Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What things continue in present-day Irish society because we don't report them?

• 26-07-2011 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

With all the justified outrage at how people - e.g. our parents or our relatives or our neighbours (perhaps, dare I say it, even 'and')- said nothing at the time about abuse scandals in church and state institutions throughout the decades, I'm wondering what things continue in Irish society that we, or at least many people in Irish society in 2011, keep quiet about?

It's fairly easy to look on the past and think modern society isn't as depraved, but you can be sure that people in 1940s/50s/60s/70s/80s/90s Ireland felt they were more "civilised" (a horribly misused word) than people in former generations. It's much harder to see the fundamental failings in our own time.

Can anybody get beyond the vested interests today and point out injustices or mistreatment in Ireland in 2011 that could be the things which outrage Irish people in the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Social Welfare Fraud.
    (Linked) Tax Evasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Suicide

We don't talk about it in terms of how prevalent it is and how to prevent it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Travellers incomes not being investigated for tax dodging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

drink driving
    illegal dumping
    burning rubbish
    pubs opening later than they should
    smoking in pubs
    recreational drug use
    cars without tax or nct
    people driving foreign registered cars
    underage drinking
    shops selling smokes to kids

but shure all of thats good craic and lets not try change any of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Overpayment of bankers!

Men subjected to physical/sexual/mental abuse!

Not reported/discussed anywhere near as much as it should be!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

There was (is) definately a lack of civil courage when it comes to authority.

Our respect should be earned by people in authority rather than presumed.

Nobody should be immune from critical examination and this goes for everyone - politicians, guards, teachers, doctors, priests, scientists, judges, parents etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Child abuse often goes unreported untill its too late and those who have survived child abuse are still not getting the proper help that they would in other countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

drink driving
    illegal dumping
    burning rubbish
    smoking in pubs
    recreational drug use
    cars without tax or nct
    underage drinking

Nothing wrong with those two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Racism!

py2006 wrote: »
    Men subjected to physical/sexual/mental abuse!

Not reported/discussed anywhere near as much as it should be!

Well men and women man but I get your point that male abuse goes unreported maybe because theres a stigma attached.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

seanbmc wrote: »

If anything they should be increased!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

seanbmc wrote: »

nothing wrong with any of them in my book but we just dont report them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Dman001 wrote: »
    Racism!

Short-sighted political correctness motivated by short-term economic needs or misguided ideology which has rather longer socio-economic consequences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

There was (is) definately a lack of civil courage when it comes to authority.

Our respect should be earned by people in authority rather than presumed.

Nobody should be immune from critical examination and this goes for everyone - politicians, guards, teachers, doctors, priests, scientists, judges, parents etc.

but then people will stand in an defend/provide reason that these or other select groups should not be open to criticism, the ah its ok if the gardai give yer man a slap because he's a scumbag defense.
    Doctors here too, that certainly isn't one example that can be compared to the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Dman001 wrote: »
    Racism!

Who do you report this to? Do you mean racially motivated discrimination?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Overpayment of bankers!

In the future, people will be wondering why none of the feckers spent any time in the slammer, or weren't butchered in the streets by our primitive selves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Call Me Lia

How important alcohol is to this culture and how nobody seems to be making an effective effort to change this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭jammstarr

Workplace nepotism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

How important alcohol is to this culture and how nobody seems to be making an effective effort to change this

I would do something but I'm too hungover.:(

This actually is huge, and I've never thought much about it. The tens of thousands (if not hundreds of thousands) of Irish jobs which depend upon maintaining the present Irish culture of abuse of drink is breathtaking - whether it's publicans, taxi drivers, take away owners, A&E personnel or the Revenue Commissioners, to name some.

The enormous damage that drink inflicts, which we all know about - some much more than others, admittedly - is suppressed under the incessant romanticisation of drink in all the media and among many members of the public.

When, hopefully when, we face up to it, two names will shine out as people who warned us: Mick Loftus, the former GAA President, and Joe Barry of TCD.

jammstarr wrote: »
    Workplace nepotism?

Thats a huge problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Every fcukin nasty thing that you can think of and then some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭cobwebs

Tax evasion through working in the black economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

drink driving
    illegal dumping
    burning rubbish
    smoking in pubs
    recreational drug use
    cars without tax or nct
    underage drinking

There's a Christmas song in there somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

anal rape

dsmythy wrote: »
    There's a Christmas song in there somewhere.

Dont blame it on the smokers
    Dont blame it on the drinkers
    Dont blame it on the dumpers

Blame it on the junkies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

This happened a year ago and is still driving me nuts:
    My work place has a voluntary board of management drawn from across the board of the small town i live in. Several of the board are town councillors.
    After a staff/ management meeting to see how we could survive with dwindling grants and resources we were all told that there would be a drink and grub in the pub owned by one councillor.
    The first shock was after being spontaneously invited to the guys pub my work was sent the bill.
    The real kick in the teeth was though only about 11 folk went to the pub and few drank (Week night) the bill had drinks on it, in large quantities that no one had ordered. Basically the guy wined and dined his mates at my works expense and my work runs at a loss and relies on grants.
    The administrator reported this to management and surprise surprise it never went any further. The usual small town parish pump horse sh1t that got us where we are in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

orourkeda wrote: »
    anal rape

I love anal rap.

