Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changing From Numbers To ZV With NCT Crowd?

• 28-07-2011 12:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭

As the title says if you wish to change your reg from 79 D 1234 to ZV 1234 does it now have to be done with the NCT as opposed to VRT office and is the procedure the same?

Thanks!

Sh1te! Mods - please move to Classics - meant to post there, thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

why would you want to? Im biding my time until they run out of ZVs and introduce a better system (hopefully)

Let us know if you find out, Im guessing it will be the NCTS, it surely wont interest the Revenue , possibly it will be the County Council responsible for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Some donkey I know wants to do it! :D

(He'll probably be along shortly!)

Mine's already ZV'd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Moved to classics on request;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭chevyv8

MCMLXXV wrote: »

Mine's already ZV'd!
    hay john you cant change from numbers to zv but you can change from zv to numbers.....:D

chevyv8 wrote: »
    hay john you cant change from numbers to zv but you can change from zv to numbers.....:D

It's the other way around dude!

I got mine done last January 12 months but it's with the NCT crowd now so I want to see if the procedure is the same with them. It's for Rowan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭chevyv8

It's the other way around dude!

I got mine done last January 12 months but it's with the NCT crowd now so I want to see if the procedure is the same with them. It's for Rowan.
    you right john me bad/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭quattro777

Where on the VRT/NCT form does it allow you to choose between ZV or numerical plates?

quattro777 wrote: »
    Where on the VRT/NCT form does it allow you to choose between ZV or numerical plates?

I don't know if it does - that's the point of the thread, to see if anyone has attempted to change to ZV since the NCT crowd took over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

I'v seen a tractor go from ZV to an LK number so it is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,395 ✭✭✭✭unkel

YBTurbo wrote: »
    I'v seen a tractor go from ZV to an LK number so it is possible.

Perhaps it changed log book :p

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

unkel wrote: »
    Perhaps it changed log book :p

:D Shush ;)

Being serious though it was on a ZV but then changed to an LK, but that was done before the NCT crowd took over so I don't know about doing it now.

Personally I hate ZV plates, their too common now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

YBTurbo wrote: »
    Personally I hate ZV plates, their too common now :)

That and they look wrong too. Go to a show and count the ZVs and year plates compared to original Irish cars. It would be interesting to see what the classic scene would be like in this country if we had no England to import cars from. There wouldn't be a scene!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

How does a ZV plate look any more 'wrong' than a year plate? Either will mark your car with the odious taint of import (whereas all the original Irish reg cars were home-grown under cabbages). I can see some merit in complaining about the aesthetics of five digit ZV plates, but 'wrong', really?

If there was a decent supply of domestic classics, we'd see more at shows. Given the far bigger hunting ground across the water, what do you want prospective owners to do? The car I chose to buy - off the back of a long time love for the model, was sourced from the UK. The car was not originally marketed in Ireland in any case afaik, so any 'original Irish' one would have been brought in from abroad anyway. Provenance is all well and good, but I'd rather just see the actual cars.

Personally I prefer ZV but that isn't what this thread is about!

Back on topic please...............;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

In the past the people in authority in Limerick have been more accommodating than they could (should) be. Having changed a car last year from 64D to ZV I can assure you that they state quite clearly it cannot be undone or done the other way round.

I did mine with the VRT office in Santry and they were clear about it. I also found it hard to extract the correct form from them and eventually found one on the net and printed it off. they would not accept it however and eventually found a hard copy and I filled it out again. The staff were helpful but they simply stuck rigidly to the rules, which is fair enough.

I dont know what happens now with NCTS involved but I am sure the actual registration is still carried out by the RC AFTER all work has been approved by the NCTS. I am not sure when you actually get to choose whether or not you want a ZV plate.

