Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian to rejoin Westlife, for or against???

• 01-08-2011 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭

I posted this in the music forum with little response.

http://www.rte.ie/ten/2011/0719/westlife.html

It was reported shortly ago that Shane Filan wants a Take That-style reunion with Brian McFadden.

Is this a yay or a nay?

Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Hal Emmerich

They won't let him back until their Music Sales start to drop, it'l give them a boost for awhile and then they and there **** songs will disappear for good.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

They won't let him back until their Music Sales start to drop, it'l give them a boost for awhile and then they and there **** songs will disappear for good.:)

Shane wants Brian back but Kian has refused that possibility on various occasions.

And to be fair Westlife's album sales and chart positions have dropped drastically in the last few years.

Brian himself was devastated Safe went to #9 in the UK charts, which was a far cry from their years as a 5-piece when they had like 4-5 #1's on a single album.

I believe that if the singles from their upcoming greatest hits do even worse, there will be further discussion (especially between Shane and Kian) of a return for Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Boyzone failed at having a big comeback like Take That had and Westlife with Brian will fail as well as both are not as big or talented as Take That and Robbie Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

The difference between Westlife / Brian McFadden and Take That / Robbie Williams is that Take That are extremely talented, massive musicians - had an amazing career when they were a 5 piece and then when they came back as a 4 piece. Robbie Williams had an amazing career while he was a solo artist.

Westlife are pretty good but they are nowhere near Take That. As for Brian McFadden, eh who? He is totally irrelevant, he's a nobody - all he's known for is the fool who married Kerry Katona and left Westlife to pursue a "solo career" but ended up divorced and eh ... no solo career.

I think Westlife would be stupid and desperate if they wanted to take him back. Granted, I thought Take That didn't need Robbie either but at least Robbie actually has something going for him and is a really good entertainer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Thunderdrive

Why bother letting him join back, they get more money if he doesn't. That's what they want isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

The difference is that Take That had a couple of rather public scandals and needed something to distract people.

Last i remember, Westlife (minus Brian) were still seen as squeaky clean.

IIRC, it's not that long ago since the four of them said 'Not happening'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Spam above, stay away from the link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Don't rate any of them!

Can't stand that mcfadden lad anyways - the other westlife lads, ya fair play to them, they went a long way with very little talent, IMO - Its Louis Walsh those lads have to thank for getting them where they are.

Take That in a differnt league to them really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

Who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

He shouldn't be left back in the band, or the country!
    He's on the other side of the world. Leave him there. It's better that way!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Nay. Why on earth would they want Mr Potato Head aka Deadbeat Dad aka Douche of the Century back in the group? He isn't good looking, charismatic or talented. I like Westlife's music but it's hardly groundbreaking and they were always going to have a shelf life. They have done extremely well to have maintained the level of success they did but it was always going to decline at some stage. If they take Brian back I can see it happening sooner rather than later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 irish_eyes

Personally, it's neither here nor there, but why not, they have had more number ones that most of you have had hot dinners.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

I think this is more "bleh" than "yay" or "nay".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭audi a4 2008

irish_eyes wrote: »
    Personally, it's neither here nor there, but why not, they have had more number ones that most of you have had hot dinners.

are u serious:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭deiselack

big fat spud head on him! no chance!

irish_eyes wrote: »

lolz

they were 5 billy barry gimps who got lucky

deiselack wrote: »
    big fat spud head on him! no chance!

:D I am also of the opinion that he has a massive fat spud head on him

Deplorable on so many levels, the way he just ffed off to Australia & leaving his 2 girls with their mother, who was clearly off her face with drink and drugs - not giving a flying fcuk, following his girlfriend at the time

He's a scumbag in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Kian Egan denies reports that Brian McFadden is rejoining Westlife

He wrote on his Twitter page (@KianEganWL): "All the rumours about Brian rejoining Westlife are untrue. We have been a 4 piece for too long now. We love Brian but it's not going to be. That includes any tv performance. [sic]"

There seems to a rumour every couple of weeks now about him rejoining could be Brian himself looking for publicity leaking the rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think they should all un-join Westlife and disappear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Can't see it happening, takes too much skill to get up off a stool at the key change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

Nay, dammit! Just nay!! :)
    McFadden and his huge ego left the band a long time ago. He should stay out as far as I'm concerned. Ever since he left, he's been acting like a total idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

Ever since he left, he's been acting like a total idiot.

Some might say he had a head start on that long before he left Westlife.

Robbie rejoined Take That to offset the bad publicity about the personal lives of some other members.

Last i remember, the only member of Westlife who got bad press over his personal life was the one who left. McFadden has plenty to gain from this, but the rest of them not so sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

wernstrom! wrote: »
    Some might say he had a head start on that long before he left Westlife.

Indeed, you're right :)
    His idiocy became more obvious and well-known after he left though... Solo career? Oh, brother!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I think they should all un-join Westlife and disappear.

Half my wish has been granted, hopefully the disappearance will follow.:D