"Yo yo yo. This Mc D up in the hizzle, which mother fúcker put my stuff in a tizzle?"

mackg wrote: »

I would do something but I'm too hungover.:(
    I rest my case

Somebody mentioned 'workplace' and the obvious stood out:

bullying.

Few people with experience of work are untouched by this, be they victims or offenders or onlookers. And how many onlookers have said, and continue to say, nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

Gardaí not working in the interest of people. Treating people like rubbish e.g at Rossport, Co. Mayo and the Student protests in Dublin last year. The gards made total idiots of themselves but no ever mentions that? RTE etc don't pay any heed to protestors and talk about them as if they are criminals, taking away from whatever the protest was about in the first place. And they go around on power trips at things like that too, so annoying.

I know someone who did work experience in the garda station in town and the Gardaí did absolutely nothing all week, played pranks on each other and went driving around in the squad car. Wtf do we pay these people for? They really need to fix that. I've seen gards talking on a mobile while driving, etc. They think that they can do whatever they want. If there ever was an investigation into that people would be wondering why we let a bunch of idiots tell us what to do :confused:

Suicide

We don't talk about it in terms of how prevalent it is and how to prevent it.

Would it be fair to suggest that we will never know the true extent of the problem of suicide?

At the risk of sounding unsympathetic or crude, how can we accurately determine the prevalence. How many people have stepped back from the brink or have have made unsuccessful attempts that were not accompanied by serious injuries?

Naomi00 wrote: »
    GardaÃ* not working in the interest of people. Treating people like rubbish e.g at Rossport, Co. Mayo and the Student protests in Dublin last year. The gards made total idiots of themselves but no ever mentions that? RTE etc don't pay any heed to protestors and talk about them as if they are criminals, taking away from whatever the protest was about in the first place. And they go around on power trips at things like that too, so annoying.

I know someone who did work experience in the garda station in town and the GardaÃ* did absolutely nothing all week, played pranks on each other and went driving around in the squad car. Wtf do we pay these people for? They really need to fix that. I've seen gards talking on a mobile while driving, etc. They think that they can do whatever they want. If there ever was an investigation into that people would be wondering why we let a bunch of idiots tell us what to do :confused:
    Ya, a guy I know, who was at a protest last year, said that even though the protest was relatively peaceful and he was acting civilized (no violence etc), one of the Gardai came and hit him on the head with his baton! What's worse is that he couldn't identify that specific Garda, so it all went by unnoticed. Luckily he's fine now but I was just so shocked to hear that this could still happen, and to somebody I actually know. And for no apparent reason! Unless the freedom of speech rule has been abolished...

And also remember that news story a few weeks back about the 3 gardai who went into a mans house with a fake warrant and assaulted him?

This is not to say that ALL gardai are the same, some are very helpful and take their job seriously. It's just the few that give the Gardai a bad image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

cobwebs wrote: »
    Tax evasion through working in the black economy.

That's merely a symptom, guess what caused it? Treat the disease, not the symptom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

People spending time on protests like Rossport. Wasting Garda time and preventing people doing their lawful work while they themselves are drawing the dole. Then having the cheek to come on here and complain about it. Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Would it be fair to suggest that we will never know the true extent of the problem of suicide?

At the risk of sounding unsympathetic or crude, how can we accurately determine the prevalence. How many people have stepped back from the brink or have have made unsuccessful attempts that were not accompanied by serious injuries?

Neither unsympathetic or crude - a good question that hits at the crux of the problem; the conditions that actually cause a person to consider such an action in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

People spending time on protests like Rossport. Wasting Garda time and preventing people doing their lawful work while they themselves are drawing the dole. Then having the cheek to come on here and complain about it. Disgusting.

Obvious troll is obvious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Replying to your title rather than your post.

It's not exactly an outrage, but dogs shít on the street because on-one reports people who let them.

London: no dogshít.

Edinburgh: no dogshít.

Dublin: Feckin' drowning in the stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

So the OP essentially thinks our lack of a snitching culture as found in some other (mostly densely populated countries) is a bad thing?

Perhaps we could raise awareness of the telltale sign? Keep an eye on introverted people! Friends/relatives who suddenly become reclusive and distant?

Also people giving away prized possessions or as asking if you would mind their dog if anything happened to them.

Needler wrote: »
    Obvious troll is obvious

No way. Just replying to hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Dionysus wrote: »
    With all the justified outrage at how people - e.g. our parents or our relatives or our neighbours (perhaps, dare I say it, even 'and')- said nothing at the time about abuse scandals in church and state institutions throughout the decades, I'm wondering what things continue in Irish society that we, or at least many people in Irish society in 2011, keep quiet about?

It's fairly easy to look on the past and think modern society isn't as depraved, but you can be sure that people in 1940s/50s/60s/70s/80s/90s Ireland felt they were more "civilised" (a horribly misused word) than people in former generations. It's much harder to see the fundamental failings in our own time.

Can anybody get beyond the vested interests today and point out injustices or mistreatment in Ireland in 2011 that could be the things which outrage Irish people in the future?

20 years from now we'll probably claim that we didn't know when it turns out that many women abused kids but got away with it.

Same with professional classes, like doctors and solicitors, they were the equivalent of being a priest for many years such was the deference given to them.

I'm sure there's lots of sacred cows and white elephants still in Ireland. We just replaced the previous generations herd with our own.