Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

driving and hitting animals

• 27-07-2011 9:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

I am wanting to know if its true that if you are driving and you see a deer up ahead and you know you will hit it that it is safer for you to speed up and hit it rather than slow down and skid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Yep, thats a good theory, also works equally well with artics, walls and pedestrians. When ya spot a hazard, just floor it. Anything else is for pussies. Test the theory out-Next time you see garda checkpoint, just speed up. When they nick you, you can say you were just trying to avoid a dangerous skid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I eh...lol.

I'd say the lower the speed you hit it at is the best option. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I don't know. I missed hitting one there about three weeks ago. I didn't get a chance to slow down or speed up.
    I did get a chance to close my eyes, scream & piss myself a small bit though.

Had to pull in after I realised I missed him, I was fcuking shaking, thought I was going to puke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

MOW HIM DOWN LIKE THE BEAST HE IS, IF THAT DEER HAD THE CHANCE HE'D KILL YOU AND EVERYONE YOU KNOW AND LOVE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭sparks24

more speed = more damage no? weight + momentum and all that maths stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

I suspect this can't be answered with anything other than, "it depends". However, speeding up will cause a bigger mess and make it much more difficult to cook and eat said deer afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Mythbusters tested this, not sure what the conclusion was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Give it a go and let us know the results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Howlin wrote: »
    I am wanting to know if its true that if you are driving and you see a deer up ahead and you know you will hit it that it is safer for you to speed up and hit it rather than slow down and skid

Well, I certainly can't see any advantage to speeding up!

If there's nothing coming behind you, you should definitely slow down to minimise impact. If the road conditions are normal and your tyres are OK, braking shouldn't result in a skid.

If there's nothing coming the other way, I don't see why you wouldn't move to avoid the deer - obviously if you haven't been paying attention or if you're not sure, don't swerve; better to hit a deer than another car.

All depends on the conditions.

Seachmall wrote: »
    Mythbusters tested this, not sure what the conclusion was.
    their conclusion was that it works with moose(moosesses? Moosieie?) if you are driving a ferrari. For the rest of us, and deer, slowing as much as frickin possible ftw. I didn't even know you could hit a deer in Ireland until the son in law did it and manguled his pride and joy-oh how i laughed. That probably makes me a bad person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

playin need for speed most wanted lately huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

It's best to try to stop, especially if it's an old dear.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

A little off topic, but curious to know, if you had injured it, would you have called a vet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

well a deer hot my friends car once and cost a few hundred euros of damage.

was driving home one night then and a rabbit committed suicide by running out in front of me.

annascott wrote: »
    A little off topic, but curious to know, if you had injured it, would you have called a vet?
    yep, best thing for it. A lad who was in the 'Nam would know how to kill it quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

If you hit a stag at any speed chances are you wont come out of it too well either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

You can be reported for hitting a deer . I think you are supposed to report it. If a vet is called out you will be charged with the expense. I know this cause a fella I know had the guards call round to ask him had he hit a deer

You would probably have a job to get a vet to come out to put the deer to sleep tbh.
    Would be just easier to find someone with a shotgun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

easyeason3 wrote: »
    You would probably have a job to get a vet to come out to put the deer to sleep tbh.
    Would be just easier to find someone with a shotgun.

True where I mostly see deer is driving up the dublin mountains at night they jump out right in front of ya!

Solnskaya wrote: »
    yep, best thing for it. A lad who was in the 'Nam would know how to kill it quickly.

Probably best to dispatch it.....to the butchers and have a serious months nom noms......:p

steddyeddy wrote: »
    True where I mostly see deer is driving up the dublin mountains at night they jump out right in front of ya!
    What do they drive?......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭peckerhead

This definitely does not work with motorbikes.
    33 seconds in.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    theyre probably just playing "dares" with their mates. makes note of new source for free meat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

You do know the rules of road kill OP. It has to be already dead for you to claim it. If you hit it, you have to leave it.

No roast dear for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Killed a cat once,I was parked out the yard and went to collect a takeaway chinese one night,only to arrive back to see a squashed cat behind where my back wheel had been.
    Coulda saved myself the price of a chinese,couldn't eat mine in disgust as I had to dump him too..

staker wrote: »
    Killed a cat once,I was parked out the yard and went to collect a takeaway chinese one night,only to arrive back to see a squashed cat behind where my back wheel had been.
    Coulda saved myself the price of a chinese,couldn't eat mine in disgust as I had to dump him too..

Nasty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭peckerhead

That sentence would have been perfect if you'd stopped after 8 words.

So ya did eat him?........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Nasty...

You're telling me:D
    peckerhead wrote: »
    That sentence would have been perfect if you'd stopped after 8 words.

Thought about it:pac:
    So ya did eat him?........:D
    Well I didn't "recycle" him,just threw him in a bag and went for a drive...again!:p

dev100 wrote: »
    You can be reported for hitting a deer . I think you are supposed to report it. If a vet is called out you will be charged with the expense. I know this cause a fella I know had the guards call round to ask him had he hit a deer
    so, you can be reported for not reporting it, so you are supposed to report it? Or someone else could report it and you would then be reported for not reporting it? Am I getting this right? Is there a form to report it on? A deer strike report form perhaps? DSRF11? If the guards called around to my gaff to ask if I had hit a deer, i'd tell them to feck off and get their own venison. Assuming I hadn't sped up and so was sitting in the A&E getting an antler removed from my forehead.