Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Using CB radio while driving - legal?

• 03-08-2011 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭

As we all know it's illegal to use a hand-held mobile phone while driving.

What about CB radio, while you as well need to hold a microphone in your hand while speaking through it.

Is this illegal as well?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

yep, all hand held communications stuff is from what my understanding is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

MidlandsM wrote: »

I dont think it comes under the mobile phone law but you can be done for driving without due care and attention.

Big 10 4 good buddy..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

MidlandsM wrote: »

I made some research in the mean time.

The act says:
    3.— (1) A person shall not while driving a mechanically propelled vehicle in a public place hold a mobile phone.

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to a member of the Garda Síochána, an ambulance service or a fire brigade of a fire authority (within the meaning of the Fire Services Act 1981 ) who is acting in the course of his or her duties and holding a mobile phone in relation to the performance of his or her duties.

(3) A person who contravenes subsection (1) is guilty of an offence.

(4) The Minister may, to avoid the impairment or interference with the driving capacity or capabilities of the driver of a mechanically propelled vehicle, make regulations in relation to the restriction or prohibition in mechanically propelled vehicles in public places of the use of—

(a) a mobile phone (other than in the circumstances referred to in subsection (1)),

(b) an in-vehicle communication device,

(c) information equipment, or

(d) entertainment equipment.

(5) Different regulations may be made under subsection (4) for different classes of cases coming within the same class of equipment or for different classes of vehicles in relation to such equipment or different classes of persons.

(6) A person who contravenes or fails to comply with regulations made under subsection (4) is guilty of an offence.

(7) It is a defence for a person charged with an offence under subsection (3), in relation to holding a mobile phone while driving a mechanically propelled vehicle, or under subsection (6), in relation to the use of a mobile phone or an in-vehicle communication device, to show that he or she was—

(a) using it to call the Garda Síochána, an ambulance, fire or other emergency service on numbers prescribed for such service, or

(b) involved in or acting in response to a genuine emergency.

(8) A person guilty of an offence under this section is liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding €2,000.

(9) In this section—

“ hands-free device ” means a device designed so that when used in conjunction with a mobile phone there is no need for the user to hold the phone by hand;

“ hold ”, in relation to a mobile phone, means holding the phone by hand or supporting or cradling it with another part of the body;

“ interactive communication function ” includes—

(a) sending or receiving oral or written messages,

(b) sending or receiving facsimile documents,

(c) sending or receiving still or moving images, or

(d) providing access to the internet;

“ in-vehicle communication device ” means a communication device designed or adapted to be attached to or integrated into a mechanically propelled vehicle or which may be used in or on such a vehicle and with which a person is capable of making or receiving a call or performing an interactive communication function and includes a two-way radio;

“ mobile phone ” means a portable communication device, other than a two-way radio, with which a person is capable of making or receiving a call or performing an interactive communication function, but for the purposes of subsection (1) does not include a hands-free device;

“ portable ” in relation to a mobile phone, means the phone is designed or adapted to be carried by a person;

“ two-way radio ” means an apparatus for wireless telegraphy which is designed or adapted for the purpose of transmitting or receiving spoken words or messages between a person and another, using a frequency other than a frequency used by a mobile phone.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2006/en/act/pub/0023/print.html

So according to this act, using CB-radio while driving is not forbidden.

ahhh, grand so.

And neither is sending a fax....:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Erm . .

“ in-vehicle communication device ” means a communication device designed or adapted to be attached to or integrated into a mechanically propelled vehicle or which may be used in or on such a vehicle and with which a person is capable of making or receiving a call or performing an interactive communication function and includes a two-way radio;

Ken

ZENER wrote: »
    Erm . .

Ken

Yeap, that's exact definition of CB-radio.
    But hence it's under point 4.
    (4) The Minister may, to avoid the impairment or interference with the driving capacity or capabilities of the driver of a mechanically propelled vehicle, make regulations in relation to the restriction or prohibition in mechanically propelled vehicles in public places of the use of—

Minister may make such regualtions, but never did.

-Corkie- wrote: »

Fair point.

But can sending a fax be compared to holding a CB microphone?
    I'm sure difference in level of distraction is huge here.

I would compare holding a microphone to smoking or eating a sandwich, which both are legal and I didn't hear about anyone being prosecuted for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Nice one!

