Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those seventies cars...

• 02-08-2011 7:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭

My dad had one of these.

504%20station%20wagon.jpg

Never considered it worthy of a "collectors card" let alone that it was "Developed from the know-how that produced the first station wagon in 1895".

That said, from what I remember driving around in it, it was a bit like traveling in the back of a cart. :)

Source here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

No Rover SD1 therefore I'M OUT :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

my dad had a grey / silver ford escort estate (must have been late 70's, cos this story is 1981 - and they only bought their first ever new car about 2 years ago!)..........anyway, we got up one morning, and it was gone........turned out it was used it to rob a shop overnight, they got the car back and the guards left us keep the cakes the robbers left in the car (that they'd robbed from the shop!):D

My Mum had a few Minis, the folks got their first family car in 1979, a Datsun something or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

RoverJames wrote: »
    My Mum had a few Minis, the folks got their first family car in 1979, a Datsun something or other.

Datsun F120A - Cherry... I took driving lessons in a red datsun F120A ... If the clutch was near gone it was probably that one LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

My dad had 1970 MK I escort 2 door and then in 75 got a mk 2 .. still remember the reg.. how sad is that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bob50

exador wrote: »
    Datsun F120A - Cherry... I took driving lessons in a red datsun F120A ... If the clutch was near gone it was probably that one LOL

Datsun Cherry what a great car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

My old man had a Hillman Avenger. Greatest bucket of crap ever made.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT9RBSd9fOkjENbuVs8Rm9y1MP2cQ2bzOoOQaVwf_k5YZ_IQHCb

He replaced it with a Toyota Corolla E20, great car, engine would go forever but the rust would kill them long before then.

corolla722_9215_big.jpg?1282640642

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

My Dad had one of these. Great car. Ok, I have to admit that it died of terminal rust.

Lancia-Beta_1975_photo_01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

ksimpson wrote: »
    My Dad had one of these. Great car. Ok, I have to admit that it died of terminal rust.
    Same here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Monty.

renault+12+toros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

What about this mean bad ass motherf*cka

chevettehsr.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i still have seventies cars...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

For a minute I thought I was in the classics forum :p

Sligo Metalhead

exador wrote: »
    bob50 wrote: »
    Datsun Cherry what a great car

Think it was one of them, rusted like mad, got rid of it after 3 years and they bought a new 1982 Ritmo San Remo, mad looking yoke back then, yellow fogs and a spoiler, looked :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

We were a Ford family!

Father:
    ford+granada.jpg
    modelpicture.php?id=3538
    ford_granada_australia_silver_1981.jpg
    ford_sierra_05_08_05.jpg
    800px-Fordmondeo.jpg
    800px-2000_Ford_Mondeo_%28HE%29_Ghia_hatchback_01.jpg
    Ford.mondeo.mk3-black.front-by.ranger.jpg
    Mother:
    800px-Ford_Fiesta_MK1_front_20071023.jpg
    800px-Ford_Fiesta_front_20070920.jpg
    800px-Ford_Escort_front_20071017.jpg
    800px-Ford_Escort_MK4_front_20081215.jpg
    800px-Ford_Escort_front_20080205.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭magunkey

Monty. wrote: »
    renault+12+toros

My dad was fond of the other Frenchies too.

4L (made of paper), 6TL (made of rust) and 16TX (Very posh!).

wpid-Renault_16_TX_1976_9796.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    We were a Ford family!

Father:
    ford+granada.jpg

This was my fathers one and only Ford

Nice Car except for the engine, electrics, suspension , exhaust.

The only time the effing thing never broke down, was going to Mass or taking me to school

We were a Ford family!

/QUOTE]

thinking about it - we were too, and it's been passed to me, I guess being in Cork, there's a tradition of Ford to begin with, but Dad had an escort estate, a Mark II escort twice, mum had a fiesta (mark 1!), my first car was a Fiesta, my second a Ka, my third a toyota, nissan, suzuki and back now to a mondeo...........it's in the blood!........pity they shelved the cougar, cos I'd have liked that

cjmcork wrote: »
    We were a Ford family!

