legion.
    “A member of staff said to me: ‘Have you seen all the shopping in that aisle?
    “It was then I saw eight shopping trolleys full to the brim with alcohol, beer, spirits – the whole lot.
    “I became concerned as on his tenth trolley he already had about £1,500 worth of goods.
    “I said to him: ‘Are you really buying all these goods?
    “He said: ‘Of course I am, I have got £9,000 in the bank fund for this.’”
    Mr Ware said when the man had filled up 22 trolleys he directed him towards a newly-opened checkout where the eventual bill was £3,338.16.
    “All the shopping went through from one side to the other so I waited then to make sure the transaction went through with no problem,” Mr Ware said.
    “It came to £3,338.16 and the card was not authorised.
    “He said it was fine and said: ‘Let me ring the bank’.”
    But after the bank provided an authorisation code, payment failed again and when staff were told to contact his local branch they were told he simply couldn’t pay.
    The man was told to leave or police would be called and he has since been banned, while 15 staff took an hour to replace the groceries.
    Mr Ware said the store hadn’t lost out because not much of the shopping was chilled or frozen.
    “I gave him the benefit of the doubt because I did believe he had £9,000 in the bank I suppose. I won’t make that mistake twice,” he said.

Sure that happens all time in supermarkets in ireland,people doing their shopping then going to the atm machine in the supermarket to get cash to pay for it,then realise its out of order,you cant beat natural stupidity at times.

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Any relation to Tupper?
    I think they're cousins, yes! Younger brother called Earthen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Gordon wrote: »
    I think they're cousins, yes! Younger brother called Earthen.

Watch out for their bad sister, Bea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Hasmunch wrote: »
    who buys 22 shopping trolleys full of food.

Have you not seen the U.S tv show called extreme couponing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

Have you not seen the U.S tv show called extreme couponing.

no but i bet you have :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭teaholic

I worked in a supermarket, there was lamb on offer at ridiculous low price. I think it was a Friday night and the shop was busy with people doing there shopping. I was on tills so could only see people in the aisles.
    One of my collegues came up to me and said that there was 9 trolleys around the shop FULL to the brim and no one at them!

It was farmers way of protesting about the price of lamb!

To make it worse they had filled thetrolleys with all the small tins and packets so it took all the floor staff and free till staff about 45 mins to put back! At one stage there was 8 of us emptying the trolleys!

It took them about 6 minutes to fill the trolleys!!

Found it a bit funny tho!!

Dun wrote: »
    Oh yes, I know her very well, she has a dopey sister called Una, married a rich man called DaSilva iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Don't forget their nosy aunt spy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

ColHol wrote: »

Aaaand there goes the fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

"super" Troll

...anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Reminds me of a buddy years ago when we use to go in town he would always hit the sports shops just to try on five or six pairs of runners and walk away at the end without buying anything. It use to really p*** off some of the the shop assistants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

I worked in superquinn an a woman at christmas had 2 trollys an the total came to just under 1,500 euro,

The difference between a man an a woman, man gets 22 trollys for 3 grand a woman gets 2 trollys for 1,500... Typical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

chiloutus wrote: »
    I dont get it...was he trolling? haha

Surely a typo. He was trolleying :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Would have been some craic if he used the wrong card and the transaction got approved.

Like wtf would he do with 22 trollies of stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Thread reminded me of Supermarket Sweep, what a show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

Was she the one who married one of the O'Dedog boys...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

his cousins emigrated to australia, the down under wares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

That manager needs a good slap. How could he not realise it was rubbish? No one walks in on their own to do that much shopping. Even with 3 or 4 trollies laden with booze you'd be getting suspicious but 22 WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

lol. Did he do this on purpose?
    Awesome slowroll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I think this is a breach of contract, but even without such a breach of contract, the store is legally entitled to do so on grounds of the man being an annoyance.

In fact, wasn't there a case under (UK) case law whereby a man who sat down in a restaurant, and then decided not to order anything, was successfully sued for breach of contract?

A restaurant can also sue for breach of contract if a customer makes a booking, and later decides not to show up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

later10 wrote: »
    A restaurant can also sue for breach of contract if a customer makes a booking, and later decides not to show up.

This is completely true. Once an (ex-) friend of mine agreed to meet me at a Subway at 17:25 but by 17:28 they STILL hadn't shown up and I sucessfully sued them for €12m in damages. It was the principle of the, hey, y'know, whatever...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

The one hole in your story is that your sidebar profile says you still live in a small flat in the city.

anyway, the thing about the contract beginning when you sit down in a restaurant is true

http://www.channel4.com/4food/features/can-you-pay-for-dinner-by-washing-pots-09-02-19
    The contract takes place when you walk into the restaurant without a reservation and sit down or when you make a reservation on the phone.
    However I seem to remember that this only applies if the restaurant has a menu on the window or somewhere other than on the table menus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

The card was declined because he tried to pay using a pack of top trumps..he went through every single one..Even the Galactus card wouldnt work..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

mackg wrote: »
    Don't forget their nosy aunt spy.

And their Buddhist uncle Ima.