Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recovery Period For Runners Knee

• 03-08-2011 7:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭

Suffered runners knee in Killarney Maxi Marathon few weeks, miles and miles of downhill. Doing all the necessary swimming, stretching, strengthening, but even at the weekend I felt some pain at mile 4, just wondering, does anyone know what the recovery period normally is for this type of injury and what kind of intensity should be incorporated into training whilst coming back?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Depends on how bad the injury was really, I was off for about 4 or 5 weeks with it back in 2009. I still relapse occasionally when I stop doing the strengthening work. Intensive physio did nothing for me, I was getting two sessions a day for the first two weeks or so in an attempt to get me to the Edinburgh marathon start line.

Many people would be off a lot less. I used to go out for a run pretty much every day to test it out. Never got much further than the gate, one day the pain went away and I could run 2 miles and just went from there.

Horrible injury. Only running injury I've ever really had other than the odd niggle. I assume you've been to physio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭altercor

I struggled with it since January. I just ran until it hurt and then I stopped. Very frustrating as some days it would flare up after ten mins whereas other days I might get an hour. Always afterwards I would be quite sore whilst sitting though.

I kept up that dance for a while and then went on holidays in June and didnt bring my running gear (shock horror)..Anyways, a week later I got home rearing to go and I went for a run without problem. Im now 10 weeks in to Douglas and Pfitzinger's 55-70 program and not a single issue with my knee.

In summary, keep doing what your doing but there must also be a bit of down time to allow recovery from it.

One other thing I found that helped a lot was stretching the IT band. I became obsessed! If I was standing still Id go for an ol stretch. I dunno if that helped but that's what I did.

Best of luck with it. THe pain is completely disproportionate to the damage so don't get too disheartened!

Happy recovery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Condatis

You may be in the wrong part of the country for this but should you be going anywhere near Dublin try PhysicalRemedy.eu in Clondalkin.

Medbh runs Ultra Marathons herself and would be able to help i'd say.

It'd do no harm even to drop them a line by email.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Scholesy1981

Thanks guys. Ya I've been to physio already, she said to keep rolling the ITB and quads with foam roller or wavin pipe, doing plenty stretching and strength work on it and she said to start running again next few days but take it easy and ramp up mileage according to leg strength, just afraid its gonna set off again seens as its coming from in under knee cap, and started off last week when only got to 4 miles, really hope it clears. I got it last year in the opposite leg after Dublin Marathon, but that was grand coz it was end of all the big races wanted do so just downed tools til the Spring but dont fancy doing that now as I've still some big races coming up dont wanna miss, starting with a 10k in 3 weeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Thanks guys. Ya I've been to physio already, she said to keep rolling the ITB and quads with foam roller or wavin pipe, doing plenty stretching and strength work on it and she said to start running again next few days but take it easy and ramp up mileage according to leg strength, just afraid its gonna set off again seens as its coming from in under knee cap, and started off last week when only got to 4 miles, really hope it clears. I got it last year in the opposite leg after Dublin Marathon, but that was grand coz it was end of all the big races wanted do so just downed tools til the Spring but dont fancy doing that now as I've still some big races coming up dont wanna miss, starting with a 10k in 3 weeks!

All I will say is treat the stretching and the rolling as seriously as you would the training for these big races. I ignored stretching for quite some time and only after i was put out with runners knee did i start taking this more seriously. Now it has become crucial as well as regular massages and since last November I have only had to take one day off running due to any sort of niggle