Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Braindead things you did in your youth

• 01-08-2011 12:22PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

Lost E800 gambling, could really do with that money now. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Godot. wrote: »
    Lost E800 gambling, could really do with that money now. :(

What did you bet on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ripped off myself, stole from my brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Godot.

kfallon wrote: »
    What did you bet on?

Football. I lost E200 and was distraught so put E600 on a bet I thought was safe as houses to win it back. Instead Arsenal played like they had swallowed a bottle each of dreamy dreamy nighty snoozy snooze and the oppo who were in terrible form prior to the game defended superbly. :( Never as much as bought a lottery ticket ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Played computer games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Stapled my thumb. I can't remember why, but then it'd almost be better if there wasn't a reason behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

Had sex without a condom at 15 with my first girlfriend, had a pregnancy scare and when we were in the clear we said "Ah sure we dodged it last time, we can do it again!"

Why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Got a bad tattoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Godot. wrote: »
    Football. I lost E200 and was distraught so put E600 on a bet I thought was safe as houses to win it back. Instead Arsenal played like they had swallowed a bottle each of dreamy dreamy nighty snoozy snooze and the oppo who were in terrible form prior to the game defended superbly. :( Never as much as bought a lottery ticket ever since.

Arsenal v Blackburn this season by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Some friends and I when we were 12/13 stowed away on a train (no ticket), got very drunk, woke up next morning near a train station on the other side of the country.

At the time we hadn't a clue where in the country we where. Plus we didn't have any money to get back. Eventually got a lift back to Dublin courtesy of the Gardai, who subsequently had to protect us from our very angry parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Sessioned for two days straight without sleeping while in Holland, fainted while walking to get a drink, smacked my face, had to get stitches from my lip to my jawline.

That was less than two weeks ago :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Threw away my virginity at 15 in what was more of a drunken fumble than anything else... always kinda regretted that.

Decided not to learn how to drive when I was younger... only got full licence about 6 months ago now, and I regret that I didn't get it earlier.

Not getting to know more people, not getting into contact with more people who I now know and regret not spending time in my youth with them.

Burning myself out with alcohol when I was younger, cos I'm now just not that bothered with drinking nowadays (I'm 22) cos of how much I drank when I was between the ages of 15-19.

Never bothering with any girlfriends I had; I treated them badly (I was never a cheater or violent, btw) by ignoring their desires and requests, had no time for their feelings and basically did what I wanted while not giving a fiddler's about what they wanted. No surprises that none of these relationships lasted very long, but one amazing girl put up with me and my b.s. for 6 months... I regret being such a little prick back in the day, most definitely...:(

Not studying harder for my Leaving Cert. Got 480, and missed what I really wanted to do by 5 points. If I'd just applied myself that little bit harder, I could have gotten those extra points and got into my course.

Not knowing what to do with my life at 18 and deciding that Arts in UCD was as good as I was going to get... Big mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Me and some friends would clime to the tip-top of an evergreen tree and throw each other down.
    We called it Tree Wrestling.
    There were lots of branches to catch us on the way down.
    It was fun at the time.
    Dont think I'd do it now lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sunday school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

Started smoking when i was 16,20 years later still puffing away:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭brendanL

Tree wrestling??? ahahahaha that sounds awesome XD

For me it's acting insanely shy around some real chances with a girl when I was younger... oh for the those days to be back!

Oh about 11/12 singed eyebrows off with a friend... we used to spray deodorant / everything we could find into a glass then put a lighter to it....while the two of us leaned over it.... usually it was a little poof.. but this one time we hit the jack pot in bathroom flaming products. It actually burnt the roof above us. Needless to say we then continued further tests on bathroom products outside. heheheh that's an awesome memory ^^

I always seemed to get things just perfect then do something retarded that would keep me awake for a few nights thinking about it. Honestly that's just my entire life XD.. atm were in the happy phase.. but pretty soon I will do something stupid without realising it to feck things up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭blue movie

When i was 10 I sold my bike that i just got a few months before for £5 then i went and spent that money on bike stickers and had to get my mam to buy the bike back from the woman i sold it too. Got in alot of trouble that day!

Always wondered how a woman with kids herself could seriously buy a bike off a ten year old for £5 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Got arrested more times than i care to remember, never was charged with anything though, and i count my lucky stars for that!
    Started smoking cigarettes and joints when i was 15,
    Got crabs when i was 16 - :mad:
    Took a tractor for a joy ride and blew the engine,
    Fell asleep due to drunken-ness outside the garda station when i was 16,
    Didnt study enough for my l.c. but still got near 400, I was an awful waste of a good brain,

Turned around now though, doing a degree, working flat out, still boozing flat out, but I'm 22 and look about 40.

Oh and I don't regret a single thing, I absolutely lived the dream from age 15-20,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Pair of X-Works jeans.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Ran out in front of a car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Lots of braindead things involving alcohol, an immature attitude and scumbag friends resulting in courts and prisons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

Sergeant wrote: »
    Pair of X-Works jeans.

:(
    I assume by that you mean you really regret not keeping your xworks because they're impossible to find and if you had a pair now you'd be treated as a god like badass. I know how you feel brother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Generally being a big poo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭ItsNoAlias

Spraypainting, but specifically hanging onto a ledge under a bridge while a train zipped by me. It terrifies me to think of it now as I sometimes cross the bridge when going to town... What an idiot.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭A19B1C12

too many....
    being too naive going into secondary school - only copped onto myself in about 4th year and it was a poor experience up to then,
    never standing up for myself because i hated fighting,
    being too scared to try a lot of things normal teenagers try because my parents had exaggerated dangers of them,
    listening to my parents about how things work in school - they told me to tell on people if they were annoying me and never fight back.

I have a lot of happy memories too though and my parents were just giving me their best advice. You learn from your mistakes though -I'm still only in my late teens and I now get on well with a lot of people that I wasn't too fond of a few years ago. No doubt I'll do more stupid things in the future.

Past is in the past though - can only change the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I pissed out my ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Started smoking, got bad tattoos and treated some very nice girls like shyte.