Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Penneys' sizes a load of crap?

• 02-08-2011 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or have sizes in Penneys gone to pot lately? I've noticed that their sizes have changed, particularly in their trousers. I've always worn the same black pants for work - the €11 ones with polka dots inside the waist - but when I went to get another pair this week, when I put them on, it was a struggle to get the button to close. I compared them to my old pair and there's 2 inches less at the waist! Anybody else notice the sizes getting smaller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭pencilsharp

I've noticed it recently with some blouses. I've always been the same sizes in their blouses/shirts but recently I've noticed they're gaping across the bust! I am big enough chested but never had this problem before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭lace

I usually find penneys sizes quite normal in things like dresses but with tops, jumpers etc they can be a little erratic. I can walk in and buy my regular size in dresses and know they will fit me but i sometimes find myself having to go up a size or two in tops to avoid them looking ridiculously tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

totally agree about the tops! I bought a cardigan and I didn't try it on, it was a size 8 (im usually a size 6-8 so thought it would b grand)

Came home, put it on and the buttons were gaping like the material was streched too far across the breast area so it looked really bad. And my bo0bs are only a B-C cup!

Dunno about trousers though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've noticed this too, they recently extended their sizes up to a 20 but at the same time every single size seems to have gotten smaller :confused:

People have been mentioning it on their Facebook too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

I find Penneys and H&M woeful for sizes. I was looking at shorts earlier this year and the only pair that would fit me were the ones labelled a size 18 whereas in Oasis/Warehouse etc I'm always a 10/12.

How hard is it to have standard sizes across shops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Really happy other people noticed it too because I always buy my black skinnies in a size 8 there, so never bother trying em on. Got a pair the other day and they are BET on to me! Weighed myself and Im the same as always/havent changed size in any other shop, but was getting a bit paranoid!

Blame the shop so! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭xaoifsx

every store should have the same sizing to settle the confusion..

but then.. what IS a size 6? or 8? etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

http://us.topshop.com/cms/pages/static/static-0000009312/static-0000009312.html

Each shop should have the same standardised sizes, or at least visible charts like these ^ in their shops so that you know what size you are looking for in that particulr shop, once you know your own measurements.
    Too easy, so I dont know why most places dont do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭lace

H+M are terrible for sizes! Some items I've bought there are labelled a 6, others are 12's! I'm also finding awear's sizes strange lately. They seem to be quite big-fitting compared to other shops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭eirn

A-wear sizes are def on the larger side now, I'm not really a fan of vanity sizing, can be the start of a slippery slope!

Got 2 swimsuits in penneys in the same size in similar styles, one was perfect, the other was tiny, couldn't wear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭FueledByAisling

I always find the trousers especially jeans crazy in Penneys as I can vary between 6-10 in most shops but in pennys I wear a 8 in their jeans they fit on the leg but the hips are massive?! Anyone else get this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Remember about 10 years ago when Penneys quality wasn't the best and their sizes were way off?, then they copped on and had much better quality, better fitting stuff. For the last few years I'd say about 80% of my wardrobe has come from Penneys, however in the last 6 months or so the only things I've bought in there have been socks and underwear, because I think the quality and sizing has gone backwards again.

Also prices seem to have gone up quite a bit in there and I find all the bags look very cheap and plasticy again.

I'm really disappointed because as I said I used to love Penneys and bought so much stuff from there, and now there's nothing for me to buy anymore :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

snap for Penneys - I don't often buy stuff in there, but I was recently looking for a half slip to stop dresses clinging to tights..........anyway, smallest size Marks had was a 12, so I said I'd try Penneys (as I was in Dundrum at the time, so why not), so they had these control yokes, which I hate, but I brought one in (the hanger was an 8/10), tried it on, and it was great, not tight at all, just enough to give a nice outline...............bring it out to get another one (they were 7 quid)...........it was only a bloody 18/20 - I can tell you, I've been an 18/20 (and then some) and there's no way that yoke was going to be anything more than a control BELT on a body that size! anyway, they were reduced to a Euro, so I bought 4 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭ciara95

Sizing in shops drives me crazy! I was in Only, and a 6 and 8 were too big for me. So I went into H&M feeling all skinny, and I couldn't get into a 6, or get a size 8 skirt over my hips, and ended up getting a size 10. Some of the t-shirts in Penneys, the sizing is so small. But I always find the jeans are too tight on my hips/waist and too loose on the leg. And I got a size 10-12 swimsuit, as the size 8-10 ones seemed to be for people who are 4foot tall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

I havnt bought anything except for socks in penneys for over a year. Its all cheap badly sized tat!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

I always find the trousers especially jeans crazy in Penneys as I can vary between 6-10 in most shops but in pennys I wear a 8 in their jeans they fit on the leg but the hips are massive?! Anyone else get this?
    I am the same.

I rarely find clothes in Penneys anymore.

I normally just by pyjamas, slippers, undies and accessories there now.