Interestingly my old reg still shows up on the various checker sites !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

alastair wrote: »
    How does a ZV plate look any more 'wrong' than a year plate?.
    Because a year plate ties in with the current system but a (current) ZV issue is dissimilar to any Irish registration series ever issued in the state. ( bar the ZZs)

Im just saying they just could have done better is all, I know many of ye don't care or understand. sorry for going off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

MercMad wrote: »
    In the past the people in authority in Limerick have been more accommodating than they could (should) be. Having changed a car last year from 64D to ZV I can assure you that they state quite clearly it cannot be undone or done the other way round.

I did mine with the VRT office in Santry and they were clear about it. I also found it hard to extract the correct form from them and eventually found one on the net and printed it off. they would not accept it however and eventually found a hard copy and I filled it out again. The staff were helpful but they simply stuck rigidly to the rules, which is fair enough.

I dont know what happens now with NCTS involved but I am sure the actual registration is still carried out by the RC AFTER all work has been approved by the NCTS. I am not sure when you actually get to choose whether or not you want a ZV plate.

Interestingly my old reg still shows up on the various checker sites !

I had a similar experience with VRT office in Limerick a year ago. Asked to change from a 73 lk to ZV and was told it could not be done. However when I produced a copy of the form which a boardsie had given me, they were a bit taken aback. Following a few phone calls it was done in a jiffy and without charge. Not sure what the procedure is now but again I am sure that you cannot change from ZV back . Again off topic I prefer the zv to the 73 lk etc which never existed and I believe the zv to be nearer the original type numbers. I like the cars and am not too bothered about the number really. I cannot understand why the old numbers that are not in use cannot be reissued !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Because a year plate ties in with the current system but a (current) ZV issue is dissimilar to any Irish registration series ever issued in the state. ( bar the ZZs)

Im just saying they just could have done better is all, I know many of ye don't care or understand. sorry for going off topic.

I think to the casual observer a ZV just looks like an old Irish plate. I can kinda make myself believe that anyway! I hate our current system anyway - I think it's looks retarded how the year is spelled out so obviously.

Personally I'd choose ZV plates for pre-87, year ones for post 87. I'd probably choose Dublin plates as well because an old 911 or M5 with - for example - Leitrim plates would just look WRONG:p!

ZV plates look Ok until you go to a show and 2 out of 3 cars have them.They look ludicrus them IMHO

Jesus H lads - way to go off topic!

All I want to know is if anyone has changed to ZV via NCTS not whether you like ZV or not! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

All I want to know is if anyone has changed to ZV via NCTS not whether you like ZV or not! :mad:

NO :D:p;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭salysol

I changed a porsche from KE to ZV last wednesday,no bother,just ring the NCT up and they will point you in the right direction.
    Incidently you can only go from a county reg to a ZV reg ,not the other wayround.
    Hope that helps.

salysol wrote: »
    I changed a porsche from KE to ZV last wednesday,no bother,just ring the NCT up and they will point you in the right direction.
    Incidently you can only go from a county reg to a ZV reg ,not the other wayround.
    Hope that helps.

Sound thanks - what documents did you have to bring with you?

if you have already cleared the car you will have a clearance cert that enables you to tax it ,thats all you will need,but give them a call first on this no,053 - 9149300 and ask for VRT,They will probably transfer you to Rosslare.

Car was cleared a couple of years back and is on a county plate.

then it should be straight forward enough.

Is it ever? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭sudo911

Mine's already ZV'd!

Oi! Who's a feckin Donkey!!! :rolleyes::D

It's to change the plates on this new baby to ZV...

DSC07162.JPG
    Just saw the post now... thanks for the reply guys, will give the NCT crowd a ring ... best get a cup of tea in first.... could be a long call! :cool:

save the money for petrol...you're gonna need it!

Nice btw :cool:

ps actuallly do you not think those plates look more yank than they would with a common old ZV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

corktina wrote: »
    ps actuallly do you not think those plates look more yank than they would with a common old ZV?

I think so too,American cars are nearly always labeled by their year.