/QUOTE]

thinking about it - we were too, and it's been passed to me, I guess being in Cork, there's a tradition of Ford to begin with, but Dad had an escort estate, a Mark II escort twice, mum had a fiesta (mark 1!), my first car was a Fiesta, my second a Ka, my third a toyota, nissan, suzuki and back now to a mondeo...........it's in the blood!........pity they shelved the cougar, cos I'd have liked that

I would love something like this as a daily driver:
    Ford_Granada_Ghia_2_8_Countryman_1e36d992194b5e7fdaec70f9d02ab8a4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Monty. wrote: »
    renault+12+toros

i owned one of these in lime green.....awful car!!!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

motoring-graphics-2_840885a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

During the 70's my dad had these.
    vauxhall-viva-hb-5.jpg
    fs_fd490a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

We're a Ford Family too :)

483.jpg

DSC00636.jpg

DSC002051-1.jpg
    DSC00085.jpg

DSC01459.jpg

Last picture the car is under slow restoration :pac:

Rostyles... you're a C O O L family too!

(do ye still have sideburns?)

si_guru wrote: »
    During the 70's my dad had these.
    vauxhall-viva-hb-5.jpg

my dad also had a baby blue vauxhaul viva..........he says it was a brilliant engine..........someone in CUH in Cork still has one!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭b318isp

I would love something like this as a daily driver

There is a UK registered one parked at the side of the old N2 just before Ashbourne that is being advertised for sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭privateBeavis

my dad also had a baby blue vauxhaul viva..........he says it was a brilliant engine..........someone in CUH in Cork still has one!:)

I have a nice brown one of these so it tones with the rust!! Although not much of it left at this stage, rusting away. I bought if of my uncle for a hefty 20 punts when I was a teenager to drive around fields who at the time had been using it as a dog kenel :eek: so was it a state even "before" I got my hand on it.

b318isp wrote: »

There is a UK registered one parked at the side of the old N2 just before Ashbourne that is being advertised for sale.

I'm banned from acquiring any more toys for the time being! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

mercedes-w123.jpg
    My Dad had numerous 123s well into the 90's. 200d was his favorite for some unknown reason. He even swapped the engine in 230e for the 200d engine.
    Buggers for rust as I recall.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭ivanc

ford+granada.jpg

Saw one of these only last week. Same colour ZV Reg. Nice nick, loads of chrome.

They are much bigger than I remembered.

You're nicked!!!!!!!:)

My dad's was a red 1600.. rare enough. I think he had a grey 1159 before it - I don't remember that one though.

1965_corsair_v4.jpg

I remember my dad getting one of these. (Corsair).

When it arrived it was full of bits of straw and smelt of chickens.

He spent a week trying to get the smell out, before giving up and getting rid of it.

Why he thought buying a mobile chicken coop was a good idea in the first place I'll never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Collibosher

magunkey wrote: »
    My dad was fond of the other Frenchies too...

Ditto.

I remember my dad having Renaults 4, 15, 14 in the 70's.

None were particularly troublesome, but like most cars of that era, they rusted badly.

Just thought of another straw story...

My uncle bought an Austin Cambridge from a "dealer".

fs_austin_a60_xco_210__12_08_07_042.jpg

After a short time the car broke down.

It turned out the engine casing was cracked and the "dealer" had used some form of straw and oil compound to fill the crack.

When he brought it back to the "dealer" and complained he was told in no uncertain terms to F**k off.

Don't know if he ever got his money back...too long ago now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

The first one I remember is one of these

R_lim_75.jpg
    Opel Record (in the same funky 70s orange too!)

Specification (Opel Rekord D)
    Engine Straight 4, 1698cc
    Power 66 hp @ 5300 rpm
    Transmission 4 speed manual
    Chassis Unitary construction
    Suspension Independent front and rear
    Brakes Disc (f) Drum (r)
    Top Speed 143 km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

My dad had a red Datsun cherry in the late 70's. Had it well into the mid 80's by which time it was a pile of dust in the driveway. Then he got a nice mk2 golf gti which was paradise in comparison. Still remember picking car out in Belgard motors, they delivered it to our door 2 weeks later. My dad use to get me to polish the vw badge on the grille as it was head height with me:). I was only 6.

001_large.JPG?1307308913

Had an uncle with eight kids and a Renault 4.

So he bought a second hand Bedford from the P&T, got someone to put in windows and built two bench seats with leatherette padding in the back.

He drove them round in it for years.

It predated the Espace with it's fancy smancy passenger seat belts by more than a decade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

My grandfather owned one of these which set me on a long road of BMW appreciation. I still remember the purr of that straight six. This colour too.

IMG_0467.jpg

My grandfather owned one of these which set me on a long road of BMW appreciation. I still remember the purr of that straight six. This colour too.

IMG_0467.jpg

Cool grandfather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 SamOptimoo

Hmm, maybe me - that Blue 2 door Vauxhall Viva HC (1300L) in and around CUH. In my garage for last few years though. Last on road maybe 3 years ago. In need of somebody good to do some restoration work. Someday....

Regards