P1190802-1-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭280special

Strange enough, people were pulled over for it 20 years ago...some of the lads ended up with a caution, the Garda usually turned a blind eye to the thing being an illegal AM CB !!

A Garda quized me one time at a check point, when he spoted the mag mount. But I hadnt been dumb enough to use it as i drove up to the check point and as i had a UK legal FM + UK licence he let it go...he didnt see the AM set under the seat or the remote display handset !

OK so let's extend a thread a bit.

Is using AM band CBradio illegal?
    What about FM band?

Do you need a licence to use any of those?
    If so, where can it be obtained, and how much does it cost?

280special post made me think, because it never actually came through my mind that it might be illegal, or might require any licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

280special wrote: »
    Strange enough, people were pulled over for it 20 years ago...some of the lads ended up with a caution, the Garda usually turned a blind eye to the thing being an illegal AM CB !!

A Garda quized me one time at a check point, when he spoted the mag mount. But I hadnt been dumb enough to use it as i drove up to the check point and as i had a UK legal FM + UK licence he let it go...he didnt see the AM set under the seat or the remote display handset !

in the pre mobile phone era the guards were more concerned about certain individuals passing info re checkpoints etc than they were about the legality of cb ,

CiniO wrote: »
    OK so let's extend a thread a bit.

Is using AM band CBradio illegal?
    What about FM band?

Do you need a licence to use any of those?
    If so, where can it be obtained, and how much does it cost?

280special post made me think, because it never actually came through my mind that it might be illegal, or might require any licence.

I think new legalisation either has been passed or is about to passed re cb licenses ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭deaglan169

CB in ireland is legal when using the EU band 26.905 to 27.405 using any mode am/fm and even ssb in ireland, uk 40ch fm is illegal as such but no one passes any heed to it

a license is not required it is a licence free band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Nice one!

P1190802-1-1.jpg

what are those sockets to the right and left of the fax port ? , does the fax service still work ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

looks like a photoshop job to me. :D

Ports on the left are AV in and AV out for the TV in the front. TV button on the right changes the channel from the back.

The Fax connection is just an RJ 11 port that taps into the car phone so it dials out through that. Some 750s came with the fax machine actually attached to the back of the passenger seat. :D

EDIT: 4693302132_f1e55b59bc_o.jpg

4692667563_7131a7af53_o.jpg

Very 90's!

did it come with a shredder too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Ports on the left are AV in and AV out for the TV in the front. TV button on the right changes the channel from the back.

The Fax connection is just an RJ 11 port that taps into the car phone so it dials out through that. Some 750s came with the fax machine actually attached to the back of the passenger seat. :D

just when i thought I couldnt want a 750 any more , so much want

EDIT:

Thats savage cabbage.. Are they on every 7 er or special models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

Your 750i sucks Voodoomelon, my L7 came with double 15" TFT screens on the back on the top of the fax machine, internet etc ;)

l7_innenraum06b.jpg

not my car...

What year was that bmstuff. Sorry Mods I am after dragging this totally off topic but in a nice way though...:)

That's the L7, a special edition of the 7 series
    It was available during the entire life span of the e38 7 series
    Motors were 4.4 V8 5.4 V12.

There was L7 too before the e38, nothing new with the e38. But a very rare encounter...

bmw750ill7individual7.jpg

Thats savage cabbage.. Are they on every 7 er or special models.

Not on many at all, very very rare options.

Thats far too modern bmsuff, retro is where its at: :pac:

BMWL7-medium-1669_3.jpg&sa=X&ei=tiQ7TsWBJMrChAfP4s22Ag&ved=0CAQQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNF0yBl5TGXLXaSwilFLa8LDgFrW2g

Far too modern Voodoomelon, try to do better next time :D

04846_IMG_7317_b_122_443lo.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Does anyone know what this thread was originally about?? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

snowman707 wrote: »
    in the pre mobile phone era the guards were more concerned about certain individuals passing info re checkpoints etc than they were about the legality of cb.

I think new legalisation either has been passed or is about to passed re cb licenses ,

Hey Snowman!

Ya got your ears on? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

-Chris- wrote: »
    Does anyone know what this thread was originally about?? :p