Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Focus Ireland Triathlon 2011 31st July

• 28-07-2011 11:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭

Is anyone else doing this race on Sunday? Decided last week to do it as it's for a good cause. Raised plenty to far so it seems like it'll all go to plan.

Would like to hear if anyone is familiar with the course, things to look out for etc as I'm not overly familiar with the area.

Briefing at 7.30am is the most daunting part! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭eoin ryan

Best of luck!

What time is registration and where pls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

I'm doing this as my first year triathlon anniversary!

Focus Ireland was my first triathlon last year so I'm keen to see improvements if conditions are similar - dry with slight headwind.

Regarding the race, things to look out for are:
    - taste of petrol in the water as nearing the boat area
    - bike course is bumpy coming down monkstown road
    - headwind heading out coast road
    - hairpin left turn back onto coast road at end of each lap
    - make sure you do 4 laps or risk dq!
    - run is nice and easy (and short)

Think registration is at Stena line so see ye bright and early.

It's a nice course and worthy cause so should be a good day.
    All the better if rain holds off till after as those turns in the wet will be slippy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Thanks.

Registration was on all day Wednesday in their offices in Christchurch. Can also register Sunday morning but not sure where as I've registered already. Possible the ferry terminal as that's where sign-on is. That cuts off at 7.15 so registration might be closed around 7? If you're doing it they'll have sent you a race pack - it's all in that.

Thanks Fazz, exactly the kind of thing I was looking for! The Focus race was my introduction to tri too- did the run leg of a relay in 2008 I think it was and it got me into them (when I eventually learned to swim properly that is). Good luck on Sunday.

Basster wrote: »
    Thanks Fazz, exactly the kind of thing I was looking for! The Focus race was my introduction to tri too- did the run leg of a relay in 2008 I think it was and it got me into them (when I eventually learned to swim properly that is). Good luck on Sunday.

Ha that's coincidence. Yep I was addicted straight away and did 3 more in the 6 weeks after!
    Have over 10 done now so hoping to comfortably beat my time from last year.
    I remember breast-stroking most of the swim so thankfully I've learned to frot crawl since then too.

Best of luck to you too. Let's hope for some Sun or dry conditions at least as it's on fecking early!

There's a lot more entered this year so hoping transition is sufficiently increased, was perfect last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Well, how did everybody get on?

Have to say I really enjoyed it. Thought it was very well run. Swim was better than I thought it would be. Came out at almost the same time as a work colleague. Recognised the bandages on his feet in the water near the end.

Cycle was great, felt like I was flying except when others passed me!

Could not get my legs to move on the run! Never felt I got going at all. The wind was a killer! Drafting on the run was very beneficial!

I know the run was short but looking forward to seeing the result. Can somebody post up a link if they know it. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Finished it myself, my swimming is not great, -probably what makes it so much of a challenge for me 27 mins today for 750m swim. Was amongst the last few in the water. Bike went very well, after my 27 min warm up in the harbour! run was ok.
    Very well run event

Will do GoHard, not sure where we'll get them though, no link on the site.

I'd a good race, swim went fine, felt good on the run though yes the wind was a killer. Found the wind worse on the bike, particularly the far side of the lap where there was small hill and a headwind. People were at a standstill!

Found it hard to gain momentum on the bike as it was 4 x 5km laps. Did 2 x 20km laps on an olympic last week so maybe that just made it seem worse.

Organisers were very nice as expected and nice to do a race that didn't have massive crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Wonderleaf

Only did the 350 swim myself, Results and photos up soon

http://www.triathlonireland.com/index.php?id=107&nid=406

Had a good race too.
    Was definitely tougher than last year with wind on bike and wind on run, also run a tad longer too.

Well organised and ran and the closed roads are a bonus.

Managed to secure a podium too in so happy with that.
    Fair play to all entrants and it was a good race.

So Fazz you've gone from: "I remember breast-stroking most of the swim so thankfully I've learned to frot crawl since then too" to a podium place. Should I be notifying WADA?! :D

Looks like full results out Tuesday :(

Edit: just got a text of my time so all not lost. 1:18:09, happy enough. Any idea how many entered the sprint (not the extra short one?)

Yeah I got addicted straight away and am prob about 15-18 mins faster. Today's race was not accurate on last years as a direct comparison due to wind etc.

This next 12 months despite harder more training prob won't yield the same improvements.

Swim still my weak spot but at least it was all front crawl today ha!

Fair play anyway, great going.

Cheers Basster.

Full results and splits on TI now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Fazz wrote: »
    Cheers Basster.

Full results and splits on TI now.

Any idea why they don't have the t2 splits from the bike?