I remember last year, I bought two of the same tops, one black and one grey, the grey was a size 12 and the black a size 8 and they both fitted me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭mary_hayes

Penney's is awful, can't believe it does so well and so many people shop there! The clothes are cheap and ill-fitting. Their socks are about the only quality item in the shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

same happened to me recently, always bought my leggings in there, went in picked up two pairs of black ones. when i got home i realised there was about an inch or two above the legs, and that was ment to cover my arse!! :mad: never go into pennys anymore, sizes are gone daft on everything in there.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Bought some tees in there recently and wish I hadn't.......usually take a medium but found them quite baggy so went with a small and they're very tight and so so long......why do they have to make them cover your backside??? Their underwear is very poor too .....terribly uncomfortable!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Oh God, Penneys... :rolleyes:

Used to shop there all the time but the sizings are gone crazy over the last few months. I lost a lot of weight over the last year (went from a 20-22 on top and a 22-24 bottom to a 14 on top and 16-18 on bottom) and their sizings are atrocious! Before I got to my biggest, I was a size 16 usually, sometimes an 18 on bottom and never had to try something, just grabbed my size and away I went. Now that I'm back to my 'normal' size, I have to try EVERYTHING on. I wear work trousers that are a size 16 from Dunnes, an 18 from New Look (but plenty of room in them, bit big actually). Was desperate for a pair of trousers for work last week and grabbed a size 18. looked too small so grabbed a 20 thinking it'd be a bit big since I wear a 16 usually. The 20 didn't get past my fecking legs!! The tops I've bought from there recently range from a 12 to an 18 (and some of the 18s are bet on to me, while some 14s and 16s are way too big!).

Other shop I've noticed mad sizes with is Forever 21. Their jeans are HUGE fitting, as are some of their tops, but some of their dresses are completely tiny! I get a 14 in jeans there and a Large in their tops (sometimes a medium depending on the material), but their skirts won't get over my legs in the same size as the jeans and the dresses won't go anywhere near me in a Large.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

I agree with forever 21 I got a size six dress and it was hanging off me couldn't wear it but topshop I need an eight.
    I just avoid pennies now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

I only shop in penny's at the sales if it doesn't fit it probably only cost a couple of euro.
    I did well last week I got 2 dresses and 4 tops for about €25 only one of the tops didn't fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭lainey316

I always consider Forever21 and Penneys like work - you have to put the effort in to find the good stuff. If a Penneys dress doesn't quite fit, another one in the same size might - their quality control isn't fantastic. It's easier to shop in better shops (though I have seen things in Topshop that Penneys would be ashamed to sell at a fifth of the price). But for the price and the occasional bargain, I'll put the effort in now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Last time I checked 34'' was a DEFINED unit of measurement!! Why then do some 34's fit, then same size but different jeans they're too small!? It defies logic! Seriously!!! Penneys are the worst for this. Grrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

I'm always getting this, it's really annoying!!

I've even found a size difference within the same line, like one set of size 8 skinny jeans will be massive and another set from the same type are tiny. So frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭FueledByAisling

if you ever hold 2 of the same sizes of jeans or trousers up to each other they can vary in 2 or 3 inches in length it's crazy! I'm going to Oxford street Primark on Thursday for a massive shop and just hoping they've decent sizing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I still love Pennys and always will, the best thing you can do when shopping there is to try before you by and at least you're not going home with something wrong for you. I have saw myself either going up and down in sizes in there but for the price you towards somewhere else at times it's pretty decent.

I don't really care what the sizing says as long as it fits me and I'm comfy and nice in it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Cadyboo

Lately I have noticed the sizes differences alright. But also that the wrong tags are on the clothes. Picked up a top size 12 stitched on the inside of the neck, looked at the price tag, said was size 8 and then the white washing label had size 18 on it!! Couldn't be bothered trying to figure out which size it was so left it there.
    I'd never normally buy underwear there but when going on my summer hols this year I decided I might pick up a few as I'd class them as disposable (in previous years, my good bras have been destroyed from creams, sun etc.) the 36bs are the same as the 36cs and 36 and 38 ds. Awful! I gave up and went to dunnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭jandm

Tried on a beautiful dress this evening in Penneys - would fit perfectly too if I had no boobs :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

jandm wrote: »
    Tried on a beautiful dress this evening in Penneys - would fit perfectly too if I had no boobs :eek:

I know EXACTLY what you mean :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

pennys sizes are sh1te and afaik its because their quality checks in the sewing factory they come from are sub par. I've bought trousers there that were ridiciously small only to bring them back and when the customer services person compared them to stock on the shelf they were the same size as most of the 10s( they were supposed to a 14!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

The only thing is I've found they're really good to take stuff back, and since the queues for the changing room are often horrendous, I'll chance buying four tshirts at a fiver each, try em on at home and there's no hassle returning them the following week. I go home at weekends and back up to the city during the week so I'd often have returns from the family to bring back, we all do the same now! It's annoying if you're looking for something specific though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I usually blitz shop in Penneys every few months for a heap of stuff. Just did a blitz recently and knew the sizes would be all over the place so tried everything on before paying - the alternative is to take the stuff home and then bring back what doesnt fit - handy but a pain at the same time.

I absolutely love their summer stuff, cheap short leg trackies, vest tops, tee shirts, linen trousers - but I dont find their winter stuff as good (probably because its not as hard wearing as winter needs it to be).

Anyway, on my last blitz I bought sizes 10 thru 16 in various items and there was zero consistency on sizing, even if you tried the same thing on in a different colour the 12 in the white could be smaller (or larger) than the 12 in the black.

Cant really complain though when you can get so much stuff so cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭kilco

I've got a couple of pairs of jeggings which won't even come up past my calves and I'm not big I'm 8-10 and went for the 10 without trying them on. Also got those control leggings that people were raving about the fely so tight and uncomfortable on I couldn't wear them. Also went to try on a dress recently in crescent in limerick and wasn't allowed to bring in shoes to try on with it they said we don't allow people to bring shoes in to the fitting room. I was wearing a pair of trainers and needed to see what the dress was like with heels had to go in put the dress on stand on tippy toes and use imagination I mean come on!